Feathered Friday - Cooper's Hawk

IMG_4212.jpg

#featheredfriday challenge by @keithboone. I'm always looking for a good excuse to post bird photos. This small hawk is very common in the San Francisco Bay Area. Not great photos as the hawk took off but I love the colors and patterns on his feathers.

IMG_4216.jpg

IMG_4217.jpg

IMG_4218.jpg

Dublin, California. January 2019. All photos original.

Sort:  

Well I like the first 2 photos the best. Cooper's hawks have very pretty feathers! At least birds stay still a little longer than butterflies; some of the time!

thanks @violetmed Yep always some birds around here.

I was hoping that you would join in #featheredFriday with your wonderful bird pictures!

I figured that call out was partly directed at me ;)

And you should be friends with @keithboone anyway!

Great shoot for this hawk. ;)

Great shoot for this hawk. ;)

Very nice hawk, and photos. Love seeing the patterns on the wings. Thank you for participating in #featheredfriday.

Followed, voted and resteemed :)

Hawk looking sharp :)

he he at least his talons are, gripping the post

Great shots Steven :-)
Last autumn I also see one sometimes, but I was always to slow or he was too far away.

Thanks @astrophoto.kevin I find the smaller hawks are more skittish than the big hawks like the red-tailed hawk

Really? I think hawks are very impressive and beautiful animals.

A very fortuitous capture @steven-patrick I love how that hawk is standing on the post with his claws wrapped around the top of it. Their dark and light brown and cream markings are very beautiful aren't they?

thanks @trudeehunter. Its like the post isn't quite big enough for its perch. I agree I love the pattern when it spreads its wings and you see the markings not just on its breast but also the wings and tail

He has great balance Steven and your timing was perfect to get this unique shot.

🦉Hello
@steven-patrick
Wow. Very beautiful Cooper Hawk.
Fantastic photo capture.
(:

Really like your hawk photo. I never see them close enough to photograph.

thanks @redheadpei I find the smaller hawks don't let you get quite as close as the bigger ones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87