A Message From The Past

in #family6 years ago

Cleaned out some old files today & came across a note my dad wrote to himself at least 10 years ago. At the time he wrote this note, he was suffering symptoms of early stages of Alzheimer’s disease, so his handwriting & brain were already severely affected

The note reads:

Just got to Keep going

Research: neurology

B86018F3-DF5B-4037-B459-C443D2FE19B7.jpeg

I wanted to share this note because it is good timeless dad advice from the past. He wrote this for himself, but it is good advice for any of us.

He is still with us, but 10 years later he has lost most of his attention span & ability to move around. Still, when I go see him he keeps his attitude up & just keeps going. Probably would never have gotten so close to him if he didn’t get sick. I still learn lessons left behind everyday from all the experiences & wisdom he provided.

I am very grateful for my dad & all the things I continue to learn from him despite his disease.

Without him in my life, I’d be very different for sure & would likely understand far less about life.

Hopefully he knows he is well loved as we all deserve to be.

“Just got to keep going”

Sage advice 👆

Sort:  

Yes that's beautiful. Don't lose the note! Maybe even frame it and put it on your desk or wall. It says so much.
Has he also got diabetes?
It's good that you're learning any lessons possible. You'll learn more even with his eventual passing. A lot of sadness of course, but plenty of learning. And growth. :)
I'm sure he knows he's loved, and gets reminded often.

Thanks for the kind words, wisdom is a fair reward for dealing with the most difficult things.

I’ve found notebooks of his notes over the years. You can pretty much date the notes by the decline of handwriting & organization of them. A pretty good window into his inner thought timeline but super sad.

He never had diabetes but ate too much sugar & very few vegetables, also popped ibuprofen like candy which is the most likely culprit for his early onset symptoms in my opinion.

In the words of the great Joey coco Diaz

“You’re not a man until your dad dies”

I say

“You’re not a man until your dad dies Or you have to wipe his ass for him”

People take these for Alzheimer's and dementia:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B002GFMXES/ref=mp_s_a_1_2_a_it?ie=UTF8&qid=1528468993&sr=8-2&keywords=amyloban+3399+from+lions+mane

I hope all the best for your dad and family.

Thanks for the reply, I picked these up a few months ago, Paul Stamet’s Brand

354FA650-0B4C-48A0-9559-3239C540B2B5.jpeg

I think growing them fresh would be most medicinal

Those aren't the best, unfortunately : /

I don't buy HostDefense because, as you can see on the bottle, they use mycelial extracts, not actual mushroom (fruiting body) extracts... It's basically a scam. Mushroomwisdom uses fruiting body and full spectrum extracts.

I hope hes taking some donkey dick when its ready?!

I wish, but he never really liked it. & the lady who owns the house he lives in is really scared of anything to do with cannabis bc of regulations on care homes. They should all be hi as a kite or cbd’Ed if u ask me, but the pill companies are fighting it hard

Man thanks for sharing this!

Something a little different today 🙏

@ceattlestretch I want to know what yoga your doing, that would be a nice post as well!

Maybe today I’ll set my phone up creepily in class & get some pictures for a post. I go to the fairly laid back classes at my gym so it’s not cultish. 3-5 classes a week of whatever the teacher teaches. Keeps my back straight & my brain relaxed. Everybody should do yoga

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66