A Good Day

in #family5 years ago

I never know how a holiday is going to go over at the shop until it’s happening. I’ve had super busy days where I didn’t have a second of empty store and I’ve had days where I call it quits midday as it was morbidly dead. Today was one of those in betweeners. I was steady but had a minute to take a leak. I didn’t. Take a leak. Just wanted to state that if I chose to go drain the main vein, I could and not be stressed about it.

I got some work accomplished at the shop which is always a plus. Then I was lucky enough to have @yabapmatt swing by with his son to say hello. He was down in the area visiting family and was close by. He was generous and made several purchases for his son so thanks for that brother. I chucked in a Digimon Pop, some comics, and some LEGO’s to return the favor.

94DD8F18-6C50-4C1F-9EAC-1712A6A49225.jpeg

We have been speaking for a couple months now as he’s helping answer stupid questions by me for a project that I’m working on with my buddy @chood. We chatted about @steemmonsters (Splinterlands), he gave me a snazzy new Splinterlands shirt to rock (we both represented well today), and we discussed distribution of the game’s Promo Cards at upcoming conventions I’ll be exhibiting at. Super nice dude and I look forward to hopefully working with you in the future but also having ya back at the shop so we can sucker you into more purchases! 😜

Shot over to see mom at the “home”. They are nice there and treat her well. With my dad and sister gone for the week, the pressure is on me to make sure I get there daily to see her for a bit. She was happy today but asked several times for my pops which kinda breaks my heart but she has been doing well. I try to take a pic with her each day I go to see her. Sometimes getting her to smile or even recognize the camera can be challenging but I got her to laugh at a dumb joke here. Snapped it at the tail end of her giggling.

7E6061F5-1E02-4303-B9AC-2984E6FE0280.jpeg

Heading home, I knew the wife @reeseshara was going to hit the hay early. She had a nasty ass cold the past few days and with starting a new gig at Crook & Marker, she was wiped. I however was jonesing to see a movie. With my AMC A-List Pass, I can see up to 3 movies a week. I find movies highly relaxing...as long as there’s not a blabbing fuckhead megaphone mouthing scrotum yapping throughout the film. The only film that worked time wise for me to see and still get a decent nights sleep was Endgame. Again. For the 5th time. Cool. I’m in. I needed to just unwind after a trying couple of days.

Upon coming home, I snuggled with my girl Bindi and now am ready to attempt to catch some zzzzzz’s. A much better day mentally than just 48 hours ago.

B61CC0C5-FE84-4DBD-BC74-3CB8FFA0CA22.jpeg

Night!

Blewitt

Sort:  

It's always nice when Steemians come to visit :)

The only film that worked time wise for me to see and still get a decent nights sleep was Endgame.

As in Avengers Endgame? Cuz that movie is 3 hours long...😮

as long as there’s not a blabbing fuckhead megaphone mouthing scrotum yapping throughout the film.

I'm seriously looking for a movie that would fit the description to this. That way I could put it on for the kids and if they wonder why tell them: "Well that's what it's like for me every time we watch a movie together."😜😂

I'm glad to hear your feeling a bit better. Hehe, I love the expression on your mother's face. Almost as if she's saying: Yeah, I laugh because you're my son and I love you, but it really wasn't all that funny. I remember that expression from my grandmother LOL.

Yeah it is great seeing folks...especially when I am lucky enough to have them pop into my shop!

Yup...3 delightful hours of bliss. lol

Yeah she will randomly laugh at things that aren't even funny. I don't care though as long as she is happy. you know what im talking about... Much love my friend.

hehehe, '3 delightful hours of bliss'...
In your post you made it seem like you chose a shorter movie because of limited time lol. And BLISS? I shed tears with that movie! (well, at the end that is) We went to see it in an almost empty cinema, and I could have gotten away with it if it hadn't been for my daughter who yelled: "Are you crying mom?" I just shifted the attention to the woman two rows in front of us who was really crying her eyes out, lol.

Your mom, it's great that she still has laughter in her life (and a son who cares so much), bless her. She seems like a very sweet lady to me. I'm glad you still have her in your life, and you can make her laugh, at not so funny things ;) It doesn't matter what illnesses or troubles our parents go through or not, they still teach us, don't they?

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Awwww, good to hear. As my Dad says, one thing you can expect from life is ups and downs. Love that smiling photo of you and you Mum, and you and @yabapmatt certainly are rocking those tees!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks a ton. I am actually wearing it today for the first time! Thanks regarding mom!!! I love seeing her smile as well!

Not a bad day! Great to have an opportunity to share with the mind of a great developer and community member!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Absolutely. I still feel like a zilch talking to those who are more educated on the Steem happenings and workings. lol

morbidly dead.

Are there any other ways of being 'dead' that aren't morbid? :P Glad you're feeling better :)

First @sparksey43 chumps me on my hidden contest...now you with my analysis of death...you fuckers are hard to please!

lol...thx love. Appreciate it!

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

Glad you're back on that up trend. :)

Thanks brother! Appreciate the kind words!

You got a 29.29% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @blewitt! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83