The Power of Training: Confidence, obediance, respectfulness and strength

in #family6 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_2018-09-14-08-47-24.png

Those who follow me know my eldest daughter (Hazel), seen here devastating the air with a unimaginably powerful front kick, is well on the road to becoming the next Bruce Lee.

Ok, maybe not... but she is having fun, learning a skill, gaining self-confidence and growing in obediance so I am VERY proud and happy for her.

20180910_180756.jpg

She is always excited to attend, and she gleefully asks daily, "is today karate?!", so she clearly loves it, but the best part though is what I see her learning, and how I see her growing because of these classes. I see her gaining strength, she can do push-ups and sit-ups now. She listens to Angela and I better than before, and even says "sir" when we ask her to do something. She is making friends and learning social cues all while burning off energy with excercise.

But perhaps my favourite part is this, they recite this adorable mantra before and after class. It's the cutest...

ATA Lil' Tiger Mantra:

"Sir! I promise to be a good person. Have knowledge in the mind. Honesty in the heart. Strength in the body! And to make good friends."

That always makes me smile. If only we all lived by such high and virtuous values.

Thanks for listening, I hope you have an excellent day. God bless you and yours.

1111111.png

Sort:  

I’m going to try to bring my young son skating at least once on the weekend this winter. He’s probably going to go into hockey next year.

Its so great to see them get into something, when I see Hazel's sense of achievement it really makes her and me beam with joy. She broke this one board, its only styrofoam but still, and she was BURSTING, "Daddy I did it!", "I am a fuerte girl!".

Its so important for people, but especially kids, to have something in their life where they can stretch themselves, learn something new, strive for and attain little victories, and that is what I see her receiving when she attends karate. I expect hockey would be the exact same experience and I hope your son has a blast and learns a lot.

Thanks for the comment.

Yeah, I have the feeling my son will love playing hockey. He asked me if there was a hockey game on tv, or my phone all summer!

Very nice practicing this art, greetings, my best wishes to you and your family.

Thanks again. Hazel loves it. Its super cute to watch.

Hi @infidel1258!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.083 which ranks you at #22881 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 19 places in the last three days (old rank 22862).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 434 contributions, your post is ranked at #340.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27