Did you know that galahs dig in the ground? Something I did not know!

in #featheredfriday5 years ago (edited)

Bird watching is a favourite past time of mine, their individual behaviours are entertaining and at times very intriguing. I was under the misapprehension that I knew all there was to know about pink and grey galahs of the parrot family, but I can honestly say now that I was absolutely way off.

My husband and I were visiting the northern tip of Tasmania finding ourselves on the bank of the river in the little quaint town of Wynyard when we saw this pretty pair of galahs walking and pecking with all their galah mates.

While we looked at the flock of galahs busily wandering around nodding up and down the pretty pair separated from the others and headed another direction toward a little hole in the ground.

One walked away while the other one put its head down the hole. Really, little galah you dig in holes? What do you find to eat down there? By the look of the hole you and your mates have been digging for some time.

After a minute or so it brought its head up and joined its mate and off they walked.

I learned something about galahs that afternoon in Wynyard, Tasmania .... they find food down holes! Or maybe they are just taking a peek in the earth.

Cheers and Blessings

(Here is a pretty winter's garden in cold Tasmania where it is grey and cloudy.)

Sort:  

Hi friend, this is Dindar. I moved from my other account for some personal reason. From now onwards I will be available in my this account @deepu7 (my nickname).
However, great writing. Thanks for sharing.

Hello deepu7, nice to hear from you again. I noticed that you had not been posting as dindar.

Such lovely birds! Looking for food? Or buried treasure?

Haha, maybe both. They are very unusual @melinda010100 I went to a country Ball where the decorative colours were pink and grey. It looked fantastic.

Howdy angiemitchell! oh interesting! Hey does the Tasmanian Devil roam around those parts or is that a made up monster?

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34