Female Northern CardinalsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #featheredfriday5 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians

Here is my featheredfriday entry @keithboone

This female northern cardinal is usually found low
in the shrubs and trees or on the ground feeding.
If you see one, then there is a good chance of seeing
it's mate nearby.
Easily recognised, a large conical beak, and
a black face. Pale brown in colour with reddish ....

card.JPG

tinges in the wings, tail, and crest.
Found throughout Eastern North America. As
well as parts of Western Mexico.
Very fierce in defending their territory they have .....

32322661-480px.jpg

been see attacking the reflections of themselves
in car mirrors.
Very common at backyard feeders and in general a...

c3.JPG

favourite bird of many. It is the state bird of seven
different states.

Upvote!!.gif

Sort:  

Beautiful photos! I used to see these birds in Southern Ontario and I don't think I ever see them here in BC... then I looked at your map, and that explained it! Thanks so much for posting in Feathered Friday! Voted and resteemed :-)

Great photos. I miss cardinals from when I lived in Minnesota.

It is great seeing the colour during Winter.

Never seen one! But they are pretty cool, definitely will search for them if I go birding to that part of the world!

Posted using Partiko Android

howdy sir karbon! Those are great shots of that guy, incredibly sharp and detailed!

Thank you @janton, she was very close,

Posted using Partiko iOS

yes sir, I mean Female like the subject title says duh! sorry, lol.

Lovely photos and great info! I didn't know that they were the state bird of 7 different states!

I thought that was interesting too! Funny how people come up with favourites for whatever reason.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79