Feathered Friday - Blue Jay and Mexican JaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #featheredfriday5 years ago (edited)

Caught this blue jay last weekend.

It flew into a tree i was picnicing next to. I think it wanted something to eat.

This one caught a worm.

The moment it gulps the worm down.

Now for some mexican jays! I got these pics in the chiracahua national forest.

These guys used to called gray breasted jays but were renamed to mexican jays since they hang around the arizona mexican border.

Here's a shot i got with my cellphone feeding the jay a piece of hard boiled egg. Happy #featheredfriday @keithboone and @tattoodjay

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Beautiful photos of this blue jay, the feathers are splendid ❤️
And what a wonderful lucky shot you got by feeding this little greedy ! 😄

A group of them surrounded me on the picnic benches. It felt like jurassic park raptors were surrounding me. There was only this one brave one who ate out of my hand, the others were just waiting to steal from him.

Posted using Partiko Android

We have a lot of sparrows here and they are well accustomed to people feeding them so they land sometimes on tables at the restaurant and they try to steal some food...LoL..I feel you about that jurassic park raptors thing 😄

Chickadees in late winter get really tame if you have birdseed around.

Posted using Partiko Android

Both birds are beautiful. I have never seen a Mexican Jay. It is a beauty! !Tip

Yeah this was the first time i saw them too at first i thought they were scrub jays. They were renamed mexican jays relatively recently and used to be called gray breasted jays. I think they split the gray breasted jay into two species because of subtle differences in size/color/range. So now theres a mexican jay and a transvolcanic jay.

Posted using Partiko Android

They recently changed the name of our juncos, too. I've already forgotten what I'm supposed to call them now!

Oh great i'll have to look it up maybe there was a subtle difference in them compared to others.

Posted using Partiko Android

The ones that I have always called slate-colored have now become a dark-eyed!

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION.
theunion.png

BlueJays are my favorite birds and wow what awesome shots of them and that last one feeding one of them how cool is that

I have a few scrub jay shots somewhere and some steller's jay. I'll dig them up for next week.

Posted using Partiko Android

cool I look forward to seeing them :)

Fantastic photos! They are lovely birds.

They have really nice colors but their call is kind of harsh to the ears. Like a screaming sound some of their quieter sounds are kind of electronic or digital sounding.

Posted using Partiko Android

I did know that about their call. That is interesting. Still they have very nice colours. :-)

They definitely like letting the other birds know they are around. It makes it easier to locate them for pictures as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

WOW last photo... did you give food to this bird ? :))

Yeah it was at a picnic area and a whole flock of them surrounded me. So this one was the bravest one to eat out of my hand. The others tried to steal food from him.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah ok..ok :) this can be cool to be photography :)

Jays are notoriously tame when it comes to food. They are almost as tame as crows or ravens.

Posted using Partiko Android

ok..ok :) ... I hope I find here something also :)

Definitely try bringing some birdseed out and placing it near a nice branch for a good composition.

Posted using Partiko Android

YEs ... in winter time I can do this more better :) then it's easy to use on feeding table.

🎁 Hi @sketch.and.jam! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Shadow Photo Contest-Round 69- Lamp Post Shadows Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16