Greater Yellowlegs Sandpiper

in #featheredfriday5 years ago (edited)

This is a Greater Yellowlegs (Tringa melanoleuca) ~ at least I'm about 90% certain of that! It is quite difficult to tell them apart from the Lesser Yellowlegs. These two species of North American shorebirds look similar and occupy more or less the same range. Both birds are a type of Sandpiper.

mhguefliwu.jpg

I visited several webpages to learn how to tell the two species apart. As a result, I can list some of the major differences:

  • The Great Yellowlegs is larger.
  • Has a longer bill, with a very slight upturn.
  • Has a thicker bill at the base, and a slightly different nostril location...

Great information to know and very helpful, if only...

5f0abifq3k.jpg

...if only both types of bird would show up at the same time, and sit together on a rock for a while so I could study them! Anyhow, I will go out on a limb say that the first two photos are adults, while all that follow are juveniles.

54keh0rcpa.jpg

The juveniles have a slightly more brownish colour, that's all I'm going by. You can probably tell I'm more of a photographer than a ornithologist.

wr6modtnnp.jpg

So while am am not a true bird expert, I do know what I like! A day by the shore photographing birds is very high on my list.

u2z1enpox3.jpg

All photos were taken by me, @keithboone. Please click for a full-screen view.

whdufssaoz.jpg

These photos are for #featheredfriday hosted by @melinda010100

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Even if you don't know the name of these lovely birds, I would still admire them Keith. Beautiful shots 😊

Thanks very much, Lena!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Greater or Lesser, either way they are lovely photos! Ihanks for the great info and for supporting the #featheredfriday tag!

Thanks very much, Melinda!

Nice seeing sandpiper birds, we have three that I know of, none look like your one, every little added detail helps with identification.

if only both types of bird would show up at the same time, and sit together on a rock for a while so I could study them! Know the feeling.

Thank you, they're a cool bird. The serious bird watchers get very excited when they show up here. They're not year round in this area.

No I have no idea how often our birds are around, garden birds you learn their seasonal arrival. Always exciting to see something different, which these little birds are.

Congratulations @keithboone! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This awesome bird is new to me @keithboone and you have done a fabulous job of introducing it to me. They have some wonderful features with their yellow legs, long beaks and speckled feathers don't they?. This one looks very dainty as he/she steps over rocks and wades through shallow waters. And that flying capture? Truly Magnificent, my friend! (U & R )

I love the way you captured them and I do so love shorebirds! You and them... birds of a feather!

!tip

🎁 Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: A Touch Of Trees On Tuesday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75