When the sun's out, we do stuff!! Fun at the farm..

in #family5 years ago

IMG_20190901_102953.jpg

It's starting to look like this "when the sun's out" thing is becoming a bit of a habit, almost like a series of blogs.... To catch up on any of our previous adventures click the links below:

Local history
Welsh castle
Safari adventure

So today's @welshstacker family adventure took us to West Wales' finest, farm based, fun park - Folly Farm

Folly-Farm-2015-logo.jpg
Folly farm WEBSITE

They call it "folly farm", and as a youngster, I can remember going to the petting zoo and seeing all the farm animals, whenever we used to caravan down west. But over the years, it's evolved in to one if Wales' best attractions and as its now rebranded itself - adventure park and zoo, so "folly farm" just doesn't seem to fit anymore.

IMG_20190901_105259.jpg

We start the day in the old barn and petting zoo. We've got sheep, goats, pigs, pony's, donkeys, chickens...... The list goes on

1/2pint running from pen to pen, excited at all the animals. The signs clearly say DO NOT TOUCH THE ANIMALS but you all know, no child, big and small, can resit randomly stroking the animals.

IMG_20190901_103700.jpg

We spend what feels like hours just moving from pen to pen, I think we probably could have spent the day just in the barn. They also had small climbing frames and rides in the form of farm machinery, so that took us a while to get through too.

IMG_20190901_104403.jpg

After bribing 1/2pint to come down with the promise of chocolate, we make our way over to the land train, to see the larger animals they have. The land train is pretty cool, it's a giant tractor that pulls trailers with seats attached. 1/2 is currently tractor mad, so he couldn't wait to get on board.

Look everyone - a wooden post...

IMG_20190901_113835.jpg

OK, that was meant to be Red Deer, but I have really bad timing.

The land train is a great idea for mums and dad's that just need a 10minute break from chasing after their offspring. We got to sit down, knowing 1/2pint for firmly strapped in, with no where to go!!

IMG_20190901_120958.jpg

Now this is the point where the farm become a zoo, or was it always a zoo, with farm animals?? I dont know!! Anyway the penguins are always fun to watch. I think these were 1/2pints favourite things all day. He loved the way the walked, he loved the way they fought, he loved the way they swam and he loved the way they were just being penguins.

IMG_20190901_142103.jpg

The sun came out and so did the #goldmoney hat. I don't know if it was the sight of me or my hat but it somehow stirred the lions in to action.

IMG_20190901_123625.jpg

And by action I mean, action 😉

IMG_20190908_100328.jpg

Dirty lions......

IMG_20190901_162038.jpg

At least the giraffes were a bit better behaved. Every time we've brought 1/2pint here, the giraffes have always been at the far end if thier field or locked away, but today we timed it perfect. It was feeding time and we got to spend some time up close.

IMG_20190901_125338.jpg

No #piratesunday would be complete with out "black Barts pirate cove"

The most famous of Welsh pirates, Bartholomew Robert, AKA "Black Bart" was born a stones throw from the site of Folly Farm, so he plays a big part of the theme running through the adventure park.

IMG_20190901_125343.jpg

They even have a stage show that they put on once a day. Did I mention 1/2pint loves pirates too?? So we couldn't miss the show.

IMG_20190901_150552.jpg

A little bit of History, a little bit of humour and a little bit of much needed sit down time!!

It was getting late on in the day and we decided to spend the remaining few hour in the indoor soft play area and arcade.

IMG_20190901_155404.jpg

IMG_20190901_155353.jpg

It was at this point Mrs @welshstacker had lost the will to live!! It had already been a very long day and being "in the family way", she was either hungry or constantly busting for a pee.

Luckily the park was closing in 30minutes, so it was time for us to make our way to the exit, and that's when we came across the funniest part of the day......

IMG_20190901_154028.jpg

I don't know if it was either us being tired or 1/2pint running on fumes, and having his final "second wind", but the hall of mirrors sent all 3 of us in to hysterics.

IMG_20190901_154115.jpg

Well that was definitely a very long, but incredibly enjoyable day. I definitely recommend visiting Folly Farm if you ever find yourself down this way. The park was open from 10am till 5:30pm, we were there from opening till closing time, and we could have spend several more hours there exploring and playing.

I hope you enjoyed our day out as much as we did. Wonder where we're off next time?? Keep an eye out for the next chapter of "when the sun's out we do stuff".

comments.gif
download.png

Sort:  

Only just started warming up again here, so everyone's keen to get out and about.

We've been lucky this year. We've had a few good days, it reached low 20's*c!! Appreciate you stopping by. - Mathew

I need a little breathalyser to keep me away from the pewter when I've had a few.

Cool stuff

Posted using Partiko Android

My pleasure, love watching horses and children.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you welshstacker! You've just received an upvote of 66% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Looks like a lovely day out for the family! I've never been to one myself. But we had similar but not actually Folly Farm.

Atleast no fingers for nibbeled!

Posted using Partiko Android

It was just what we needed and we all had a great time. He already wants to go back...

Aww I bet he does! Pet lamb is now needed! 🐑

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds like a great place to take the kids! Thanks for sharing all that. Is it near Tenby? I see Tenby on the little train. If so, it wasn’t there when I used to visit Pembrokeshire in the summers when I was a kid in the 1950s. Lol! Tenby just meant beach, but we loved it! I need to go back. It has been 25 years now since I visited my remaining cousins there.

It's about a 5/10min drive from Tenby. It didn't open till the late 80s.

Tenby still means beach 😉

Well, that explains why I didn’t know about it. When We were in Milford Haven visiting family in 1995 we did visit Tenby of course, but with no children in tow, we were not looking out for things for them to do! I still would have enjoyed it though. By the way, my mother was from Milford Haven.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37