[Witness evaluation post #2] These witnesses stepped up during the recent crisis.

in #exyle5 years ago

IMG_2632.jpg


I promised to be more critical of this blockchain now that my rose tinted glasses have been lifted.

Before I continue though I want to share this message from Ned that was posted by @Inertia, I think a lot of you wanted to know this.



Today I want to highlight some witnesses that have stepped during this time of crisis.

With stepped up I mean the witnesses you want to have here in case Steem inc. would disappear (Which I no longer fear will happen).

To succeed this blockchain needs more decentralisation and after that tokens.


Decentralisation will only happen when the costs of the full nodes come down. Otherwise it's simply too expensive for most to run one, especially at current prices.

We also also need tokens to make it easier for app developers to add value to the Steem blockchain.


If I missed any witness please let me know why in the comments I will add you. (It's very hard to find out what happens 'behind the scenes' and not every witness is equally good in communicating).

The current redistribution of STEEM is pretty great. With more dolphins being born everyday, the influence of all of you grow a little more (Although it's still hard to compete with some big accounts).

I want to do this list as emotionless as possible. Just through their actions.


@good-karma


With the Esteem ecosystem runs and pays for its own infrastructure decentralising the blockchain for all of us.


@Aggroed and @yabapmatt


Creators of Steem Monsters. Recently completely disconnected from Steem inc's infrastructure by running their own full node here.

Are building tokenisation on top of Steem with @harpagon.



@fulltimegeek


Building Tokenisation on top Steem with Vaporchain. It's not released yet but it's great to know alternatives to SMT's are in the works.


https://steemit.com/vaporchain/@fulltimegeek/i-will-be-releasing-the-vaporchain-protocol-later-this-month-prepare-for-tokenization


@blocktrades


Offered Steem inc. help to implement RocksDB. Has a team that can work on the blockchain. Heavily invested into Steem.


@smooth.witness


Very active and critical with knowledgable comments on the situation as can be seen on his comment section here.


@anyx


Working on making full nodes more efficient. Also works together with Steem Monsters to run their node.


@thecryptodrive + @reggaemuffin


With @buildteam running their own infrastructure and offered to setup a full node for developers with developers here helping towards decentralising the blockchain.


End note.


On the Steem blockchain the top 20 witnesses represent the most important witnesses. They get paid around 100k STEEM a year. Which under current circumstances is around $2100 a month.

It's not much, currently, for the work that is expected of them but I don't think it's unreasonable to expect some form of communication from them, especially in these times.

Some of top 20 witnesses have not posted or commented in months.

If this crisis has shown anything is that we have put an unfair amount of trust on Steemit inc. to do everything for us.

The witnesses I highlighted today would be able to build on decentralising the blockchain and tokenisation without Steemit inc. so consider them for a vote if this is important to you.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

It is very important to pick up the networking infrastructure slack from Steemit, Inc., in my opinion, and many of the witnesses mentioned in your post already have my support.

It is also important that we have good software engineers, which you also alluded to with such mentions as @fulltimegeek, to name but one.

A couple of others that might also be considered on the programming angle might be @gtg, @timcliff, @themarkymark, @someguy123 and @bobinson.

This is not to mean that there are not others, yet the above mentioned have come to my attention as seeming to know thier shit.

Just voted for all of the ones who you mentioned :)
Great job, thanks for keeping us udated and doing the hard job for us.

Nice to see the ones who are doing something. Can you list the ones who actualy dont do anything?

I rather put the spotlight on the ones that do good work. More are coming. I'm splitting them up in categories.

I'm really excited to see what vaporchain will be like later this month. Really exciting prospect to have an alternative to SMT and i think having them both in tandem could really be good in the long run!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for this. I voted for some of them, now have my 30 votes done. I'll have to look at the others I'm voting for. I give a vote to Partiko and Actifit because I use them every day. I think they're doing a lot for Steem, as they help make posting easy and give me motivation to stick to it every day.

i agree and can attest to several of your recommended players.

yeah, i understand people being anti-social possibly, but still as a witness you need to be visible at least at times

ongoing issue, peace

Thanks for your continued due diligence on this subject as it helps those of us with less technical knowledge. I still have a handful of witness votes to provide and will do so for these although most have my votes already. Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am sure they will appreciated that.

I still have 27 votes to give, which is a shame i know. but until now i've never informed myself properly about the hard working witnesses. thanks for doing this research and bringin us some ideas! voted for some of them :)

Cool! It's always good to exercises your voting rights.

is there a website to track how many dolphins, orcas etc there are ?

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

This is going to be happening with everyone effort more decentralisation will make this blockchain more special than ever :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85