Ulog: HOW CAN I TALK TO MY PARENTS?

in #familyprotection6 years ago (edited)

iStock_13420065_MEDIUM.jpg

"I tried really hard to tell my parents how I felt, but it didn't come out right - and they cut me off" - @geyzee

When I was younger my parents were probably the first ones I ran to for advice. I told them my stories (good or bad), my news (big or small). I freely expressed my thoughts and feelings with my parents, shared my decisions, and heeded to their pieces of advice.

Later on, though in my early days as an adolescent, I felt much rejected. Relating with my parents wasn't cool anymore, I felt so broken, unimportant, it turned difficult. I felt it was right to keep my thoughts and plans to myself or better still, discuss it with my peers.
How I felt could be much more described by this picture :
images (29).jpg

In the long run, I noticed communicating with my parents is just like driving a car. When you encounter a roadblock you don't just give up, you simply find another route in order to drive smoothly to your destination.

#KEEP_TALKING: Sometimes I needed to talk to my parents but they didn't seem to be listening, other times they'd be too busy:images (28).jpg

Here's how I sailed through, I KEPT TALKING, never considering that as a 'roadblock'. I'd rather try to discuss the subject later another time or get to write my parents a letter, stating what was bothering me clearly.

"I talk straight from my heart and speak sincerely. " - Job 33:3

THE BOTTOM LINE: When talking to your parents, choose your words carefully and speak in a respectful tone. Think of your parents as earthly angels ordained by God to guide and direct you, even in the face of difficult challenges.
images (31).jpg
It's your noble boy @geyzee

Sort:  

There are different types of parents ,like some time father and mothers both are working persons and have less time for kids ,some time they have number of kids and busy in a lot of chores...
may be some time we are different in our ideas, thoughts and plans..
but its not mean our parents are against us and not understanding us
They see world with their eyes and experience ...it matters a lot..
I have kids and in 30 years of my life i am surprised with life ..no one teach you better than life itself.Some time i wonder by remembering my points on some matters , now i feels i am some change a positive change..
Think the place and responsibilities of your parents ...I think no need to argue with them because it causes gaps...most of this gap will be in your mind ,your parents still love you and well wishers of you
show gratitude for them

may be they are busy or suffering some ups and downs ,stressed so losing interest

welll said

Yeah brother well said, but no. Matter the kinda job or responsibility a parent does he shouldn't forget to make out time for his children. They're God's gift to them

Most of the time responsibilities are related to their kids like financial ,and in our country some time it comes from family :-) in laws family
I am a mother :-)

Nice one friend

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @wafrica. Follow @wafrica to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

I'm following now 😁✌️

When talking to our as you have written we should choose our world carefully but something it the how we feel that necessitate our conversations with them and sometime our parent cannot understand the feeling

My parents are two different people, my dad is unapproachable no matter how nice your choice of words are, and my mum on the contrary listens to whatever i have to say even if it is rubbish. I will say it depends on parent's understanding not about how you approached them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70