Cute Canadian Geese Goslings

in #featheredfriday5 years ago

Look at these cute little goslings! This was a first for me so I was very excited to see them.

Female Canadian Geese pick the site for the nest, builds the nest and incubates the eggs. The males stand guard. Females lay 2-8 eggs and what I found interesting is that after the second egg is laid, the mother picks down feathers from her chest and lines the nest with them. After the eggs have been incubated for 25-28 days, the hatchlings are born.

HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY TO ALL OF YOU MAGNIFICENT MOM'S!

#featheredfriday by @keithboone

#dailypetphotography by @dpet & @kona

Information Source: allaboutbirds.org

Image Source: All photos are my own.

Sort:  

I see a lot of geese but I can't remember ever seeing goslings before. How special! I recently got video of a woodpecker. Still huntin' for that butterfly, though. 😉

Wow! Very cute! Seven little babies walking gingerly after their mum!
They seem very tame! I hope they are well protected in that area! Only 28 days to hatch! How many goslings will a mother bird have in a year?!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Aren't they cute?!?! I found them in a park so I am guessing that they are used to people but I didn't dare get too close because I didn't want to upset the mom, or get attacked. LOL! The mother will have 1 brood per year of 2-8 goslings.

they for sure are so cute and how cool you got to see them for a first time

Have a great weekend ;)

Hi @whatisnew,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

Aren't they adorable? Wow! What a nice surprise! Thanks so much for the SBI! : )

haha! howdy Butterfly! wow, those things are impossibly cute! they used to say the same thing about me but then life happened and I haven't gotten a second glance for about 30 years and I'm not sure that one was an admiring one. lol.
But I didn't come to talk about me, sorry. Where's these geeses at, your backyard?

Howdy @janton! Aren't they adorable? Just like you! LOL!
No, they are not in my back yard. They are at a park that I like to go to when I can. I will be going more often when it gets dryer and warmer. We had 3 days and nights of non-stop rain and it was so cold. But today it was a nice dry, sunny day and haven't had to use the heat for the past 2 days but still need a jacket. Looks like we are in for a warm, sunny weekend finally. Yay!

Howdy Butterfly! oh, this weekend sounds really nice weather wise. So that means you'll be out to that park? It got up to 90 here yesterday but only in the 80's today, chance of rain tomorrow.
You guys just need to dry out for a few weeks!

Howdy @janton! Yup, I will be at the park and I am so excited. Yes, we are saturated. Wow...90 yesterday and 80 today? Lucky you! It was 68 here today so it is finally getting warmer. Yay!

yeah 80 degrees there will have everyone(except you) complaining about how hot it is! lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78