How much time

in #family5 years ago

My mother's eyes closed for the final time and she slipped away to someplace else, or nowhere. She was pain free in the end, the morphine made sure of that, and in that final moment the cancer won the battle.

In April 2004 my mother was admitted to a palliative care unit in a hospital near my house. She had battled valiantly with cancer for several years however it had gotten to the point where the pain was too great, she had lost mobility and wasn't eating. For two and a half weeks we visited her there becoming almost permanent fixtures, even gaining permission to bring her little dog, Lumi into the unit to see her. That put a smile on her face, or would have could she have smiled through the pain and drugs.

The night before she passed away we were all there, the family members that could be. My wife and I, sister and her partner, father and my dad's sister; A small group.

We were all staying there that night as the palliative care nurses had advised my mum was not long for this world. She had stopped eating 3 days earlier and was very weak, conscious still mostly, but she'd drift in and out. It was around dinner time and we were talking about finding some food. Mum got my attention and tried to mouth a word. After some time I worked it out. Pizza.

An hour later we sat around her room eating take-out pizza with her, my sister sitting on her bed, other's on chairs and I could tell my mum was happy. She couldn't eat any of course but I think she was just happy that we were there. You see, she had seen this happen countless times before, better times of course, but times in which the family would gather, smash out some pizza and just be together. She couldn't really smile that night, but we could tell she felt...Content, I guess the word is.

We told stories, laughed despite not wanting to, and just sat silently during the times when she drifted out. It was surreal evening. Later we found somewhere to sleep, couches in the family room of the palliative care unit, my dad on a trundle bed in my mum's room, wherever we could really.

The next morning the nurses suggested we shoot home, have something to eat, shower and the like then come back mid-morning. Reluctantly we did saying goodbye to my mum prior to leaving of course.

At home we hurriedly showered, and ate some breakfast. I remember vividly that I was sitting at my dining table, a large 10 person table my grandfather had made for my grandmother in 1919 as a wedding present. I was compiling a list of people I'd need to contact when the phone rang at about 8am and a nurse told me that my mum was close. We dropped everything, jumped in our cars and sped off for the 4 minute drive to the hospital.

It all seems quite blurry, sort of washed out in my memory, but I recall each moment with clarity. I recall racing headlong through the corridors towards the palliative care section...I burst through some double doors only to be met by a nurse, a client of my wife's actually, who simply stood there looking at me. I knew before she spoke what she would say.

My mum passed away a minute before I burst into that hallway. Alone. I don't know what it was like, only one passing-over could ever understand I suppose, but she was alone and I felt guilty for that. Incredibly guilty. I should have been there. Someone should have been there.

I'll leave it there I think as I don't really know what to say nor do I feel inclined to revisit the guilt I felt, and still feel, for not being there...

What I do want to say though is that time is not an endless thing. It does not come back around, nor does it wait for anyone or anything. Time passes whether you want it to or not and the only comfort that we can find in its passing is generated by what we do whilst we have it; Time.

I feel fortunate to have learned many lessons in my life, to have had the good and bad times impart knowledge, wisdom and a kind of understanding, as each came to leave their indelible mark upon me. One of those lessons relates to my life-ethos which you can read below. Time is a commodity that each of us must spend in his or her own way. How much time we have is out of our control but what we do with the time we have is within it.

Thanks for reading.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
Hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209

Sort:  

I'm sure she knew you had all been there the entire time. I'm sorry you lost her, but also thankful you had her, she obviously did a great job with both you and tarazkp.

Thanks for sharing your story, I've now done the routine a few times where you are on the final hours and it can be hard and even at times confusing.

Some day I hope someone sits with me, but not for a long time yet.

I'm sorry you lost her, but also thankful you had her, she obviously did a great job with both you and @tarazkp.

Thanks @whatsup. Yes, I think she did the best she knew how and then her children went forward and forged our own unique-selves the best we could. I think that's the best anyone could ever hope for.

Thanks for commenting as always. :)

Incredibly emotional to read, I think from the effect on my eyes that the pollen must be high here today...

I feel that pain all too well my friend, I think most of us here, certainly those with some years in the rear-view mirror have had those phone calls, those dreaded moments of guilt at having been moments too late, I recall two important times in my lifetime where, just like you, I was literally seconds away from being there just in time...

The resolution I have found to ease the pain, that actual physical pain that resurfaces when it creeps back into our mind was actually more simple than I could've ever believed. I simply considered if it had been me laying there in that bed in those clinical surroundings.

I, and you too I imagine, would have understood entirely, would've realised that on the scales of life, a life lived well, surrounded by those we love unconditionally and oh-so-profoundly, this delay means little. In some ways, I would be grateful that those I loved most in the world, my children were saved that helpless moment of being unable to do anything for me - indeed having to resign to watching me slip away.

I am also a firm believer that those I loved deeply who had to leave can see all when they are entering that stage of life. I have experienced too many synchronicitous events surrounding those at the end of their journey to dismiss this strange phenomena. Indeed this has continued in many cases long after they have left.

However I cannot simply end it there, without commenting on that insidious, debilitating disease that causes so much suffering, hurt and pain, much of it to those who must look on helplessly, knowing that there is little respite they can offer, except to just be there, show love and speak comfort - and laugh!

People often find me disrespectful at first cracking jokes, engaging the person suffering in some of those fabulously funny stories from the past but it has always ultimately had the desired effect... At that stage of life, can you imagine anything better than feeling love and laughing with those we care for the most?

I am a firm believe also in that, although this painful re-telling of those final days is obviously about somebody, your Mother, no longer being here among those who loved her so... The truth is that couldn't be further from the truth... Of course she is here, I am sure you see her in moments, expressions, mannerisms from those who knew and loved her most. There will be things that happen, places you go and sensations you feel that are unmistakably her.

I understand entirely that crystal clear clarity, yet blurriness you describe, it is the strangest thing to grasp it also relates to the passage of time around such times of life, we sometimes remember the exact time on the clock that certain things transpired yet we can lose 5 or 6 hours or even days in what sees like the blink of an eye.

In some ways I would bet the last 15 years seems such a long time and other times you remember speaking your Mother what feels like a couple of years ago...

I apologize for this comment going on for so long. Occasionally I read something and it hearkens at true connection, love and the true nature of life and I find it difficult to either pass by without comment and seem unable to use brevity, when it relates to something profound and important.

I wholeheartedly endorse your words about our perception, understanding and use of time, in an age when so many speak of resources that are finite or nonrenewable it is incredibly ironic that many seem to have overlooked this fundamental truth!

I hope that in some way writing these words was even a little cathartic and helped with perspective regarding guilt that would never be wished on us by those we have lost. Take great care to you and yours I am sure you carry her spirit on in all you are and all you do.

Thanks for your thorough and measured reply @stowaway, I appreciate it I agree with you completely. I often say to people who have lost others that that they are not where they once were, they are everywhere we go because we carry them in our memories. I think your comments mean the same thing really.

I also agree about what you said in respect of time. It's interesting to compare it to some of the environmental non-renewables as you did...I've never thought of it that way however it's one and the same: Finite...And yet one of the most wasted things humans have ever had anything to do with.

That was tough to read. You're a talented writer. I know you've talked about your mom's passing before, but I haven't read about it in such detail. I'm really sorry for your loss. It was a while ago, but for many, the pain of losing a loved one doesn't really go away. You just have to learn to cope with it. She must have been a very special lady. Again, my deepest condolences.

Thanks @themanwithnoname I appreciate that. I haven't written about my mum passing away in any great depth for some reason, I don't know why really. It was a while ago but it's not something a person forgets easily I guess. Maybe I'll write about it again in the future, but thanks for your condolences. Death is something that will visit all of us, hopefully when we're old and just after we have spent our last crypto dollar!

Mother is the best thing one could have in life. The one who lover her child more than her life and always stand by side. A natural force that strengthen the power within.

It's pretty hard to accept the loss, wish God could keep their best creature alive forever. My sincere condolence, 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @steemflow. Death is an unfortunate aspect of life and it comes for all of us. Our memories keep those who have departed alive though right?

I had a similar experience with my dad and I think he didn’t want us there knowing how tough it would be. It was better to remember the better time like pizza that the goodbye.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, you're right. Better to remember the better memories. The nurses all said that had she wanted me there she would have waited. Made me feel a bit better.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 6.93% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.445 which ranks you at #2107 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2105).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 159 contributions, your post is ranked at #34.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11