On days like today I am so happy I no longer work in IT.

in #exyle6 years ago

IMG_0601.jpg


Reading about the new Windows update causing user files to disappear is the stuff of nightmares.

If I was still in IT today my phone would ring non stop with worried clients.

It's one of those things you just can't explain to a normal user or a business but it's one of those things they will blame you for.

I sure don't envy my old colleagues.

Personally I completed switched to Apple now and that is something I never thought would happen.

The catalyst was @s3rg3 who was kind enough to sell me his Macbook Pro for a decent price (I needed it for a big job we managed to get (involving 50 iPads), and I just couldn't show up there with my Windows laptop).

I noticed over time I was using it more and more instead of my other laptop.

I lost faith in Windows 10 completely when it decided for me it was going to reboot in 20 minutes when I was doing a data recovery job for a client.

I was 3 hours into the process when the message appeared with no way to cancel it.

It did reboot disregarding any open or running program.

I felt like I was no longer the owner of my own computer.

When it was time to choose a new phone later that year for the first time I picked the iPhone and was introduced to new levels of convenience I never knew were possible before.

Like sending pictures and videos or even URL links from your phone to your laptop with Airdrop in seconds while before I was emailing them or using a usb cable.

This feature alone saves me so much time. I use it everyday.

I admit I am now sucked into the Apple eco system completely...I can't get out....or better I don't want to get out. It works so well together.

But here is a slight annoyance...I must admit this because I use to hate Apple products so much.

Arguing with my friends how expensive they are for what you get and that you can't play games on them and all that.

I was wrong...well except for the gaming part I guess.

And maybe it's also age.

When I was younger I loved to build my own computers but also do reinstalls to make them fast again, tweak the settings to find 2 or 3 extra frames in games. Those sort of things.

Now I just want stuff that works well and without hassle.

Time has become more valuable with age.

It's something I could never understand in my clients that were even older.

They used to say: Mark, I don't mind waiting for 10 minutes for my computer to boot, I'm old, I got time.

I always thought...no you don't, you have less time than most.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

Computers exist to solve problems we didn't have before.

That is so well said

Posted using Partiko Android

lol! I like that one.

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Now someone who reasons like me.
I hated the iPhone until I used one, iPhones are so easy to use, you don't have to worry about anything because it has all been set up for you.
I'm not much of a gamer so that aspect doesn't bug me, it's only the price that sickens me.

Yeah, price is pretty steep indeed.

Have nice days bro .

Hey @exyle... long time no talk.

What do you think about breaks in a busy life? You're one of the busiest people I know.

Hint: (see what I wrote tonight)

...and say hi to mom for me. Her last comment was 18 days ago... which is 24 days ago when I last wrote my most important post... it seems we're similar on that regard.

Apple fanboy... :)

I was afraid you would show up ;)

Hey thats really outsatnding post, if you want to earn 8 free tokens per day on presearch,
then click this banner or given below link to join this growing platform
and start your earning just by searching on presearch same like on google and enjoy your free 8 tokens.
you just need to sign up today and start your search on presearch.
make it your default search engine and search your routine wise on presearch.
presearch is growing day by day and it become more powerfyl cryptocurrency in future.
Thanks for your kind cooperation.

join now :https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=616584


presearch

The IT field is very large, wide and very tired
But it is really beautiful
I wish you every success and happiness

Reading about the new Windows update causing user files to disappear is the stuff of nightmares.

I was under the impression we're the only two-year olds who break things. But now that we see grown-ups mess up too, I'm more at ease. :P

Apple kinda worries me. They seem too perfect to be true.

Haha, yes! It seems Microsoft after more than 30 years of Windows still can make mistakes :)

I am sure you are completely involving in steemit world ,which is an utmost need for all of us.Its our community and so beautiful,why to worry for your clients as before.You are always perfect in your decision to give up the IT industry.Let's rock in this beautiful steemit community.

Windows is tired but still widely used.
I suppose we don’t have time to wait and let it update and reboot these days which we didnoy mind waiting for 20 mts not many years ago.

Apple is good but very expensive. They should probably cut down the profits and make it easier for more mass adoption

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87