My History with @familyprotection and why I am involved.

in #familyprotection6 years ago (edited)

Almost 6 months ago, Mark Whittam approached me about joining him in a Steemit initiative to offer support & awareness of the injustices done to families and children by "Child Protection Services" (CPS).

I accepted, and we came up with the account name @familyprotection

"Child Protection" Agencies are Taking Children Away from their Loving Families.
THESE FAMILIES NEED PROTECTING!



I discovered Mark's interesting blog about 10 months ago, and then a month after I started following him he put up a post about how how CPS in Sweden had threatened to take his child away! He followed that up with yet another update of how they had to flee the country.
...

The Government Want's our Child, Which is Why We Are Going On The Run (by Mark Whittam)
Our Child Is Being Put On The Child Protection Services List Because We Refuse To Send Her To School....What is Freedom...Are We Free? (by Mark Whittam)

...

I upvoted them with full strength and resteemed his posts to my many followers.
As those who have followed me on Steemit for the last 1.5 years will know, I have been a vocal supporter of homeschooling/unschooling. So to discover that Mark Whittam's family could be destroyed simply for doing what I am freely allowed to do where I live in Canada, was horrifying to discover.


Here are some of the posts that I have done explaining how my family unschools, and my views on it.
...

How Schools FAIL So Many Children -- The "Animal School" Analogy
DRUGS for KIDS -- If Your Child Has a Condition Know as "BEING A CHILD" the Answer is DRUGS (Parody)
Children who Question Authority at School are DRUGGED (ie Ritalin) or otherwise squelched.
Right-Brained Children Discriminated against by a Left-Brained School System
A Person's A Person, No Matter How Small! -- Children Should be Seen AND Heard
LIVING IS LEARNING: Amazing Unschooled Babies Learn to Walk & Talk .... and more!

...

After reading Mark's blogs about the CPS threat to his family, I shared a bit with him about experiences that I had knowing and helping friends who were attacked by CPS as well. Many other people shared their experiences with Mark in the comments. He had not known the huge extent of the problem in so many countries of the world, until members of the Steemit community poured out their heartbreaking tales.

Below are stories that I have already shared about my good friend, Anna, and how her children were taken and the family shattered to pieces. These events happened right in my home town, so the names have been changed to protect both of our families.

When Kidnapped Children Get Adopted -- Tammy's Story
The Nightmare Before Christmas -- Anna's Story Part I
Healing Families Destroyed by CPS -- Anna's Story Part II
The Ministry of Children & Family DESTRUCTION -- Anna's Story Part III
Police Brutality Breaks a Mother's Body & Shatters her Trust -- Anna's Story Part IV
Fighting Government Child Kidnappers in Court -- Anna's Story Part V
The System is Stacked Against Parents -- Anna's Family Story Part VI

...

So, this is how @familyprotection started -- organically and at a grassroots level, by bloggers uniting. Steemit members began to support each other through each others Steemit blogs, and it seemed like a natural progression to Mark to make it slightly more formal by starting a separate account that a community could form around.

Mark requested my support and help. He knew that I had a long and well-respected history on Steemit, and he felt that I had helped him the most in getting his story out to the world.

I nearly said no. I feared the possible repercusions of being too vocal about this topic.

I KNOW how spiteful CPS can be against those who shine a light into their darkness.

But I felt the tugging at my heart that I could not deny or refuse. I HAD to do this!

I knew that there was a reason that I found Steemit so early on, became a successful blogger, and then was blessed with a surprise whale-size delegation. There was a MUCH greater purpose to all of these events than just my personal gain.

@familyprotection has fallen into place so naturally and with so much more success than I imagined it would. I now have a VERY important new mission in life; to spread awareness of Government-Funded Child Trafficking and to help protect families from becoming victims of it.

A HUGE thank-you to all of you who have joined Mark and myself on this journey so far.
The best is yet to come!

Follow @familyprotection on Steemit.
Governments around the world,
are using "Child Protection Agencies"
to take children away from loving families
and place them in foster care or group homes
or place them for adoption.
THESE FAMILIES NEED PROTECTING.

Share your own story and use the tag #familyprotection

TOGETHER LET'S STOP LEGAL KIDNAPPING

Sort:  
Thank-you @canadian-coconut for submitting this post with the #familyprotection tag. It has been UPVOTED by @familyprotection and RESTEEMED TO OUR Community Supporters.

"Child Protection Agencies" are taking children away from their loving families.
THESE FAMILIES NEED PROTECTING.

(If you feel that our community has brought more rewards and attention to this post, please consider contributing a portion of those rewards back to our cause.)

@familyprotection is incredible how people from far places share the same difficult social-economicals into the real world and not a real justice (anarchy). The family count as first link in our society. Why the specials agencies as CPS do not face the problematic of today with children and their families that provide love, homeschooling and protection to their children, deserving the most of their attention and coraje.
Thanks to people as @ canadian-coco helping others and @ markwhittan for share with us. Until now I did not know the very big tragedy many parents and child.
I wish the best for @familyprotection as group of steemians.

@steemtales thanks for your time to share. Anarchy!!!
Go ahead @familyprotection.

Resteemed

yeah in Portugal homeschooling isn't also well accepted

This is true... Portuguese here, no homeschooling.

An old friend of mine, Bill, would say "If you see the need, heed the call." We are often called by our higher power to do something. We accept in faith and trust His voice. With all the darkness in this world we must not only be a light in troubled times, but overcome the darkness. Through God using us to shine in a darkened world, we overcome evil. You were called at this time to shine the light of truth in an effort to rid the world of the Evils of the CPS. We the blogger are devoted tools for this process, but you were called in this worthy leadership role. God has blessed you and is blessing many through your conviction to stand up against the CPS and stand for Truth. Thanks for your selfless devotion to this cause. @canadian-coconut

thank-you so much for your encouragement.

I enjoyed read your post a few days ago. You are one of the benefactors who cares about beginners steemit. I just want to ask you. Can we join @familyprotection about CPA from Aceh?

The movement benefitted a lot from having you coconut... I've seen some of my own community members supporting this initiative and it makes me very proud.

It's always good to try to change things for the better.

You are so right on! Your light is shining brighter than ever too my dear friend.

Thank you @canadian-coconut!

I'm so grateful that you said yes! Without you, @familyprotection would not exist and it if it did, no one would know about it that's for sure!

You have a heart of gold and it's evident how much you care about people.

I feel we are a great team, we work well together and we seem to have the same goals and aspirations when it comes to @familyprotection!

We have also been very lucky to get the support from so many dedicated steemians who are doing everything they can to help this cause.

@familyprotection forever!

Thank-you so much Mark! It is a pleasure working with you and we do make a great team. There are so many other WONDERFUL people involved as well.

Thanks you Mark for bringing this project onto the blockchain.

This decentralized system is perfect for everyone to have a voice and to raise these controversial subjects, and you saw it.

Kudos!

I simply don't understand the refugee crisis. The history of humanity can be told through a story of migration and settlement. If I can't protect my family, I'm coming to where you are; I'm just coming. It's a round world, and we've all got to get on with it and move on.
Anyways back to you guys. I think you people are doing a wonderful job, you have golden hearts to work for not selfish things but for the betterment of the people.

I agree with you

Hmmm...so you are saying that if all Pakistanis decide they would be better off in India, then India is not allowed to say 'no', they must all be accepted, even if it destroys India and all the Indians worked so hard to create is lost, so that you are as badly off as them and so you all now migrate to ...where? Do you think you might all be welcomed in, maybe, Saudi Arabia? And then, from there?

You know your screen name should have been canadian-courage right? You definitely have a lion's share of it to tempt 'the eye of Sauron' to turn your way!
(I may have bragged about you to a few unschooler friends of mine, our own steemit family superhero :) You give me hope for this world Linda, truly.

thank-you so much!

There are plenty of good people in the world, and the Steem blockchain gives plenty of them to make the difference.

It's humbling to see all the good initiatives currently on the blockchain, and definitely an encouraging thing to balance the chain of negativity published by the centralized media.

Well @canadian-coconut this is phenomenal. I didn't know about @familyprotection so will definitely be going there and following. It is a universal problem, as much in South Africa as anywhere else. Here, our children have to be in formal school from age 6 or 7 until age 15. If they choose to homeschool, parents have to obtain permission from the provincial authority and provide a weekly timetable and a learning programme. A move towards unschooling is beginning, and I'm not sure how the government intends to handle this. I've just recently joined a facebook group of unschoolers. For 14 years I've worked at a preschool and junior phase learning centre (from toddlers up to age 9), and my son was government-schooled from age 6 to age 18. We were always dissatisfied with the system, and although I have a small voice in my job, I despise the system.
As for CPS in this country, I told a bit of my husband's story to @charisma777. He was removed from his mother and siblings at 3 months as mother was considered too young and incapable of looking after him ... this was probably true, but the years that followed were a nightmare of being returned to the family, then removed again, being placed in children's homes, then boys' home, sometimes with his siblings, other times separated due to age differences, and losing track of his family for many years.
I apologise for rambling on, but I feel strongly about parents' and children's rights! Thanks for this post, and for the @familyprotection account. Whatever I can do with my small voice I shall do.

You should write a post about your husband's story of growing up in foster care, and tag it #familyprotection so that we will be sure to see it.

I will do, and thanks @canadian-coconut. I originally mentioned his story in response to @stophomelessness, and this @familyprotection account is so appreciated.

Put your story in a post!

I will do so, thanks for reading my comment. And thanks for being an ambassador for family protection.

I agree with @canadian-coconut.

These initiatives benefit from the collective experience of everyone who feels they've been wronged by the system. Spreading the word is a good thing, and you should feel proud to post about it.

Can't wait to read it.

Cheers

Thanks for the encouragement @spiritualmax. Brian is okay with me writing his story, he has just given me the file which the Children's Home sent to him so I have the facts ... am working on the story right now.

Good to know about you ..you are doing a great job. You raised your voice against big issue for the modern society..i still can't believe that these things are still happened in modern society because this is not happening in my country. This is not democracy if government involved in these kind of cruel acts. This is really painful for parents and children too. This is matter of human rights so we should aware united nations about it.

There are countries were this is a huge issue, the United States and Canada isn't one of them. There will always be remote cases where case workers for whatever reason don't follow the rules but for the most part child protection agencies aren't out kidnapping kids. As a matter of fact right now the system is extremely overburden by the opioid crisis here with so many parents dying that agencies don't have enough resources to handle the overflow let alone be out kidnapping more.

Some areas of the world are definitely worse than others. For instances, @canadian-coconut's reality is bad, as she described on some posts, but there are even areas where this is more blatant as child protection services actually get a commission out of each child they apprehend in order for interested parties to "adopt".

Human Trafficking tier of bad...

There's still a long way to go in western society, but fortunately these cases aren't so common and severe as in some other countries where law is lawless and buying someone is $2.50

I have read alot of your stories, and eerie they are scary when it comes to the currupt world of Child Protection, MCFD in BC. We parents who dont have our children need to be strong, united, and to not give up, voices will one day be heard, that is my hope. if I ever get my daughter home, I will still fight fro others who need a voice, support, and to know so many of us are out here for them.....I will notquit fro my daughter, and I will not stop until the system here can be looked at, this is a world problem, these are our children, NOT money making things! They deserve a voice, and we deserve the CPS to be reviewed and questioned about certain cases of wrong doing! #STOLEN BY MCFD
@mcfd-legal-kidnapped

The fact that you have the courage to overcome your fears and do this anyway is what makes you an inspiration.

Next time if I hesitate to say anything, hopefully I will take the chance and do what I think is right because you are showing us all how it's done.

Thanks for being you

Always take a chance! Most of us are invested in STEEM because we were willing to risk it.

I could have sold at $8

But she really hasn't overcome her fears, if she did she'd give out her real name so those capable of doing the research to look at both sides of the story to make a accurate determination of her claims.

Linda has overcome her fears and now she is helping the rest of us overcome some of ours!

What a wonderful post Linda, that truly was inspiring. Fate has certainly put you both on a path and I wish you all the success in the world. I will support you guys 100% as I know you are both in it for all the right reasons. Big love and respect to yourself, Mark, Alex and every one else who helps out @familyprotection.
fam.png

Not only those who organized, promote, administrate and help @familyprotection, but the countless individuals that have the courage to share their own stories or to investigate the sad tales of others in order to disclose them to the public.

I’m so glad you and mark made this connection. It should influence the world someday and I’m sure has been a godsend to you both to have had this community so long.
I may be a fresh face but this makes sense, the hardship, the commitments, the growth, the loss. So much to know and I hope to be a part of this community as family. So as a Canadian we still have the legal right to home school our children? Thanks @canadian-coconut with a newborn and 14mo I have a lot or learning to do. Alot of research and time needs to be spent solely on bettering my ability to fully promote their development. I already try so hard to fill their days with words and activity so I think I would be excellent at homeschooling them. I’m in the middle of some things this evening but i resteemed this and will be going through the blogs you posted to get to know unschooling better because I to am not okay with the current academic standards of our backwords monolingual school system. Pretty much every European country has multilinguals being a normal thing, I’m hard pressed to find many people who can actually speak french here in Canada let alone Japanese, Spanish, German, czech.
I know a friend who can speak all of those who grew up in the czech republic. So yeah this is Vital to me as my children are the most magnificent parts of my simple life here on Earth and I am ecstatic to watch them flourish and grow! Much love.

Yes, BC has probably the best homeschool laws and options in all of Canada.
I'm glad that you are going to look into it for your precious little ones.

It’s only right, i had great parenting but they left too much educating to the school system, I cant responsibly put my kids theough that knowing that I did not learn enough from school alone. It takes raising our kids ourselves to give them what they need most.

People who are invested in their kids and their future should use homeschooling as often as they like... on the other hand, there are also the sad cases in which homeschooling is adopted by parents who just don't care and want to take the path of least resistance, which gives a good movement some bad rep.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73