Freestyling meat on a stick with grilled peppers and naan bread on the green egg.

in #exyle5 years ago (edited)

IMG_8112.jpg


When I got in the kitchen this afternoon I saw a bowl of frozen minced meat sitting on the counter.

I had no idea what Bianca wanted to do with it so I went investigating.

After enquiring with her she straight up told me that it was for the dinner I was going to cook tonight.

Fair enough I guessed, it was my turn anyway.

But just minced meat doesn't make a meal so I checked the fridge.

I found 6 bell peppers in there! I don't know where they came from and why we had six but I decided to cut that amount in half today.

I checked some more cabinets and found a package containing two pieces of Naan bread.

And in the freezer, I found fresh frozen parsley.

An idea was starting to form in my head involving the green egg.

I have often seen video's by some Turkish guy that is always grilling with a big smile on his face and he squeezes meat on a metal rod and grills it.

I was going to attempt the same that night. Freestyle of course.

Hours later the meat was defrosted and I mixed it with salt, pepper, turmeric, dried lemongrass, chili flakes, and fresh parsley.

Squeezing meat on a stick is a lot harder then it sounds. And the bloody stuff kept falling off.

I caved and I went for the amateur style and used an aluminum grill plate for support.

I also mix the peppers with olive oil and rock salt.


IMG_8114.jpg


I started with the meat and as excepted when I wanted to turn the meat I knew/felt it was going to fall off the stick so I just rolled them around on the aluminum grill and that worked well.

I grilled them till I measured an internal temp of around 55c.


IMG_8115.jpg


While the meat was resting I dumped the bowl of bell peppers on the grill.

I love eating peppers in this way covered in olive oil and salt. They just turn so sweet on the grill and the charcoal flavor just adds so much.

I highly recommend trying them in this way.

The naan bread also turned very crispy on the egg.

Most of the time the dome of the egg is closed. It's basically an oven.


IMG_8118.jpg


Just before everything was done I made a sauce with fresh garlic, a splash of olive oil, parsley, and yogurt.

The end result picture doesn't really do the meal justice.

This does happen often. Reason being....when I'm done with the cooking I want to eat and not spend 10 minutes making it look good and let meal turn cold :)

In the end, all the flavours worked well together. Easy meal, yet very delicious.

Bianca loved it too.


IMG_8121.jpg



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:


Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect


We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

Oh you are already turning into a great chef

Ohh man good is looking so delicious to have it. Specially the starred meat which you are talking thats make me mouth watering.

Posted using Partiko Android

This looks like it turned out really well. I am a big fan of naan. I didn't understand what the meat was like that you were talking about, but now that I see it I get it. This looks like a great meal!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂 you must cook tonight.. Well ok let's fire up the green egg again but you did pit some work to it great. I was just lying in bed getting to order a pizza. 🤣😂🤣😂😋 you did great exyle.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great review, Mark and your green egg was back in business today, so I’m glad that the meat with pepper was delicious because of the natural heat of the fire!

I did something similar. But, enough to last me a week.

I used three different methods on the BGE, straight grilling, cast iron and vegetable baskets.

A little bit of apple and some hickory to add the smoky flavour I was shooting for.

And because I know how much you like the "slice" picture. Here is a shot of the grilled cheese. B-)

!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17