Introducing the Peafowl Family

Today I went out looking for some new bird photos for @melinda010100's #FeatheredFriday challenge and I almost struck out. No eagles, no herons. I did see some ducks and seagulls but I had a hard time getting interested. Fortunately, at the last moment, I ran into the Peafowl family

Here's Dad, the Peacock

PA030155.jpg

Next I have Mom and a late-season baby... Peahen and Peachick

PA030148.jpg

The happy family, all together.

PA030151.jpg

Finally, not a bird but a better photo than the others: here's a bonus Gray Squirrel for you.

PA030133.jpg

All photos were taken today by me, @keithboone. Please click for a closer view. Thanks very much for visiting!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 4 of my contest just started...check it out!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

A lovely family! I do wonder what's up with all these late season babies! There are lots of new baby chipmunks this week, too. it makes me wonder how they will get enough food stored for themselves to make it through the winter.

Maybe it means we will have an easy winter? None of that polar vortex nonsense. Last year we even had a month of real winter here in Victoria. It came as quite a shock!

An easy winter would certainly make me happy!

Agreed! Fingers crossed :-)

They are a very attractive family.

Thank you! It just so happened that someone was feeding the birds, so these ones got together over lunch...

Your photo is the first I've ever seen of a peachick. How unfortunate that they share the name "pea" with that unexciting green vegetable.

That's why we have Latin names (I guess...) Meet the Pavo cristatus family :-)

Such a nice family. Love the bonus too. 😀

Thank you! The mom and chick were together, but the male was just a random bird that ran over to where someone had dropped bird food on the grass. I saw three or four males running to get the food...

Love the peacock and his family, Keith. Mr. Gray squirrel looks inquisitive.

Thank you! I think the squirrel was wondering if we brought any snacks. We didn't ;-)

You had me at the beautiul Peafowl family and then you went and added a cute squirrel..lol..love it! Terrific photos @keithboone!! 💖

Thank you very much!

You are very welcome! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73