Cell repair, longevity, and weight loss through Fasting

in #fasting6 years ago

It was 3 months ago that I started long term fasting. To prepare my body and mind I started intermittent fasting over a year. I do intermittent fasting now and most often I only eat one meal a day. I can quote every other website online and every article dealing with fasting to explain why fasting is important for our body.

The many health benefits of fasting is astounding, and I often wonder why every one does not do it long term. Instead of adding fillers to this post I am just going to state through fasting our body heals, it eats dead cells and makes new ones, and we experience weight loss. Most often the weight loss at first is water weight, and as we eat healthy and fast more that water loss becomes fat loss.

Many people and many religions do a fast to experience a higher spiritual level. This has been done through out time and is as old as we have been on this planet. Before it began as a religious offering humans fasted during times of lack and famine. Our bodies adapted to the lack of food. So instead of using carbs and natural sugar as fuel it used fat as fuel and allowed us to continue until our next meal.

In a way this is what a keto diet does. Instead of using carbs and sugar our body uses fat for fuel. However a ketogenic diet is another post and debate in itself. I want to focus on fasting and why I started fasting. About a year ago I started getting high blood pressure and now I am on blood pressure meds. I have changed my diet and upped my exercise as stated in other post and my bp has slowly gone down. Well in researching I came across fasting. Now I knew about fasting but in a religious setting. Since I am not that religious I never fasted.

Since long term fasting helps the body repair I figured it could not hurt me if I tried. Since I started fasting I have dropped weight, my thyroid meds dropped a little bit, and I do have more energy. I am only about 3 months into fasting, and I have not done longer than 3 days. I am working my way up to longer but I did not and do not want to jump right into a week or longer fast.

With my preparing for a longer fast I am eating less carbs now, and I do not eat or drink anything with sugar in it. I am hoping by doing this by the time I do a long fast my body immediately jumps into fat burning mode. This longer fast is for multiple reasons and it entails mental and physical. I am hoping that I will lower my blood pressure and get on the meds. I am also hoping to lose the extra weight I need to get rid, and I am hoping to gain more confidence in my life.

So far with my 3 day fast every monthI feel my more in tuned with my body. I cant say for certain that my bp is going down because of it since I have changed many things in my life, including meditating now. My thought process with fasting. If man has been fasting through out history for multiple reasons then there should be some health benefits to it. So I hope my next post on fasting will be one of which I lasted for a week and feel great.

I will keep you all updated. Until next post,
James Woods

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75