Feathered Friday- The Fire-Spreading Hawks Of Australia

in #featheredfriday5 years ago

Howdy folks, this is my submission for the great @keithboone and his #featheredfriday challenge.

Guys.. I saw this article about these nutso birds in Northern Australia and I've posted about them before but thought it would be a good fit for the #featheredfriday tag.

I know there are droughts in Australia and I can just imagine the fire potential in the Northern Grasslands with parched soil and dry grass! Yikes..so there can be a fire going that the firefighters are working like the dickens to put out.. and then these yahoos show up!

What they do is swoop down and grab a burning stick and fly off with it to an unburned area of grass located next to a clearing or a road. In this photo they are gathered to catch prey that runs from the fire into the road.

image.png
source

They drop the burning stick and start a fire, thus forcing the rodents and reptiles and such out into the open where they can snatch them up! lol. It's clever..actually brilliant for a bird-brain..but then the firefighters have another fire to contend with.

Is that the craziest thing you ever heard of birds doing? I mean this is using tools and strategic planning! There are three kinds of Fire birds which do this. The Black Kites, Whistling Kites and the Brown Falcon.

here's a Brown Falcon:

image.png
source

Not only that but they'll go to a fire which is all but extinguished and burning out because it is up against a river or some natural barrier, and they pick up burning embers and take them to the other side of the natural barrier and restart the fire there!

Here is a description by an Aboriginal man named Waipuldanya:

"I have seen a hawk pick up a smoldering stick in its claws and drop it in a fresh patch of dry grass half a mile away, then wait with its mates for the mad exodus of scorched and frightened rodents and reptiles."

image.png
source

The Aborigines have known about this and observed it for centuries but the white folk are just now finding out about it, of course.

Scientists are setting up a research group composed of them and Aboriginal ranger groups to see what they can discover about the way these birds work and what can be done about them.

Here they are, starting a fresh fire:

image.png
source

By the way, the Aborigines have inhabited and managed the grasslands with controlled burning for at least 50,000 years. Over millennia, Aboriginal people have accumulated an unparalleled understanding of this ecosystem and the animals that inhabit it —knowledge that is in danger of being lost as cultural traditions are abandoned by the younger generations.

It's a shame that this knowledge is being lost but the government will spend millions on this research project I'm sure.. but my question is..why don't they just ask the Aborigines about those birds?

Here's a Black Kite close to a fire at the McArthur River Mine in Northern Territory in 2013:

image.pngsource

o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAMxodQF1jJNdfpHTCGove.png

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas

NTy4GV6ooFRqCmQLhs7ZoybsrgTuvSTU2pMFhxiJBEZuqj1g3EmYGaRen2ALN7mW5CzUL73CbrFuWr2tNWguPWiTULxFf4b5iE6zWvuCeTvYQwBCukQ8mwvozRJLFuv3RoCM7pY5i9DBik9LMRsqBEy77nAhXEUgW3y16UbY.png

pBMyo3B2Sao2EbuHAFTX1CNWMbam25xJGPs4sKmLS6XL7o71wFAUucsafVye3MgguLjwEw2CVywm33PuNruyGbk1kE5eusKhHjkGhmV4pFBxCoLkv6ArefeKCVfVTLuFK5K2oawKZH5PcMbddYgLK7bmpWycdXWBh3TVbq7aZQqHkD26.png

o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAN3wfXUQ7yYxKskEYiSjg.png

Sort:  

Wow @janton, that is an impressive piece of evolution! Not ... 😉

Very nice post here sir. I really enjoyed reading it. I hope you win the contest / challenge!

Howdy again sir roleerob! so good to see you again and this is a good reminder to
go to your blog, I'll be over there later. As far as those crazy birds, man they are so clever.
No regards at all for destroying grasslands by fire but they know how to scare up
dinner!

It all sounds unbelievable, but can be true! We have a sililar legend here in Ukraine about another small bird, but anyway I am surprised.
And also, may I ask you, what is the meaning of "working like dickens"?

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy zirochka! Oh that would be very interesting if birds over there do the same thing!

yes, the expression "working like the dickens" means working very hard. It's a country expression
from my roots, not used very often in the regular culture. lol.

Thank you! That's why I couldn't find a meaning. There are things I love the most in my life and languages among them :)

Howdy back zirochka! That's very interesting, do you speak more than English and Russian?

Well, first if all, I am Ukrainian. It is my native lang. And Russian, and English. I also studied French, and on my trips I learned a few words in Italian and Deutch. Polish is also very close to Ukrainian.

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy zirochka! Thanks for getting back to me. I know that you are Ukrainian, I just thought most countries over close to Russia spoke Russian? But that is my ignorance, no offense intended and I apologize for any.
As much as you travel it comes in handy to know at least a little of many languages I'm sure! God bless you guys!

You're right, all ex-USSR counties speak Russian as we studied it in school. And no offence, I swear ))
Before I chose a university, I was good in both math and lang, so I had to choose between them. I decided to study math and programming. And my daughter now study lang, has my genes )). She specialized in German

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy again zirochka! So your daughter will know at least 3 languages? That is going to be a nice advantage in business and travel!

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 6.79% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Howdy there steem-plus! thank you so much for the upvote and for all you do to help others on the platform!

Wow! Never heard of this but it is fascinating and clever although destructive. Nature sure is a wonder sometimes. Loved learning something new...just don't quiz me later though! ;)

haha! howdy today deerjay! I thought it was absolutely crazy the way those birds do that! Humans are bad enough at starting fires but they have to worry about the birds too! lol. Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

You're welcome @janton and it was a cool story so thanks for sharing it. I've heard of crows liking to take shiny things but not about these birds and fire at that! It certainly makes it harder for the firefighters.

Howdy again deerjay! It has to be frustrating at tmes if the firefighters see that, it's hard enough to keep people from starting fires! And yes crows, I wrote a post about how smart they are too, they're super smart!

Hmmm. My father-in-law used to be the Chief Fire Control Officer for the Australian Capital Territory. Much further south than this, but he is a fire expert. Particularly in Australia. He also spent many years as a park ranger in Australia’s National Parks. Very cool dude. I will have to ask him about this. ☺️

howdy dfinney! how interesting, yes that would be great to learn if he's ever run into these kinds of birds before. Evidently the Aborigines have known about them since ancient times so I guess it's time modern society was clued in! Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

These feathered fire starters are unbelievable.🔥 And I’ve heard birds & animals can’t reason!

haha! howdy redheadpei! yeah aren't those things smart? wow, it's amazing. I don't think Texas birds are that smart, at least I hope not!

Red tail hawks are my Fave. We have a family of them that nest nearby. We see them quite often. I have had a few "close encounters" with them over the years. I would be laying in my hamok and one will land a few feet from me. They do not fear us. They seem rather curious of us.

Here is a photo of the one that landed at arms length from me while i was up cleaning gutters. I just slowly backed away.

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy sir krazzytrukker! wow that is a great shot! They're wonderful to have as neighbors.

That is so clever of them! Not at all helpful for the people in the path of the fires, but an amazing way for a bird to get a free lunch!

howdy Melinda! Aren't they clever and smart? It's almost scary. How has your day been, taken up with the contest?

Almost totally spent on the contest posts and doing prize payouts and posting the new contest onto the various Discord sites. It fills my day! Did you get some of the mowing done?

Almost totally spent on the contest posts and doing prize payouts and posting the new contest onto the various Discord sites. It fills my day!

Howdy again Melinda! But it's worth it right? I mean it has gotten your name out there significantly.

Oh, I didn't mean to sound like I was complaining! I love every minute, all week long, of watching everyone's entries get posted. I love doing the contest and yes, it has certainly helped my account grow!

Yes I think it's a marvelous contest and the results are always so impressive!
No, I didn't take it as you complaining but it IS alot of work.

I'm glad you enjoy the contest! It is fun. Midnight here... I'll see you tomorrow!

That's an interesting bit of trivia. :-)
I guess it must be a desperate measure, because they could get themselves burned.

Howdy sir Vincent! It's pretty amazing and I know with a big fire the winds whip around and do crazy things but they must be strong enough fliers that they aren't very affected.

VERY interesting indeed @janton I have never heard of this happening and you've taught me a lot about my own country.

Thanks so much for sharing such a fascinating blog and I think you've sourced some awesome images to accompany your research. (U & R )

Howdy Trudee! I wondered if you had heard of this phenomenon. I don't know if it is just small areas that this has gone on but evidently the Aborigines have known about it since ancient times! I thought it was amazing that these birds are so clever. lol.

This was news to me John. Fascinating stuff! Whoever came up with the term, 'Bird Brain' was actually giving them a great compliment. They are such amazing creatures.

haha! howdy Trudee! That's a good point, I think I'll try that out and see it people take it as a compliment. If they don't then obviously they haven't been studying the right birds! lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17