Me and My Girlfriend Are Finally Home!

in #family6 years ago

Well guys, it's finally happened! @ladymaharet has come home to me in Alabama!



This beautiful woman is finally living with me!


This has been a long time coming. We got together a year and a half ago, on February 6th, and it was a long journey to here. I was messed up following my divorce, and I was certain I wasn't ready for any kind of relationship. Then, lo and behold, I meet Chelsea, a woman who looked at all the faults in me, all the places where I was broken and where I'd tried unsuccessfully to fix myself, and accepted me anyway. She loved every part of me, and she still does. And now, she and her son Traven are living here, with me!


To christen this amazing turning point in our lives, I flew up to help her make the grueling 39 hour drive down from Edmonton, Alberta, CA to Montgomery, Alabama, USA. First stop on my journey was Houston Airport, where I found the coolest bar/restaurant I've ever seen in an airport.





I realize this a detour in the story, but seriously. You sit down at the bar, there's a charging port right there for you to use, you order via kiosk, and it looks cool as hell. Alright, that aside! I came into Edmonton and she picked me up, and I got to enjoy what I don't ever get to enjoy down here in the South: CARL'S FREAKING JUNIOR. I would have posted a picture but I was too busy stuffing my face with a guacamole burger and crisscut fries. God I miss crisscut fries. We spent the next day in Edmonton getting ready to go, and for our last meal in Canada we ate donair, ginger beef, and some wicked cheese sticks. The next morning, we got on the road for what is currently the longest roadtrip I've ever taken.


We crossed the border at Portal, which is just on the Canadian side of the North Dakota/Canada border. From there, we traveled what I'm pretty sure was the entire length of North Dakota before stopping for the night in Fargo. Yup. That Fargo. To be fair, it's not actually that cool anymore (assuming that organized crime is not longer as cool as a Cohen Brothers' film; I could be wrong), but there was a Duluth Trading Co. store there, where we picked up some new clothes for ourselves. I love Duluth Trading Co. stuff, and if anyone wants a great pair of cargo pants, buy Duluth.


From Fargo, we headed through Minnesota and into Wisconsin, where we stopped and got some real Wisconsin cheese. It was as delicious as you'd expect it to be. Sadly I don't have any pictures of that because we devoured that cheese. It was delicious. We stopped for the night outside of Chicago. It was the roughest part of the journey and took the longest, so Chelsea, Traven, and I were starting to get stir crazy in the car. We passed a guy hanging out in his driveway and Chelsea swore he was covered in pepperoni nipples. So that was a thing. We about died laughing all the way to our hotel, where we crashed for the night.


The next day, we went through Chicago and made our way down to Indianapolis. We stopped there and took Traven to the Indianapolis Children's Museum. It was a bit of a rough time for him, but he handled it admirably. Honestly, I'm amazed any of us lasted an hour there; there were a lot of cool exhibits, but it was packed with people and it was loud as hell. I wanna know how everyone had time on a Monday to take their kids to the museum. Does no one there have jobs?! We spent the night in Nashville before we made our way all the way down to Montgomery. We finally made it home.


Traven was a real sport about the whole thing. He's mildly autistic, so changing things up for him is not usually a good thing, but he was happy as a clam on the road, and he loved staying in the hotels. He really did a great job, and I'm proud of him. It hasn't been the easiest transition for him since moving here, but me and Chelsea have really stuck to our guns about being calm, collected, and supportive, and he is really responding well.

If you want to vote for me as a witness, cast your vote here! Scroll down until you see the first text box, and type in the name "noblewitness"!
Like what you read? Follow me, @anarcho-andrei! You can also find me on PALnet, Steem Romania, and the Fiction Workshop on the Writer's Block.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.libertynineline.com/2018/08/12/me-and-my-girlfriend-are-finally-home/








Sort:  

Oh god. That's a horrible picture of me. XD You and your weird obsession with my profile. But I'm glad you like it. And yes I am quite happy to be home with you. Finally. :) We made it!!!!!!! I couldn't be happier. I love you.

I don't think it's a horrible picture at all! I was just about to comment and say how much I love it. :-)

You look fine in that pic, trust me if you looked jacked up I would tell you lol. But I totally understand hating some pics of yourself.

Congratulations @anarcho-andrei! You have received a personal award!

Steemit Veterans
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congrats guys. Next time I see you I'll try not to end up laid out on your laps lol.

Isn’t Carl’s Jr like Hardee’s kind of?

Yes, but not. It is, but isn't. It's. . .similar. LOL

No. It looks similar, but it's not. Hardee's isn't even close to as good as Carl's Jr. is.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know the commercials may appeal to the male crowd more. Actually I’ve never seen a Hardee’s ad.

Partiko pretty decent? What’s the beneficiary fee?

I like it. Nice, simple, easy. I don't see it setting any beneficiary on posts, either. I'll have to make a whole post through it to be sure, but it hasn't shown up on any of comment data.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, that is a long road trip. Glad you made it back safe. I have always wanted to see North Dakota. It looks very pretty in pictures.

You guys are so dang CUTE!! And I’m so happy for you that you’re finally together, and that you all made the big trip safe and sound. What a happy story!

pretty an adventure, that's good you enjoyed it, greetings

Congrats dude..and ughhh that’s a long drive.

Congrats to all of you! I also shuffled an edmontonian to the States for true love (we have been married 8 years now), I wish you the absolute best <3

Well thank you! I think this is the beginning of an excellent chapter for both of us.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @anarcho-andrei! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97