These Birds Sure Do Love Baseball...

They never miss a home game, I'm not even kidding!

Here is a Western Osprey (Pandion haliaetus), also known as a fish hawk or a sea hawk. Osprey can apparently reach up to 6 feet across the wings but I don't think I've seen them larger than 4 or 5 feet myself. I was thrilled to capture this one a few days ago... Here is an adult bird which has just left the nest in search of food for its hungry chicks who were making a lot of noise in the nest way overhead.

84svaot6ab.jpg

Let me show you the nest, which has been up there in the stadium lighting for years...

dvixlmfw18.jpg

A few minutes after the adult took off hunting, one of the chicks began to fly from one lighting tower to the next.

g6jmla7sn2.jpg

I did my best to follow by walking all around the perimeter of the ball park taking photos over the fence wherever I could catch a glimpse. The bird was quite far away for most of these shots.

jb3du125ov.jpg

Here's the closest photo I could get of the fledgling osprey.

h4xbn6646c.jpg

Friday night! Victoria Harbourcats vs Port Angeles Lefties from Port Angeles, Washington. I've never heard of a team that was all lefties... You don't think they mean it, do ya? Maybe I'll have to join the birds and take in a game this weekend!

7vtqnxbdxx.jpg

b2oq3ja3dn.jpg

epfgbssrq9.jpg

FeatheredFriday is hosted by @melinda010100

All photos were taken by me, @keithboone.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Wow, that first photo specially is amazing. I posted about those cuties in my last post, but missed those great flying shots 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! I just had a look at your photos which are gorgeous! I'd rather see a nest in a tree than a light stand :-)

It was on a lost small island somewhere in Cuba, never expected to find one there! 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

I think they can be found worldwide. What I liked about your photos is that you've caught the bird in the wild rather than in a man-made environment where I found mine.

Yeha, that nest was a surprise... and a break from all the beach watching and babe watching! ;)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @keithboone

As a follower of @haccolong this post has been randomly selected and upvoted by @hoaithu's Curation Trail.
This is random free upvote daily when you follow @haccolong

Use Partiko for activities on Steemit, you will receive bonus points. Dowload Partiko app for your phone at here. If you difficulty when convert points (Partiko) to upvote, check the instructions here.
cry_e.gif

Thanks very much, I appreciate it! :-)

Great shots of the bird I strive to photo when I get the chance. DSC_0023 (2).JPG

Wow, check out that fish! Awesome shot! Looks like a bald eagle?

Osprey... south shore of Long Island, NY :-) We have some Eagles here too.

That nest is incredible.... What a place to build one! I suppose much of the year no one is around to bother them. Great photos!

Thanks, Melinda. I think they stay nice and warm during the night games :-)

I would worry about nest fires!

I agree! But I think the nest is 3 or 4 feet from the lights.

If it's been there for years they must be safe!

I always enjoy yours posts. Thanks for sharing!
Here's my #featheredfriday post today if you're interested.

That's such a beauty! I wonder what kind of bird that is?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64866.85
ETH 3369.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45