My cultivation of peppers in pots

in #farms6 years ago

Cultivate peppers in pots in the small spaces of your home is possible, eh you can even do the whole process in an ecological way, using only organic inputs. Today I make this publication for all the friends of @farms who proposed talking about peppers on Monday and I am currently doing a crop of this type. Below I present a summary of my crop I hope you like it and are encouraged to produce your own food at home, let's start!

The first thing is to get a place to germinate the seeds of paprika which you can get at any gardening store or you can extract them from a ripe paprika fruit. In my case I used these germination trays that I had at home, but first of all I had to clean them, add new substrate and apply the fungus Trichoderma harzianum to disinfect the substrate.

After applying the soil disinfectant and taking advantage of the application to water and moisten the substrate, he proceeded to plant the paprika seed in each hole of the germinator. Something important is that once the seeds are sown, you should keep the substrate moist and out of direct sunlight, which can heat the seed and kill the embryo, causing it not to germinate.

A few days later the seeds begin to germinate and the first leaves appear, I performed the transplant when the plants had 3 pairs of leaves, the care at this stage is to keep our plants in semi-shade and apply watering before the substrate dries . Never use fertilizers at this stage.

Then we must locate the place where our paprika plants will be developed, if you have a patio with soil you can plant them there, in my case, I live very far from my farm and at home I only have a small terrace, so I decided to plant them in pots.

Before the day of the transplant you must prepare all the material, the pots, the substrate, the tools in order to do a good job and in this way that does not dehydrate, stress or affect our paprika plants.

It is the moment of the transplant!

This is a delicate moment, because if it is done wrong you can affect the roots and therefore the feeding and development of the plants would be affected. I recommend applying an asperion of water with sugar to the leaves a day before, this helps to recover the plants very quickly.

Once the transplant is done, the plants should be kept in semi-shade until the development of new leaves begins, at this time you can progressively remove the sun, but try not to receive the midday sun, until the plant adapts and has an optimal development.

About 20 days later you can start applying foliar fertilizer, I apply earthworm hummus by sprinkling, and a bit of solid worm hummus on the substrate approximately every 15 days, in this way you can keep your plant until the day of harvest. Something important is to maintain a weekly monitoring of garden pests and diseases. Fortunately I had no attacks of any plague or disease.


So are the seedlings with 7 pairs of leaves, have had an excellent development in a short time.

Already at this point the flowering and the filling of the fruits begin!

A month and a few days later the flowering of our paprika plants begins, fortunately I have very close to my terrace a bee hive Apis mellifera which helped me with the pollination of the flowers. It was very exciting to see early in the morning the bees pecking in the flowers of the paprika.


A few days later, the plants have growing peppers, but I still have to wait a little longer to harvest them and taste the fruits I got on the terrace. Regarding the care up to this point, I can say that I continue with the organic fertilization based on solid hummus in the soil and hummus of liquid worm diluted in the sprinkler to apply on the leaves.

At this point I made an application of Beauveria bassiana, a fungus that helps to keep under control the harmful insects that can come to the garden and destroy your plantations. Apply this biological insecticide preventively, but I did not really have a severe attack of pests in the garden.

As for irrigation, I am doing it at night and at dawn, because in my city it is summer and there is a radiant sun, little rain and an average temperature of 35 °C.

After finishing the cycle of cultivation of paprika I plan to place in these pots another crop to experiment, something like chives, lettuce and arugula. It is certainly very exciting to go up to the terrace and collect from your garden to make some salad or to spice up the meals. Apart from these paprika plants I have other plants used in the kitchen, such as basil, oregano, chives, etc.

I hope this publication has pleased you, if you want to know more about my garden of peppers below I leave you the links with more detailed information of the process and with more photographs. Please do not stop doing follow me, make resteem and give your valuable upvote, happy and blessed day I wish you from Venezuela!

 Pimenton/Pepper Ciclo #1/Cycle #1

Pimenton/Pepper Ciclo #2/Cycle #2 

Pimenton/Pepper Ciclo #3/Cycle #3

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by BiblicalStudies from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I always enjoy seeing 'progression posts', whether in art or gardening. Really enjoyed your walk-through and seeing those peppers grow. Thanks!

regardless of whether in workmanship or planting. Truly making the most of your stroll through and seeing those peppers develop. Much appreciated!

Thanks for the info

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83