I am headed out to drive one of these tomorrow! Farming.

in #farming5 years ago

It’s harvest season in western Kansas and farmers around here are cutting corn and milo 24hrs a day before the wet winter snow starts to fly. Cutting corn is a timing thing. If it’s too wet the corn will mildew in the grain bin, if you procrastinate to get it cut the field gets too muddy to drive the combine without tearing up the field and your machine.
F195D5CC-8505-4F11-89FD-5053D664D027.jpeg
Tomorrow afternoon I am gonna try and drive my first combine ever. I have a few friends who are farmers out in this area of Kansas and one invited me out to give it a try. It’s an expensive rig to get behind the wheel but, today combines are almost always on auto pilot so to speak. If this actually happens tomorrow I will make sure and take the camera and shoot some live videos of the experience.
FF64840C-70A3-4CEA-AC8F-BD336F8C0CD1.jpeg
Farmers always say that they see lots of Pheasants when cutting the corn, sometimes they even get caught up in the headers on the combine. Since I am actually out here to hunt these birds this weekend, it will be fun to see so many in one spot and have a nice high view hopefully to film some cool action.

Sort:  

Thats great you have a new friends.Fermers are so hardworking.Farmers works day and night.I spend some time of life in village.I observed you eat in villages everything best.Like milk,fruits etc.Ohhh farmers works 24 hours.Thats to much hard.This machinry helps the farmers to cutting the corn.You get up early in the morning listen the voices of birds.Thats so cool.I also like birds voices.You had a great and new experience.Thanks for sharing.@Broncnutz.

You are lucky that you'll have this experience! I'm saying so because my wife's father drive such combine,let tried it and it's great to drive such machine by yourself! If you'll have possibility try to make 360 degrees video I think it should be cool! And of course we will be waiting that you share with us your impressions from this experience! Good luck!

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool man. I'm looking forward to your next post.

It snowed here today and the moisture gets into the combine and causes a prob I guess. Gonna try again tomorrow.

It is really going to be fun to see you operate and drive your first combine, harvesting time is the best experience as a farmer because it shows that your labour is been rewarded during harvest

Boy that looks like fun. As a country we are so fortunate to have the fertile land to be able to produce as much food as we do. Not only do we grow enough to supply our nation, this fertile ground supplies much food for people all over the world. Last year alone 14.6 billion bushels of corn were produced by American farmers, exporting around 17% of that total. Mexico, South Korea, and Japan were the 3 biggest importers of American corn.

Holy shit I gotta see the OG drive one of those monsters. A bonus STEEM if you cut down a pheasant!

I will tune in to see that for sure!

It snowed a little today here so they could not cut....it messes up the combine I guess, gonna try again tomorrow.

I had read about combine harvestor from my textbook.It is a great mega machine.Anyway nice article sir,waiting for the next one.

Limited Promotion! Use both @t50 and @hybridbot for a chance of receiving extra upvotes!

You got a 4.17% upvote from @t50 courtesy of @nirob05!

Anyone can use this service by sending a minimum of 0.010 SBD or STEEM to @t50 with the post you want upvoted as the memo.

Consider investing Steem Power to receive daily payouts from bot income.
10 SP, 25 SP, 50 SP, 75 SP, 100 SP, 125 SP, 150 SP, 200 SP, 250 SP, 300 SP, 350 SP, 400 SP, 450 SP, 500 SP, 600 SP, 700 SP, 800 SP, 900 SP, 1000 SP or use the delegation manager. At any time you can get your investment back by undelegating.

Partners

@upfundme and #upfundme
TASKMANAGER bitshares token
@hybridbot - bid/membership hybrid bot (0.010 SBD minimum)
@memearmy meme support community bot

Good luck with the hunt! I've never drove one of those but seen then plenty.

Wow... You're doing this too? Awesome. Farming to me is life. It sorts many problems.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80