Which is cheaper,eating out or preparing food at home?

in #family5 years ago (edited)

39F9BEB5-29E8-480E-BB75-E323A4939ED6.jpeg
View the original post on Musing.io

This is a great question that many families struggle with often. I am vegan and sometimes it is cheaper for me to eat out. Preparing certain dishes that require a variety of organic ingredients are sometimes costly.

However, if I eat a simple dish like lentils or vegan chili, it is much cheaper to prepare at home and it will go a lot farther than just one serving that I would purchase at a restaurant.

One of the challenges of eating out is being unable to control the amount of salt and sugar and unhealthy ingredients that are often put in food to make it tasty. Also I worry about germs and E. coli.

So when I get bored with the food that I prepare, I go to an eating establishment that has a reputation for being clean and prepares fresh tasty food. Before I retired and was working nonstop, I would eat out quite a bit because my time was more valuable than the cost of the meal.

B8530903-E96B-428F-837D-2DD4A8C8C05D.png

Sort:  

You are so right about organic food costing more. Fast food is cheap but unhealthy. I am at the point where I would rather eat organic and healthy food at home than eat out at an restaurant. It is all about controlling what goes into your body.

Awesome post. The only way to do great work is to love what you do. You have achieved that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77