Crown Jewels 9# - A Little Something For The Kids

in #family6 years ago

2018-05-08 13.58.38 copy.jpg

My daughter is three years old. She's a smart little thing, and she likes checking out what I'm doing, always asking questions and trying to understand everything (which is incredibly cute until it gets incredibly annoying, at times).
One of the things she asked me, when I was only starting to create my items, and she was only 2 years old, was "is this for me?"
Now, I don't know how familiar you are with kids, especially really sweet ones, and even more so - when they're your own. It's really hard to tell them "no" (I do it all the time, because someone really has to teach her about life and all, but still, it doesn't make it any easier). So when I can tell her "yes" about something without ruining our method of education, I do. And when she expressed interest in the bracelets I made, I decided to surprise her with her own new shiny bracelet. One thing let to another, and my daughter currently has the fanciest collection of handmade bracelets that any 3yo has ever had, or something. She really likes them, she chooses which ones she wants to wear every day, she matches them to the clothes she's wearing (seriously, I don't know where she got that from), and she's very happy with them in general.

I believe that handmade jewelry is better than anything you can get in the stores that is mass-made, for various reasons. One of them is that it makes you "you". The culture of consumerism makes us wear and buy and think the same things, and I'm having a really hard time with that. As I try to teach my daughter to be herself, no matter what the world says, I think that the handmade items are not only unique, but also teach her that she is unique. And I'm kinda proud of that :-)

So this photo is of the new bracelet I made for her today. It's about 13cm long, which is slightly too big (I was going for 12cm, but whatever, it's going to fit her longer). It has three beaded wires, slightly looped around each other, and all three go through the spiral pendant in the middle. This, incidentally, is also the first pink-purple bracelet I've ever made for my daughter, too (until now we've had blues, greens, whites, but never pinks). I'm sure she was very happy with that, too.

If you liked this post, please upvote and resteem, and maybe follow me on Steemit, too!
To take a look at my photos (mainly Paris related), visit my Instagram account.
For planning your dream vacation in Paris or France, come visit my website.
Or, if you just want to see more pretty things, go to my Etsy shop and see what I have there for you :-)

And in the meantime – don't forget to have a wonderful day.

2018-05-08 13.58.53.jpg

2018-05-08 13.58.29.jpg

Sort:  

Love for your lovely baby from my heart and soul.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71