Watch The Bin Go Up

in #farming6 years ago

The Old Man had a new bin put up in the yard for more crop storage. I had never seen a bin put together before, and I was surprised by the process. Here are a few pictures to share.

Of course, we start with a concrete slab for the base.
4B022846-1184-4450-BD66-02CD99B531FC.jpeg

Then this is the part that I wasn’t expecting. They assembled the roof first.
F580CE45-0317-4D9B-92B3-4D634F3C16FF.jpeg
What a shortie!

Then, they build the wall in layers, lifting up the bin up as they go.
5A8A9A78-435C-42FA-A56A-6D68E9BF5992.jpeg

Once they reach the full height, they are done. (If only things were done as quickly as this post made it look, right?)
70E65A6E-C161-40B9-8007-70604B82415B.jpeg

This is the biggest bin on the farm thus far. It can hold 33,000 bushels (and some odd change) of wheat. A five gallon bucket of wheat is roughly half a bushel. That’s a lot of wheat!

Here is a view from the top of the ladder.
9102AFD1-A9C8-4A09-9AA8-481C6B42FDB0.jpeg

Have you seen bins being built before? Do you store grains?


Steem on! Upvote, comment, and follow :)
Sort:  

That's really fascinating how that's built. He must run a pretty big farm to require that sort of storage. @ironshield

It really depends on how you look at it. Around here, his 2500 acres is considered a small family farm. But I’m sure in a homesteaders mind, where they usually work with 100ish or less acres, that seems like a big business operation.

Never seen one built before and doing it that way does seem to make some sense!!!

That’s what I thought, too! Especially, the days were building it, is was awfully windy. This way, the bin wasn’t be whiplashed by the wind! Surprisingly, the wind can tear those bins apart quite easily.

howdy this fine Sunday hebrewhousewife! haha! somehow I missed this when it first posted dang it but it's one of my favorites! It's a thing of beauty for me to see and there are some great scriptures talking about storage aren't there?

but anyway 33,000 is a great size and I've never seen them built with stairs before but what a practical idea. do you know what the diameter of the base is in feet?

great post, loved it, thank you, love the view from the top also. ya'll have a beautiful place, I wouldn't mind living there. God bless you.

thankfully I did get to vote this before it hit 7 days out but if I ever miss a post and you realize it just yell at me and say hey! how come you haven't commented on my post yet?? If it's been a couple of days I probably missed it, getting hard to keep up I'm going to have to trim down the volume of posts I'm trying to follow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88