[This and that #4] Favorite game

in #favouritethisandthat6 years ago (edited)
Today I selected favorite game as the theme of this post, and I told @hrissm that I'm going to hear his facepalm after he reads this post, even though we are in different states. The game I'm going to write about is probably the simplest thing on Earth, and most likely a game all of you know from boring lectures in middle school. It wasn't the case for me. I learnt about paper soccer... last year and got badly addicted. I played hundreds of matches on the Polish gaming platform kurnik.pl and I'm good at it, but not excellent. So, I will most likely win with my friends but not with those guys who spend all evenings playing on kurnik. You get the idea. It's a pen and pencil game, so first of all, you need a friend, a piece of squared paper and two differently colored pens. I would comfortably say this kind of games is my favorite. I love word games too.

How to play?

It's soccer so there is a ball and two goals. The ball is the point in the middle of the pitch. The first player moves the ball first, from the centerpoint to the next available point. It can be moved diagonally, vertically or horizontally. If the ball hits a point which was already used or if it hits the border of the pitch, it can bounce in any direction that you want and is available. If you place the ball in your opponent's goal, you win. You also win if you force your opponent to place the ball in his own goal, or if you lock the ball within the pitch so that your opponent has no move.

The game is really cool and really one of my favorite things to waste time on doing.

The Rules of the challenge

Choose one of the themes each day and explain us why it's your favorite. Post a picture of it. Do this for 7 days in a row if you accept the challenge. Nominate up to three people each day. Tag it with #favouritethisandthat and include the themes that one can pick from.

The images are public domain and come from Wikipedia: Paper soccer

The Themes You Can Choose From

Decade - Game - Movie Character - TV Series - Website - Public Figure - Monument

Sort:  

I had full of such soccer fields in almos every notebook in high school. I spent a lot of hours playing in class with my friends.
I think that some time ago I played computer version of it.

Interesting, first time I've heard of paper soccer.

New to me. Looks like it could be fun.
Thanks for the share.

We should play one day. Thanks for coming by!

Face palm only for assumptions. And for not telling me about this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98