ULOG #8 - First Father's Day with our adopted son: Plus DIY Gifts

in #family6 years ago (edited)

1st Father's Day


In Australia it is the second day of Spring and the 1st Sunday, so today we celebrate Father's Day, it's rather special for us as it is also the first Father's Day for my husband @shai-hulud. Our 17month old son who is currently sleeping joined our family in June and has been a pleasure to watch and grow ever since.

It is, however, a challenge to come up with a unique fathers day gift for a man who dislikes being brought gifts, especially for a purpose. So instead we had to make some things, which anyone who has a toddler knows that creates challenges of its own.

Dough Plaque

This awesome plaque has three simple ingredients:

  1. 1 cup of all-purpose (plain) flour
  2. 1 cup of salt (cooking salt or table salt both work)
  3. 1/2 a cup of water.

Add some dye if you want it to be a specific colour, we made our's blue or leave it plain and paint it later with your child, mine is still a little young and it's too chilly to let him loose in a nappy with the finger paints.

Dad 2018.jpg

Mix it all together with your hands and then flour the bench before kneading the dough into a ball, at this stage I would transfer it to the tray you will be cooking it on, I also recommend using baking paper. Then push it into the shape you want, we were aiming for a heart.

With the aid of my hubby, no surprise with this gift sorry hubby, we got his little feet de-socked and pressed into the dough heart.

Making Dad.png

Add the finer details and then place it in a preheated oven 100 degrees Celcius (200 Fahrenheit) and cook for hours and hours until it is no longer soft, we did ours in two runs, once for 3 hours and then flipped it and went another 3 just to be safe. You can add anything thing you like to the plaque mould, I will get a hand one for mother's day next year. Hint Hint @shai-hulud

Note that you can't place this outside, it is essentially super salty overcooked bread that will disintegrate over time, especially if left in the rain.

Hands Reach Card

This was easy and hard at the same time. Things used:

  1. Paper, used for reach, the center of the card (colourful makes it more fun but it is not required)
  2. Cardboard, used for hands, (if cardboard is not available then glue multiple hands together to remove the flop)
  3. Glue or sticky tape, I had double-sided tape which was awesome
  4. Optional: some string, I used this to measure my son's reach quickly with no real interference from his lightning quick hands.

It took me about ten tries at tracing his hands that ended in biscuit bribes to keep still for the fastest hand tracing ever.

Things used for hands.png

I have seen this done with just the child's hands but I wanted to make it a bit more special which is why I not only traced his hands but mine, I taped his to mine for a cute effect of hand on hand. Something else I did to add that personal touch was use both his and my reach for the center of the card, using different colours to identify when his ends.

Our reach.png

He stayed distracted in his highchair up until this point and then a pause and one on one play session was required. Dad was also coming home soon so I packed it up and only finished it this morning while fruit was distracting said little one. He is at that pull and tear stage, so not ideal for arts and crafts.

I kindly offered to let my hubby sleep in so that I could finalise his card.

hand message.png

Add a message of your choice and then fold the reach banner up using a zig-zag fold, also known as the concertina, accordion or z-fold. Attach the ends to the hands and done and dusted, one hand card ready for daddy! I put a loose elastic band around the hands to keep the accordion together.

Dad with Card.jpg

Daddy loved his card, he was stocked that it was homemade and with so many personal touches, he did laugh while asking me how many times I had to trace his hand to get "the one", knowing full well it would have been many as he is not one to stay still, even his self started horsey rides last a few seconds before he hops off to do the next thing.

Gift

While he normally hates gifts, his engraver died last week and he was off to buy a new one but knows that I like buying gifts for purpose so he told me what he was going to buy so Thana and I could go get it for him and pretend it was a Father's Day gift.

opening presents.png

We are off to the park this afternoon so I may update this with some more Father's Day's adventures. If you celebrate it I hope you had a fun-filled day with the kids, if you don't I hope you are still having a super awesome day!

Park Fun as Promised

Park.png

Power Up and Steem ON!

dots divider.png

Want some inspiration or a maybe a laugh, I'm pretty funny I have been told. CHECK out these posts, all brought to you by @insideoutlet! Note since picking up our son life has been hectic and posts have been less consistent as I would like so many of these may have paid out, no need to upvote but do feel free to leave a comment as I use fast reply and always get back to my comments, even if a little late.

ULOG #7 - A Great Comeback in Brisbane - Adventures within...
#19 What is it? First to guess right wins!
Ulog #6 - I got a dollar, a steem dollar!
Ulog #5 - 7 Day Positivity Challenge - DAY 5 - Lemonade Scones Mess & Friends

My hubby @shai-hulud is also a great steemian worth a follow, check out some of his below:

A-Z Alphabet Adventures Episode 10 "Abuse"
Win Telltale Games Poker Night 2 #Noresteem
What good would you do with $700 million?
Each Peach Pear Plum a book review.

Steemit Week 1: Who Are You
Don't get hooked by a Phishing scam. Actual steps you can take to protect yourself.
Steemit Day One #2: Why lock an Empty House
Welcome to Steemit. Day one: Get ready for the learning curve.

Shai & I.jpg

What to know more about @shai-hulud and I Check out these posts:

Butt naked with 2500 other cruise line passengers! Featured in @qurator & @asapers
Love isn’t always shit free. Featured in @thesteemengine and #themagnificentseven
How I got flipped Inside Out... For REAL! Featured in @thesteemengine
Our Adoption Adventure Written by @shai-hulud, my amazeballs hubby

Did YOU know that your upvote needs time to recharge? If not check out this post below, if you like it please consider upvoting a more recent post as this one has now paid out.

Steem & Voting Power, how not to waste it!

If you like any posts above and they are past seven days please consider upvoting a more recent post as these while very useful have already paid out.

Where else can you find me?

While most of my time is spent on Steemit, I do exist outside of it, happy to connect if you do too!

Health Blog - InsideOut Ostomy Life
Facebook - InsideOut Ostomy Life
Instagram - InsideOut Ostomy
Twitter - InsideOut Ostomy


Asapers.gif

One last thing! I am a founder of the @asapers and we have a profit-sharing curation post called Read me A.S.A.P. We curate from our followers so make sure you follow the @asapers if you want to be in with a chance to be curated next.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Team Australia Banner - @insideoutlet.png

Steemit Bloggers

Upvote follow resteem.png

Team Australia Banner @bearone, @asapers by @shai-hulud, @steemitbloggers by @zord189
All images my own or directly sourced at the image with the exception of my #whatisit contest as that would give it away.

Sort:  

Oh I remember all those little things my kids would make or do for their father... great memories!

Thanks, it was a challenge to think of something he would like, he loved the card which was nice as he isn't a gift person at all.

Cute... and Happy Father's Day... but not for you!

I don't think it is Father's Day here in Netherlands... either that... or... boohoo...

haha, nah I think you guys do it in Spring which is not the same as ours, not that it feels much like spring atm, still cold as for Perth.

Ha ha... So a bit like our summer then!

Ohhh.... This is the awesome memory Storage for future.
Beautiful topic & Good Article...

Thanks @tussar11, it was a great day and some fun gift ideas there too.

Hello this little craft is so cute it is so nice to have the little hand and foot print! I love the card is so lovely:)

Thank you, and thanks for stopping by, I don't believe we have chatted before. He is adorable and we are so lucky to have been matched with him. <3

Awesome crafts! I hope you had fun preparing the gifts. Happy 1st Father's Day @shai-hulud 🎈🎉

I did have fun once I got the son parts done, he is not all that conducive to helping me out at this point in his little life haha...

Awww so sweet....father-son relation is best👍 so sweet memory and best way to celebrate...never thought the date as well....first sunday of september

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep, I think its the first sunday in Spring so it moves depending on your seasons. Not everyone was celebrating it this month.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by insideoutlet from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

That sounds like a wonderful first Father's Day @insideoutlet. Glad you all enjoyed it. 😊

Thanks @gillianpearce, it was a lovely day!

Oh! I am playing with flour dough today too... But it's not as gift... It is our dinner later... And first time making this noodle with all three of my girls... The last time I made it was 6 years ago when my eldest was just 3 and she was the only helping me back then.
Love the card too! And happy Father's day to your husband @shai-hulud!

Posted using Partiko Android

haha I would hate to eat this one, it is 50% flour 50% salt, so would be super salty. Or is that how you make pasta? I haven't made pasta ever.

The card was my fav part, my hubby loved it too which was the most important thing.

I didn't add salt to my dough. I add sesame soy sauce, sesame oil, mixed herbs and black pepper instead.

Posted using Partiko Android

coz I love all the ingredients I mentioned... I would add those to almost everything I cook...

I like all execpt the pepper, i think my mum overdid it as a kid so not a fan haha.

Those are so cute! We use to do all sorts of salt dough projects when my daughter was little. Decades later we still have some Christmas ornaments. That stuff really does last forever especially with a spritz of clear coat.
Hope your little family are having a great Fathers Day and making lots of happy memories.

I need to grab the clear coat stuff and lacquer it up for safe keeping as I would hate to go back and see it rotted, someone mentioned that happened to theirs. I hope to do one each year and see the growth in his little feet haha.

Yes that happened to some of mine also. The ones that were clear coated have held up very well. Made them in the early '90s.
I think that is a really sweet idea by the way.

Thats good to know. Still need to buy it but should add it to the list so I dont forget it.

Thanks for dropping by. speaking of adding to the list so as not to forget....
I almost did. I always loose track of everything on steemit if it is not in my comments lol headed over to the guess what it is post right now
Thanks for the reminder

haha, I am hoping to get a sponsorship from curie soon that will boost the payouts and fun to be had! I will respond to all those answers later today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14