Updated: Introducing A New Way To Make Donation From Your Post Automatically

in #familyprotection6 years ago (edited)

Screenshot 22.png

So a week ago, I made a post on how we can make donations to the @familyprotection initiative automatically. As I noted, the method can be used by those who find looking through past post and making calculated donations an hassle. Also, it is a way of being able to keep a pledge without going through a range of second thoughts since the whole process is hard-coded into the beneficiary functionality of the blockchain. I was left with more questions than answers when figuring out how the splitting would be done and today I am glad to say I have all the answers.!

I contacted some knowledgeable people on the Steempeak discord, got wonderful responses, but I still had questions that were unanswered, since I was told things would be a little different in the formula of sbd/steem splitting due to the new HF20. What better way to know exactly the outcome?, I decided to wait for the post to pay out before making this update post. Below are some images.

Screenshot 17.png
2 hrs Before Payout


Screenshot 18.png
After Payout

I made a screenshot before and after payout. As you can observe, I was left with 19.24 STU after payout occurred. Instead of 22.7 STU.

Little Calculations

Curation was first deducted: 22.7 - (22.7*25%)
=22.7(total Payout) - 5.65(Curators Reward)
=17.09 STU.

Beneficiary STU (In this case 20%)=(17.09 * 20%)=3.419 STU(Beneficiary).
Author Payout= 17.09 - 3.419 (Beneficiary)=13.67 STU.

Take-Away From Calculations

Exactly as I was told by @flugschwein on discord, the beneficiary percentage is deducted from the Authors 75% pay out. So, in my own scene, 20% of 75% was charged. The rest remain part is then paid off to you in steempower or sbd.

Will @familyprotection Receive Just SteemPower Or SBD Or Both?

This was the major question I ledt unanswered in my post 7 days ago, but I am glad I can answer it now after viewing the steem blockchain info about the beneficiary payout that was made to @familyprotection. Below is a valuable screenshot:
Screenshot 19.png

At first sight, it appears like 1.7 SBD was paid out, this is exactly half of the beneficiary reward(since the blockchain now pegs sbd to US dollar). That wasn't all, the image shows "VESTING PAYOUT", this is steem power. In this scenario, it was 4230.6 Vests which is the equivalent of 2.1 STEEM Power at the time of payout.
Screenshot 20.png

This means Beneficiary reward is split 50/50 since that was the selected payout ratio of my post in the first place, just as @asgarth said "@kryptocoin after HF20 things have changed a bit. The reward should be paid as a mix of Steem, SBD and SP.

Conclusion

So, I think all questions have now been answered. The beneficiary reward is charged off the 75% author reward. The beneficiary portion is split into two equal parts and converted at the present price of steem. So, the beneficairy gets both liquid and un-liquid tokens.

I hope this would be useful to other members of the community, I myself would be using it more often now since I understand how it works more perfectly now. If you decide to use this route, please remember, it is the percentage of your entire author reward, so make necessary adjustment to fit you.(for example, if you have been giving let's say 20% of your liquid payment(sbd) in the past, using this tool and setting it to 20% would be more like giving 40% of your liquid payment(2 times more than previous), although now drafted from both liquid and non-liquid.

Thank you for bearing with me through this "type" of post. And I hope you find it useful and it helps lessen the work involved with manually tracking, calculating and sending donation for the initiative. Many more blessings to us all as we strive towards a better tomorrow.

PS: Please let @familyprotection know if this is the way you will be donating in the future, so that FP doesn't miss seeing your willful donations. You can do this by leaving a reply comment under the FP comment made under your post where a voluntary donation is asked to help the initiative accomplish its goals.


40% Of This Post Author Reward Will Automatically Be Donated To The @FamilyProtection Initiative


I Love To Make Blooms And Children Need It More Than Ever

Peace to you all,
MakeBloom
( @kryptocoin )

If you truly care and passionate about helping families and children worldwide facing CPS injustice, an healthy step is to JOIN the @familyprotection community.

Sort:  

Thank-you for explaining this @kryptocoin

The only thing that I now see that I don't like, is that it will be easy for me to NOT see who made a donation, because it does not show up in my wallet entries like a direct donation does.

Using SteemPlus though, I can check 'Rewards' and then 'Benefactor' and this is what I see.

At least that screen shows 2.095 Steem Power, rather than Vests.

Guess I will be checking out that screen each week to see who is using this option.

Hope this doesn't mean more work for you Linda?, I guess it does. I am sorry
When I was writing the post, I actually though about that, since steemd.com can be a pain to track stuff and transaction easily gets pushed down into a black hole. Glad there is an option to keep track of it easily.

Thank you CaCo.

Perhaps people just need to let @familyprotection know that this is the way that they will be making further donations.
A comment under our fp comment at the top of their post would be good. I just don't want to be thinking that someone hasn't been donating when they have been.

I have updated the post to carry this vital info.

Nice Thanks

Guessing this is through one of the apps? I will continue to donate the normal way regardless, but out of curiosity just went to payout options here and didn't see the option you are showing. Can't wait till one or more of the apps has more transparency that would let me be comfortable using my keys with them.

Hello @practicalthought
The app here is steempeak.com, it is just a front end for the blockchain just like busy.org and steemit.com and you login using steem connect so it is completely safe.

You can only see those options using steempeak.com. Like I mentioned, it is just an alternative to the normal method we use, proves useful so you don't have to bother tracking down posts and making calculations(for those who do). I will be using this option and the traditional method as the need arises.

There are other amazing features with steempeak.com, yesterday I saw you can even edit older Post now on the blockchain, no matter their age. I can also bookmark great posts and get to them when I need them. You should check them out, they seem pretty coo, but their beneficiary functionality was what I stumbled on during the HF20 uproar.
Thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @thethreehugs. Thank you for your support of @familyprotection.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85