The Benefits of Ping Pong

in #family5 years ago

PP1.png

So you thought the “-pong” in my name stood for something else? Perhaps it does, but it also fits conveniently here. Maybe this was a subconscious motivation for my choice of name.

Most of us are only good at doing certain things. You’ve heard the saying: Jack of all trades, master of none. But if we’re fortunate and work hard, there might be one or two things we learn to do fairly well. For me, one of those things is ping pong (table tennis). For whatever reason, I’m fairly good at it. Maybe it’s because I had access to a table when I was a kid, so I played a lot. Practice, as they say, makes a person somewhat better (though only approaching and never reaching perfection).

PP2.jpg

I had not played this game in many years, but one day there was a super-sale on a ping pong table. On a whim, we bought the table and put it in our garage. Since then, our family members have played ping pong nearly every day; my children love it.

This is the ideal game to play with family.

Why?

First,

because it’s a casual pursuit. It’s less of a commitment than suiting up to go out riding bikes or playing some other sport. We can stay whatever clothes we are wearing and play for just two minutes if that’s all we have. Generally, we’ll play for longer than that.

Second,

it’s a fun game, so the kids actually want to play it, and we can talk while we play casually (when we’re just rallying, not playing for score). The kids may be upset with us or they may not want to talk otherwise, but once we start playing and they loosen up, they will tell us everything that’s going on at school, etc.

Third,

even though it’s a casual game, the kids have a competitive instinct and they want to beat Mom and Dad at ping pong. Hitting the ball with the paddle, though it is not an overly aggressive or physical action, allows the kids to release some pent up energy. I am not holding up ping pong as an alternative to more physical sports and exercise, which also are needed, but it can supplement them nicely.

PP6.jpg

Fourth,

ping pong builds eye-hand coordination and an understanding of disciplines such as geometry and physics. There are rectangles and circles and curves. The ball moves and bounces and spins and reacts upon return. The kids watch, they experiment, they make adjustments, and they see the results. If you play a game like tennis (which I like also), in an hour you might hit the ball x number of times. You’ll spend the rest of that hour picking up balls. But with ping pong, picking up balls does not take nearly as long, and because the table is relatively compact in size, kids can sustain longer rallies. Hence, each person hits the ball many, many more times, and it accentuates the learning of spatial awareness, motion, angles, bounces and more. They also get better a the game more quickly than with larger sports.

PP4.jpg

Unfortunately, I may have made one mistake when we got the ping pong table. Hoping to encourage the children to improve their playing and WANT to get better, I announced a prize for the first person who could beat me at a game (score to 11, in at least 3 sets). I told them I would take the winner on a vacation to a place of their choice. And so, both of my kids are competing to get better and eventually beat me, though most of the time I insist that we just play friendly rallies with no scoring.

Here is why that may have been a mistake. My challenge has encouraged the kids to practice and get better at playing ping pong. And it has not made them more competitive than usual, which is good. I only regret it because I CANNOT lose a game to them. Someday, I’ll be glad to lose and reward them as they deserve. But only when they can genuinely beat me. I cannot let myself lose easily.

Parents sometimes lose games on purpose to help boost kids’ confidence in their own ability to excel and win. I’ve done it before, though not as much as some parents probably do. But with ping pong, that is off the table. Whenever we play, until they can beat me naturally, I must win. So when we are playing scored games, I have to play near my best.

It’s been a fun ride so far. Watching my kids play and practice and learn and get better is a delight. And getting the opportunity to let them loosen up and talk with them, when they might not otherwise open up to chat, is priceless. It’s good family time. This ping pong table is one of the best investments I have ever made. Whatever I paid for it was a bargain compared to the benefits it continues to provide for our family.

PP5.jpg

All images are public domain.

Sort:  

Lol this is probably only sport I can call myself good

I'm still not sure if it's a "sport", but I feel the same way.

If chess is sport this is too :DDDD

Table tennis is a better sport to introduce every children by parents. It increase every healthy facilities of them. Probably wisdom can be improve. I'm really like playing ping pong game with others. If playground has raining, can easily play ping pong inside. It's indoor sport.

so true we need more of this

Ping pong is certainly one of the best games to increase one's eye concentration definitely. Asides that your pong table reminds me of an ad like that on tv called Milo. It nourishes the players to play extraordinary game.

I completely agree with your message, in this sport there are no minuses, moreover, my brother had eye surgery and the doctors recommended him to be engaged in table tennis. This is a sport useful for short-sighted, farsighted, and those who have recently performed eye surgery. The eyes during the game continuously do exercises, focusing on the flying ball, then flying right at you. It is also good for those who work at the computer and watches the screen at the same distance all day. Thank you for the interesting story.

Very interesting. I hadn't thought of that use for it, but nice to hear it was helpful in recovering from eye surgery.

Table tennis is one my favourite games we have a table tennis board at my parents place and we grew up having epic matches and injures! Running into walls, slipping, splashing the bat against table to make that last shot

Surprising how much knocks you can pick up in a competitive game! But it’s so nice fun, I feel like playing now

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's one of the things I like: It can be relaxed and mellow or it can be a very hard and intense game.

Since middle school, I have fallen in love with table tennis. This sport teaches that hard work is not enough, but needs luck.

This sport also does not need extra energy such as badminton and volleyball. Stay calm but also sweat a lot.

Yes, of course this is good for families. Maybe later when I already have a husband and child, this tennis table is included in the list of things that must be owned.

More personal conversations can also be created while playing ping pong.

Thanks for sharing this info with us, @donkeypong

I'm glad you've had a positive experience with it also.

Oh yes @donkeypong, ping pong is a very interesting game and although now for a number of reasons I do not play it, but in my youth it was a very consumable action. You are right that you decided to teach children to this game and I also thought about it, because there are a lot of advantages in it, and for me ping pong is considered to be a very developing game, especially for the younger generation!

never knew it is also called ping pong. Always known it as table tennis in this part of the world.
And yes, it is really a comfortable place to discuss some serious matters with people.

PP or TT. Still the same game!

Yeah definitely.
Sir

@donkeypong, That's nice to know benefits of ping-pong playing. As my childhood I played ping pong more times but I felt I wasn't perfect it coz I lost my games more times. Won only few time.I agree with your these points. We can play with children inside home. No need to go outside for playing like as other sports. My opinion is need more practice for be perfect continuously. Faster skills perform anyone in table tennis sport.

And what about donkey? :D
I used to have PinG name in online gaming, but that was internet ping :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87