Easy, accurate, ketosis

in #fasting5 years ago (edited)

There's a lot of conflicting advice on Keto, but it's really pretty simple if you just figure out two things.

  1. What is your caloric intake on average. I'm not saying count your calories to lose weight. Just know what your caloric intake is, whatever it is.

  2. Figure out the percentage of calories from each of the macronutrients you want. Mine runs about 75% of calories from fat, 20% from protein, and 5% from carbs.

Notice that I didn't mention how many calories I eat. That's not important here. A 120 pound woman will use a different amount of calories than a 300 pound man, but the percent of calories from fat, protein and carbs should be exactly the same.

Not grams. My 5% of carbs, translated into grams, is more than twice what she should have. So you can't go by grams. You have to go by percent of calories.

The best way I know of figuring both of those out conveniently is to put your meals into Cronometer ( www.cronometer.com ). You might have to weigh your food if you can't read things off the package. I use all whole fresh foods so I do weigh things a lot. Takes a second.

This avoids one large point that confuses many people - "Protein" is a nutrient, by itself it would be a dry white powder.

Meat, fish, eggs, and nuts are food. You can't weigh a 12 oz piece of meat and say you have 12 ozs of "protein". At least not if you want to figure this out correctly. A nice fatty steak might be 30% of calories from fat, and meat is mostly water. It's only like 100 grams of protein. Just let the program figure it out for you.

Also, don't worry about figuring out the right amount of protein for your weight (there are complicated formulas for that). Just stick to the percentages. If you are a bodybuilder and work out 4 hours a day, maybe you need to know this. Otherwise, don't tie yourself up about it.

Ketosis happens to different people at different ranges of macronutrients, and you have to figure yours out for yourself. But using the percentages gives you an accurate reference point from which to start. Using the strips will let you know if you are in the range, then just stick to that percentage.

Sort:  

In modern world weight loss has become so complex,any way thanks for the information on keto diet

Posted using Partiko Android

I really wish there was an affordable and reliable breath keto meter.

I'm satisfied if I spill any ketones at all into my urine. What I define as ketosis is actually ketogenesis. That's what I want. I don't care how many ketone bodies I am producing, I just want to be in the metabolic state of producing ketones.

But yeah, I can't throw $100+ at a ketone meter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77