IT'S NOT A MATTER OF EFFORT

in #family5 years ago

It's amazing how a tiny, effortless change can effect so much!


Disrespect and disregard are becoming so rampant in our society. So many people seem to be incredibly greedy and selfish, and only pretend to care about others in an effort to manipulate and scam them. An attitude once only commonly associated with "lazy teenagers" has now infected even the tiniest of children... and their parents just let it go on.

SERIOUSLY?


Imagine a parent asking, or even telling, their child to do something. Now, imagine that the response of the child is "Yeah, sure." In a lackadaisical manner the child has conveyed the message that while they may intend to follow through with the request, or instruction, their heart isn't really in it, and they ultimately don't really care.

Now imagine that the child had instead responded with, "Yes, Sir!" Trust me, it takes about as much effort to say "Yes, Sir" as it does "Yeah, sure," but they carry an entirely different message and attitude. I know that not everyone would choose to teach their children to address adults in ways like "Sir" or "Ma'am," but my point is that there are ways to teach children to respect others that seem to be rather lacking these days.

In our house, we expect our children to respond with phrases like, "Yes, Sir. I'd be glad to!" and then immediately obey. It definitely gets a few looks when we are out in public, and sadly makes us stand out. I say "sadly" there because it is not that difficult of a thing to do, and yet so many parents raise incredibly disobedient and disrespectful children. For me, I don't really see any wisdom in that, or believe that it'll amount to anything good in the long run.

I plan on doing a few more posts that share various views about the family, but I wanted to keep this one rather simple and short. I believe that the photos above along with the captions help illustrate my point. I couldn't find a disrespectful looking photo of one of my children right now, so a happy "Pinkie-Pepper" with a lizard on her head will have to do for the "Yeah, sure" image. Still, I hope that you get my point.

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5

Sort:  

Loved it! Yes @papa-pepper you should write more like these. You sound just like my grandfather and that’s epic to have his memory flood back to me while reading your piece!

I was taught sir and ma’am, it bothers me deeply to hear this kids use such language knowing how my friends turned out vs myself. I am not perfect but many of my lacklustre friends have not turned out very well not fitting in society even though they were following the example portrayed of society through media. That little bit of respect I have for my peers makes all the difference from holding down a job to getting the necessary help when I needed it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

well, @papa-pepper that's a really nice post!
and I mean it!
kudos for teaching your kids manners ..
there's not much parental guidance going on in this world these days
and who knows what sort of a bad example kids are getting on whatever their expose to nowadays, am glad to see you btw!

Thanks so much! It's a sad state of affairs that most families are in these days. I hope encouragement like this will help.

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and possibly a resteem too.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Exactly, some parents are thoroughly lagging behind. I could remember when I was spanked by my mom when I responded in
such some and it had really helped me alot while growing up, apart from that I dared not trying it again to avoid been spanked.

I remember how my peers would laugh at me and even frown upon me for calling others sir. I find it rather uncool not to project respect. So interesting reading this post..

The results in your teachings can be seen in the pictures of your children. A picture says a thousand words they say. I see in your children happy, engaged, eager to help and assist. Although I don't get to see how you discipline them. I see strong independent and happy youngsters.

Yeah, it's amazing how independent they can be even as the family grows. Interesting.

It is sad when showing respect towards parents and even other people is looked upon as strange!

I've had a girl at the checkout just stop scanning our items and stare before, all because of the obedience of our children.

She was probably thinking...WHO ARE THESE PEOPLE?!?!?!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13