Life on the Farm - Walk with me through my garden

in #farming6 years ago

WhatsApp Image 2018-06-01 at 15.56.32.jpeg

What am I growing today?

South Africa is currently creeping into winter, but living in Limpopo means that growing is possible all year round.

DSCN1472.JPG

The great thing is that winter here is a good time to grow all your tender leaf vegetables, without having to worry about excessive heat ruining your crop, and as you can see my green-beans, sweetcorn an spinach are loving the weather.

During winter months we also start harvesting fruit in abundance, and as you can see here my guavas,

as well as my granadillas (better known as passion-fruit) are flourishing!


More Veggies for the House:

Well seeing that winter is a lovely time for stews and soups I figure that there is no such thing as "too much veggies", so I also planted some onions, carrots potato's and kale.

DSCN1452.JPG

And yes - I am growing my potatoes in old tires:

For those of you that might not be familiar with this method, you plant the potatoes in the ground then as the plant gets stronger you place a tire around it, you carry on filling the tire up with soil until it is full then you place another tire on top of that repeating the process.

This forces the potato plant to grow upward and the potatoes are formed withing the tire structure, so by the time that your stack is about five tires high your potatoes will be close to harvesting, then you simply topple the structure and pick out the potatoes , so much easier than digging with the risk of damaging the potatoes.

DSCN1454.JPG

Oh and of course, what is a home garden without some tomatoes - aren't they gorgeous?

All of the plants that I grow on the farm is grown organically (with the exception of this years corn crop), none the less I am looking forward to some hearty stews and soups prepared from my winter garden this year!

Happy Growing!

U5dryJTkzxt285RdLyVD6RDhFcNY7MN.gif

Sort:  

I am planning on starting a small veggie garden this spring. We stay in a townhouse, so we don't have nearly the amount of space you do, but I am looking forward to grow what I can. You are an inspiration! Keep it up!

Oh wow - that is great, you will be surprised how much you can grow effectively in a small space!!

@luckylie We also have limited space where we stay, managed to get a small garden going in the back of the yard. We also have a retaining wall in the back of the house and filled all the top blocks with dirt and compost, then planted different herbs in retaining blocks.

You learn to make use of the space available.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16