Love, life, coffee and sunsets

in #family6 years ago (edited)

This beautiful sun set was taken in front of my house last night watching as the sun creeped over the fire station on a beautiful August evening I had a thought; image
it’s amazing how fast time flies by. It felt like just yesterday I was a kid, now I’m rasining my kids. All the joys and innocents we as children take for granted, having our parents around , grandparents , friends and the feeling of being safe now I must achieve those things for my children. I’m fast approaching 30 like a freight train barreling into town. Everyone tells me how great 30 will be but all I can think of is what 30 represents. My oldest son will be starting kindergarten the day after my birthday, it’s a very exciting time but also part of me longs for the early mornings, the sleepy cuddles and sweet soft sound of him cooing. After all he’s my baby, my first! My first son, the first thing I INSTANTLY loved! I heard someone once refer to children as pancakes ‘the first one doesn’t always come out right but you keep trying’ well I can contest that isn’t correct. He truly is such a wonderful child full of love and excitement, he has such a pure heart and extremely friendly and outgoing. He’s very polite and uses his manners (just as mom and dad taught him) so why am I so worried? Why does this step that every child (and adult) must take feel like I’m losing apart of me? Maybe it’s the mother in me wanting to keep him safe, keep his feelings from being hurt (kids can be so cruel) or is it that I can’t processes the fact that I’m leaving one decade behind to start a new one, which I don’t know what that will bring!
image
20s brought me partying, fun , work , love , hope , family and a forever so what will 30 bring? Well I hope it brings, good friends, lots of laughs, limited tears, love, health and the undeniable feeling of my heart burst at the seams as I watch my 3 beautiful boys grow up. This whole change scares the crap out of me, what if I do something wrong? what if my oldest has a rough go in school? What if..what if...what if! But I can’t keep living my life (in my head) with ‘what ifs’ I need to ‘let it be’ it will be what it will be, my husband @cannabisguy420 has been amazingly supportive as my break downs come more frequently as the days close in to September, I know we as parents have done the best job that we can, we prepare our son for the real world but also keeping some of his innocents. If it weren’t for my wonderful husband I would be feeling like I was drowning in emotions but he’s always been the realist.
image
So as August chugs by and we creep into September try and see the beauty in the small things, a child’s laughter, butterflies fluttering , warm cup of coffee, good company and a beautiful sunset shared with the ones you love Afterall we have this one life to live. One thing is garenteed in this very moment in time your here, your breathing and your alive.

Sort:  

Love you darlin

Love you too 😘❤️

So well written @modernmom420! And I really can sympathise. But. Please don't fear 30. It'll come as sure as your sunset. Think of it as a milestone to a wonderful life with the blessing of your supportive husband and sweet growing boys!

Look at it this way. You still have one whole decade before you hit 40! I hurdled that milestone last Sept and it made 30 a walk in the park ;)

I just can't wait for 65... Come on retirement... Than life can really begin lol

Hahaha. That's a leeeettle further away than 30

Thank you very much! I was feeling a bit emotional yesterday (well everyday lol) but it helps writing it out, I’m looking forward to what life has to bring! Change is scary but your right I have great support and this is what life is about right? Thanks for reading!

Society, I feel, also instill irrational dread and fear. They put focus on something that is really as significant as any other year (or day) for that matter. A birthday should be honoured and remembered by our loved ones but, except for your emotional rollercoaster your mind and body aren't going to feel any different to 29 or 31 (or 29 and 364 days ;) Cherise your family. Love every hour and every day.

Congratulations @modernmom420! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @modernmom420! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @modernmom420! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @modernmom420! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88