Happy Birthday Pops!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #family5 years ago (edited)

image

Today is my Pops 71st birthday. I snuck away from the shop for an hour earlier today to meet up with him and my sister Sarah for a quick bite and a beer...or two.

image

My father does not have Facebook or Steemit, so he sadly won’t see this. He still has an old school flip phone and calls me to check the computer for movie times for him. Tech was never his strong suit. What he excelled at though is being one of my heroes.

image

Ever since I was a kid, I remember admiring and looking up to him. He would come in the driveway when I was shooting hoops (poorly) and sink 3 pointer after 3 pointer with ease. At the Steamfitters picnic we would play softball and he would get up to bat after not batting for a year and crack a homer like it was nothing. I watched him pick up a grown dude by his neck and hold him in the air, with one hand...ONE HAND...when he saw that same dude doing it to me when I was in my early teens. He makes split pea soup. He gardens and grows killer veggies. He put up a fence. Fixes any thing that goes wrong in my house. Comes over my house with dog treats in his pockets for the pups and baby talks to them. He babysits. He tells killer stories from the past. He took us on vacation every year when we were growing up. He selflessly tends to my ailing mother daily and has for years. He comes to the kids concerts and games. He does what heroes do without blinking an eye or missing a beat.

Today my hero turns 71. Happy birthday pops. I love ya, appreciate you, and am thankful for everything you have done. You have made me a better person and I’m forever grateful.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Happy 71 birthday to pops @blewitt, I would tell him he's missing nothing not being on facebook and as for Steemit it's an opportunity.

Yeah he is NOT a social media guy. We got him an Amazon Alexa and all he has to do is talk to the frickin thing and he still bumbles that. Lol

Happy birthday!

Posted using Partiko Android

Very kind of you @partiko. Thanks!

Happy birthday, Papa Blewitt! May there be many more years of having to put up with Baby Blewitt's shenanigans before you! :D

Exactly. Suffer through life dealing with my dad!!! Lol. Thx brother

🍻 cheers to 71 years and many more, Pops!

Word! Cheers to Pops! Thx my friend.

Many many congrats for your 71 years.Happy Birthday.I pray for the almighty that your dreams come true.

You are awesome! Lol. Thank you so much.

Man, how did the apple fall so far from the tree???

HAH. Happy Birthday to your Dad. Sounds like a complete class act. It's great to have a strong relationship with him and lots of positive memories.

Oh it fell and rolled down a hill into the sewers.

Thanks brother. Yeah I’m very lucky to have a close bond with him.

Sounds like the old fella is a great dad and hopefully he enjoyed turning 71. I'm sure he's as proud of you as you are of him.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thx a ton. I’m sure sometimes he looks at me and scratches his head though. Lol

Mine too, I'm sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

who's doesn't to be honest. I look at my son and think wtf?!? lol

Heros need their birthdays celebrated big time.
And oh My gosh what do we go and look and act the Same while Getting older. I wanna be like My pops When I am old 😉

Absolutely. I look at my dad as a huge role model and a shining example of what I’d like to be like when I’m older. ❤️

When you are all grown up 😉

Happy birthday, may GOD bless your POPs

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much!!! I’d be lost without him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11