Breaking negatives

in #family5 years ago

I was going to write something on something, but then that something was something that wasn't something I really wanted to write something about at the moment. Instead, I decided to have a look at something that always makes me smile, old pictures of my daughter. Well, "old" is relative really with these being about 1.5 years ago. These have a very heavy crop on them as I wanted to see what they would look like in a different form.

I generally don't avoid thinking or writing about what is on my mind but I think that there is enough negativity in many of the posts at the moment that I can take a midnight break and reminisce a little. I remember taking these photos quite clearly which is funny considering I was getting about 2 hours sleep a night with a few random naps for the last 6 months or so. It started to get a little easier past this point during the nights at least though.

Both my wife and I feel that we missed so much of her baby life experience through being so exhausted from constant tasks to take care of her but, she is a happy little girl now and that is all that really matters. Hopefully I will get to see her grow into whatever she will one day become as I am looking forward to discovering who she might be.

Tonight we had a meeting with her daycare teachers and it was decided that she will move to another class as the one she is in is somewhat unsuitable as she is the only one who can speak in there. There teachers were already thinking about asking us but when they found out she can also read letters and count across both languages easily, the decision was pretty much certain. We asked her about it afterward and she seems happy with the idea as she already has friends she talks with in the older group.

Parents generally brag about their children but then underestimate their capabilities, something I find interesting. Yes, children should be children but at the same time, giving them increasing amounts of responsibility and decision making power prepares them for the real world and, an increased amount of independence as well as, the understanding of consequence.

What I wasn't expecting so soon was how well she would be able to communicate her thoughts at this stage and I am really looking forward to future conversations with both wonder and dread. She is going to talk and think me under the table I am pretty sure and, she is unlikely to even break a sweat in the process.

I have always wondered what the differences between different Steem demographics might be but I am pretty sure that when it comes to people with children, they are much more likely to be playing the long game. Perhaps being a parent responsible for someone's future experience through current action makes thinking about investing ahead more likely and therefore, the uncertainty of the present moment less difficult to bear. It could also be that having that little tiny person to look after means one is willing to think about personal sacrifice in different ways, as well as what classifies as hardship.

Who knows, I am just glad that I got lucky and despite all of the health issues, she is awesome.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

There is definitely that dread to come along with the wonder. I absolutely love when they surprise you by commenting on something with deep insight that despite you knowing they are more than capable of you still sometimes don't expect it.

Here's to the long game!

you knowing they are more than capable of you still sometimes don't expect it.

Ours is very attentive to detail and when you think you are hiding something, she exposes it :)

She is an Angle. You and your wife have been blessed. The responsibilities of raising a child are enormous, and there will never be a greater demand on you as a man. Fatherhood done right pays huge dividends as the years go by.

Fatherhood done right pays huge dividends as the years go by.

You mean a good job and lifetime support? :D
There is so much value in having responsibility and following through.

How old is she now?

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

2y4m

Great way to focus on the positives in life and not something that would do something to go against your path. Our kids provide is the courage and motivation to go beyond our means to forge forward no matter the situation; like the normal parent that is said to be able to lift a car in an attempt to save their kid from harm...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Less about path but there is so much FUD that I figured it is nice to do a little lighter from time to time too.

I have always wondered, if the strength is there in the lift the car moments, it is there to draw upon anytime.

This post was upvoted by SteeveBot!

SteeveBot regularly upvotes stories that are appreciated by the community around Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.235 which ranks you at #231 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 216 contributions, your post is ranked at #11.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06