My Daughter Caught Her First Fish!

in #family5 years ago

My Little Homestead Helper is 3 years old, and she is pretty fearless. On one hand, she is a pageant girl who loves her dresses and her shoes and being on stage. On the other hand, she loves finding bugs in the yard with daddy and playing with frogs.

A few days ago, we picked up a bunch of crickets and headed down to the pond for her first fishing trip. It is loaded with bream, so I was pretty confident that we would catch a few, and I was right. Our daughter caught her first fish, and I was able to capture the moment on video! I helped her with her first cast and to set the hook, but she did all of the reeling herself. It was a proud daddy moment!

Then, once the fish was on the bank, she was very adamant about being the one to get it off the hook. But, as you know, one does not simply grab onto a bream. Those dorsal fins will getchya! So, I tried to take the opportunity to teach her how to gently push them down while holding the fish. I was happy to see her willingness to try and hold the fish, and I didn't want her getting finned, because I didn't want to be afraid in the future. So, I let her hold it by the lip and drop it into the "keeper" bucket.

Unfortunately, nap time was looming, and Our Little Homestead Helper was ready to head back to the house. So, she released her first ever fish back into the pond, and this turned out to be my favorite part of the whole experience.

As she dropped the fish into the water, she began saying her goodbye. But, she dropped it into the the shallows, and it got stuck in the mud. The look of confusion followed by panic was priceless! You should make sure to catch that part in the video. It is seriously the cutest thing!

Watch Our Little Homestead Helper Catch Her First Fish


Thanks for watching! This is definitely a memory that will be etched into my memory forever, and I hope that you've enjoyed sharing it. If so, be sure to follow us here on Steemit, as well as all of our other social media outlets:


YouTube
Facebook:
Twitter
Instagram

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37