Family Protection, Family Division

in #familyprotection6 years ago (edited)

I am writing this post to show support for the #familyprotection project started by @canadian-coconut and @markwhittam of @familyprotection

At first I didn't totally get it. When I read stories like Anna's stories it fills my heart with pain, what good can come from sharing stories of pain? But I'm coming to realize speaking up is a good thing. We need to speak up if we are going to change the systems in place. This is a new way of thinking for me. I'm a quiet person, I think a lot. I avoid painful things because my heart is weak.

But here I am. Speaking up.

I've never told this story before telling it in the comments of one of @canadian-coconut's posts the other day. I am realizing my situation could have been so much worse, that I am lucky I got away with my child and got my family back together. I'm also feeling anger now, there was no need for my family to be separated. We needed some help, some support, yes, but we needed it together.

Eight years ago my first son was born. My husband and I moved back to our hometown to have family support, isn't that what you do when you have a new baby? My husband strongly dislikes where we grew up and really only agreed because I thought it was best. He got a job at a call center and we moved into a little one bedroom apartment. I thought we were doing okay. We were excited to welcome our first child.

Two months after moving there, a month after our son was born, my husband had a mental health episode. Becoming a parent, being in that town, working a job he hated, he couldn't take it any more.

The police were called and took him in to custody to protect him from himself.

The police contacted child services and we were told I wasn't allowed to bring our child home. My husband was a danger now.

I had to stay at my moms house or his parents house and my husband could visit us there under supervision. He wasn't allowed to be with his son alone, to bond with his newborn in this time of need.

We played by the rules, went to the meetings with the case worker, stayed under supervision because we didn't want to lose our baby to cps. His mental health didn't improve, how could it with the system telling him he was unfit to just BE with his child and his wife?

The strain was too much on our little family and we separated. I moved all the way across the country to escape what we had been going through. I told CPS that we weren't together anymore and that I moved away and they dropped the case. I guess they don't work well interprovincially.

We got back together months later and are together to this day, but I'm still sad my husband was treated like a dangerous person when really he just needed support and love. I know my son doesn't remember this time in his life, thank god, but my heart still aches for him too.

MISTAKE #2 -- ALLOWING DIVISION
If they can separate you, they will.
If they can get family members alone ...
if they can sow suspicion, fear, uncertaintly
... that's their goal.

https://steemit.com/familyprotection/@canadian-coconut/the-ministry-of-children-and-family-destruction-familyprotection-series-anna-s-family-story-part-iii

Thank you listening to my story.

amy.jpg
banner by @soulturtle

Sort:  

This post has been Resteemed and Upvoted by @familyprotection

Governments around the world,
are using "Child Protection Agencies"
to take children away from loving families
and place them in foster care or group homes
or put up for adoption.
THESE FAMILIES NEED PROTECTING.

Thank-you @amymya for supporting @familyprotection.

Sadly these stories continue today but as awareness rises so does the chance that this madness can be stopped. Your story is a part of the solution and may very well be "the one" for someone else facing the loss of their children and a broken family. Thank you for sharing your story @amymya Many blessings to you and yours!

I do hope it can be stopped! Even just for one family. Thank you for the blessings.

The powers that be effectively use the divide and conquer strategy. They WANT to separate papa bear from the rest of the family. Any separation works to their benefit. You were smart to move to another state. That was good strategy. I am proud of you for doing that and sharing your story. Many of us are introverts, just plain shy or appreciate our privacy. I get the idea that wallowing in the past is not helpful in moving forward. But it helps in many ways. I makes it easier and safe for others to open up. It is also healing and therapeutic for you. Agan thanks.

I hope my story can reach others and help them as well. Thank you for your comments, I appreciate your support.

Wow that is scary! I hope your husband is doing much better. Life can be overwhelming at times. This sort of thing can happen to anyone and that is insane they would break your family apart.

Yeah, it was unbelievable at the time, still kind of like a bad dream. People suffering with intense depression and despair don't need to be locked up and have separated from their loved ones. Very far from a solution to the problem!

And there is no shame in that. Ive had my own issues believe me and have witnessed friends and family struggle to. Tell your husband that hes not alone and DO NOT beat yourself up with shame

Thank you for caring and for your thoughtful words.

Thank-you @amymya for writing this out.
All these stories combined will help make a difference as more and more people become aware of this huge problem.

I truly hope my story helps someone. Thank you for bringing awareness to this.

@canadian-coconut is there a way I could speak with you directly? It pertains to more stories regarding #familyprotectin from someone close to me who worked with children in the North for many years.

I am on Discord and on Steemit Chat. You can message me there.

Thank you for getting back to me :) I messaged you on steemit.chat.

This post has been upvoted and resteemed by @thethreehugs

Thank you @thethreehugs. I like your name :)

Thanks my friend. It stands for Mind, Body and Spirit

I am so sorry your family experienced such violence. Thank-you for sharing your story. Wishing you lots of love and blessings ❤

Thank you for the love. We are doing well now :)

very nice post.
thanks for shareing

Thank you

Nice post. I enjoyed the way to tell the story. I only wish I could read more.

Thank you

Congratulations @amymya, this post is the sixth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 3828 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $4627.25. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28