57% of newborns taken into foster care in B.C. are Indigenous

Despite making up less than 10% of the population of British Columbia, indigenous newborns make up 57% of apprehensions. The attached article looks at one specific case and discusses some of the complications that arise from inter-generational trauma and how it affects First Nations people, as well as how they are perceived by non-native people.

’I felt robbed’: Indigenous mother says baby’s apprehension was wrong
https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/i-felt-robbed-indigenous-mother-says-baby-s-apprehension-was-wrong-1.5050756

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Such a sad story. Pregnancy is any emotional time, especially the first time around. It's an unknown and you don't junkie if you can cope. You doubt whether you should continue with the pregnancy and for me it was only having my partner's support that boosted me up. If I'd been arguing with him, I might not have been so confident and if the pregnancy had been unplanned at all I may have experienced the same feelings as E. It's a different story when the baby arrives, however, and you know this miracle was meant to be.

Support, not theft, should have been what happened.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17