Reflections on Fasting.

in #fasting5 years ago (edited)

Intermittent fasting is all the rage these days. I have considered this type of fasting for health reasons, but I was compelled to participate in an extended fast last week for spiritual reasons.

The Cambridge Learner's Dictionary defines fast as:

to eat nothing, or much less than you usually eat for a period of time

I wanted to pass along some of my thoughts and personal reflections on fasting.

Before You Start The Fast

You should ask yourself the following questions:

  1. What are you fasting for?
    Knowing the reason why you are fasting will keep you motivated when the effects of fasting start to impact your mind, spirit, and body.
  2. What are you fasting from?
    If you don't have a clear understanding of what you can and cannot consume before you start your fast, you are far more likely to add additional items to the "acceptable list", which may or may not line up with your reasons for fasting.
  3. How long will you fast
    If you do not have a clear timeline, then you will be likely to stop your fast before you initially intended.
    Do you have a support system?
    Who keeps you honest? Who encourages you? Find someone who will be there for you as you progress through the stages of fasting.

While Fasting

  1. Remember your why.
  2. Spend the time you would normally be eating and focus that time on your spiritual, mental, and/or physical development.
  3. Don't be a grump while you fast. Try to stay focused on the positive aspects of the change you are experiencing.
  4. Don't make other people feel guilty for not fasting.
  5. Don't feel that you have to hide from people who are eating.

After You Finish The Fast

  1. Ease back into food.
    Your body has made adjustments over time because you have eliminated or reduced the amount of food you have consumed. You need to carefully ease back into your normal food routine.
  2. Consider modifying your "normal" food routine.
    You have taken steps to make changes in your life. Just because you are ending the fast does not mean you have to return to previous bad habits. This is a great time to reevaluate what you want as you move forward.
  3. Continue to reflect on the reason why you fasted.
    Did you reach the spiritual, mental, and/or physical goals that you set? What are the next steps you need to take to maintain and/or reach those goals?

For me, fasting is both challenging and rewarding. It is something I want to do with intentionality and with purpose. I have some major life decisions that I need to make that impact me and my family. Over the coming weeks, I plan to fast on a few more occasions so that I can reflect on these decisions and seek guidance from God about next steps.

I want to hear from you!

  1. Have you ever fasted before?
  2. What do you believe is the hardest part of fasting?
  3. What food do you recommend eating when you first open a fast?

Thanks for stopping by!
@SumatraNate

Source:
“fast.” Dictionary.Cambridge.Org. 2019. https://dictionary.cambridge.org/us/dictionary/learner-english/fast_3?q=fasting (11 February 2019).

Sort:  

Always happy to see more people fasting! I have been intermittent fasting for over 2 years now and I do extended fasts of 48 - 72 hours usually once a month for health purposes. Since I started fasting I have felt so much better and my body seems to love it too. I lost a bunch of weight without even trying and I haven't gotten sick since I started so my immune system is obviously working extremely well.

The hardest part of fasting for me is the first day, so I try to stay away from TV or things that remind me of food and I also try to stay very busy with tasks. The hunger pains never last long so just drink some water and try to concentrate on something else. Ultimately reaching your fasting goal will feel incredible!

Before an extended I start a fast I usually try to eat a meal with lots of vegetables and a small portion of protein so my body has the proper nutrients before we kick off the fast.

I usually break it with fruit, then a few hours later eggs or more roasted veggies.

Hope you really consider trying intermittent fasting, it seriously changed my life. Im in the best shape of my life now and I'm in my late 30's.

I have tried fasting a little bit, not with great success. It started back in 2013, when 5:2 had its craze - in Denmark anyway. I think I have managed 3 times 36 hours, and that was it. I never got to a point where I felt good, I got headaches and felt dizzy, and was basically a bit of a lumb most of the day. So it does not feel productive.

Now that I am doing a medical trial I am actually getting interested in fasting again. I have to fast for 15 hours, and for 21 hours all I get to eat is a bowl of soup and a bit of bread and fruit. All to follow the rules of this study. I think it just might qualify as proper fasting. I am very hungry at least :)
In the beginning, I got the same "symptoms" and felt really poorly the first two days, but then I actually started feeling much better, both in body and mind. So I am sensing that it is just something the body needs to get used to, and I might just give 36 hours fasting another try! :)

Besides the "slumb", I think the hardest/weirdest part for me was the time of day when I would start cooking dinner... All of a sudden this anchor of the day was gone :) What to do with all that extra time!?

Fasting is challenging. I have often struggled with headaches and sometimes fasting brings on some bad ones. Thanks for sharing about your experiences. I have noticed how often I feel compelled to eat out of boredom. It is amazing how much time and what times we focus on eating/cooking. Sometimes we forget to ask if we are really hungry.

Hi @sumatranate!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.367 which ranks you at #2374 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 221 contributions, your post is ranked at #151.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13