"Are they ready yet": When pasties and memories combine

in #family6 years ago

My mum passed away fourteen years ago after a battle with cancer. She didn't die well to be honest; Not in pain, the morphine took care of that, but she was unable to speak in the end and was unrecognisable. It's not necessarily how I remember her though.

I know, that sounds like a pretty depressing way to start a blog...And what the hell is the picture of the Cornish Pastie all about?

My mum used to make some pretty good Cornish Pasties. It was a special occasion thing, which I say with some sorrow, as I honestly could have eaten them every day. It was an all day thing, the chopping of vegetables, making of dough and of course filling and closing up the pasties complete with the trademark knot. I can still smell the amazing aroma of pasties cooking emanating from within the kitchen..."Are they ready yet," being a phrase repeated on more than one occasion.

Living in a small country town we had a pretty large property and so once those pasties were cooked we would generally take them outside, find a nice little spot and spread out the rug and have a pastie-picnic. The whole family. When I mean the whole family I mean my older brother, mum, dad, my granddad and nana and me of course. My younger brothers and sister were not born at the time. It was a nice time, Yes, I know you may think it lame...But years later I can recall it like it was yesterday and so to me it's not lame...More, an enduring life memory.

I have a Cornish heritage on my mum's side. Her father derives from Cornish immigrants who arrived in the mid 1800's. The Cornish potato famine in the 1840's made the arduous journey appealing and so off they sailed arriving in Australia to settle in Burra, Kadina and Moonta where copper deposits had just been discovered. Of course, with them came the Cornish pasty.

I recently travelled to England and spent a week in Cornwall to follow back some of my ancestors and to understand where I came from a little better. It was a mind-blowingly amazing experience to walk on the paths my ancestors walked, and worked as miners and farmers.

The pasty featured prominently wherever we went of course and I tried many. I guess I figured I may not be back for a long time and wanted to get as much Cornish into me as possible. Yes, I know...The body doesn't work like that, but don't tell my stomach. So, I ate a few pasties and every time was reminded of my mum's home made ones from all those years ago.

As my younger siblings came along life changed, it got busier for the entire family and money became tighter; Only my dad worked so supporting the growing family became harder on his single salary. It also changed the way mum did the mum-thing. Instead of making bread each day it was purchased. As were cakes and scones and things like that. Everything became a little more streamlined and efficient which was great but in hindsight I wish it never happened. Not that I wish my siblings didn't come along, only that life could still be the same simple thing it was when I was 6 or 7. Alas, those days are long gone.

When I see a Cornish pasty it represents a few different aspects of my life: Heritage, childhood, parents, holidays and of course those days spent sitting outside the kitchen plying with some toys waiting for mum's pasties to cook and pasty-picnics in a shady spot. It was no different on the day I consumed the pasty in this image. I was sitting in a place called Porthleven, Cornwall with some Cornish friends and we chatted about Cornish life, my ancestors and life in general...And once more the humble Cornish pasty became the central point for memories that will stay with me for years to come. Ok, there were a few beers there too, but the pasties took centre stage.

I'll never eat a Cornish pasty made by my mum again however will certainly eat many Cornish pasties in the future. Each time it will take me back to the fond memories created in my hometown, the kitchen warmed by the oven holding trays of mum's Cornish pasties and of course my journey across the world to go home to Cornwall. Isn't life grand that a relatively simple food item, the Cornish pasty can come to mean so much to a person, can represent so many memories.

Sort:  

I have always wanted to try to make some but I think I will just be disappointed. That and, no Rosella's tomato sauce here...

Oh yes, the red sauce...I forgot to mention that. They use HP sauce in England also. Not as good as tomato sauce though.

I'm going to try and make some. Fail or not it'll make me feel good I think.

Your Cornish pasties, @galenkp, are like the homemade chicken and noodles my mother used to make. Very tasty, made less frequently than I would have preferred, and lots of fond memories associated with them.

While my mom is still living, she doesn't do much cooking anymore, so those days are long gone. My wife has made some on occasion, but ends up using packaged noodles which come close, but are not the same.

I'm not sure if they were an all day thing, but the noodles were definitely a labor of love, made from scratch, rolled out, cut into strips and then cut again. And then everything ended up in a pot with chicken and gravy.

I think there is quite a bit to be said about food and heritage, simply because different peoples in different times ate different things, most of it out of necessity. Now we can almost eat what we want since either someone makes it nearby or we can find the ingredients and online recipe.

So, going forward, it will probably be the traditions of that past that continue on with food and other things to mark ancestry and a specific way of life, as for years now, there's been more of a blending. Not a bad thing, just not as unique perhaps.

I guess we can look back in thirty years and see what's become of the food and traditions at that point.

Food connects people, the act of sharing food with others connects and brings together. It also connects one with memories of good times as with my mum's Cornish pasties or your mom's chicken and noodles.

Things. Have though, in food-circles they call it fusion when foods from different cultures are brought together. Not bad, just different to what the older people like me may be used to. Attach some great memories to it and it has the same result.

Thanks for commenting.

This is making my mouth water...I'm going to become fat because of you. This is not the first food post you've made :P

Don't they say we're the sum of our memories?

I think the saying goes something like that, yes.

I'm going to have a crack at making some pasties soon...I'll do a post about it whether I succeed or fail. I'll eat them either way of course.

Mmm how can pasties be bad?

One of my aunts, may she RIP, used to love making home made Cornish pasties. They really were the best.
An injection of cold tomato sauce into the steaming hot vegetable matter contained within the pastie made that first bite surreal.

The only place i know in the US where you can get these is in the upper peninsula of Michigan. So delicious i like mine just a smidge burnt on the edges

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.209 which ranks you at #2757 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 13 places in the last three days (old rank 2770).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 304 contributions, your post is ranked at #54.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 37.89% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

That memory is about as polar opposite of "lame" as one can possibly get. And that trek to Cornwall would have been pretty magical too.

I've spent quite a few mornings when I didn't want to get up for various reasons wishing that I was a kid back home again, things were so much easier XD

The lure of a simple life calls me but alas, I don't think the simple life is very attainable these days.

You'd have to define what you mean by "the simple life" first as I think it means different things for different people XD Even if you can't get to your definition you could still probably simplify down a lot from how things generally are, if you haven't already.

Have already... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06