Smart Mockingbird - Feathered Friday

in #featheredfriday5 years ago

It is not unusual to find Mockingbirds sitting on a fence, just like this one.

These birds are very smart. Not only can they mimic over 200 other bird calls, they can also mimic sounds like car alarms. Mockingbirds can also identify humans so don't do anything stupid like destroying their nests, or they will come after you if they see you again. This one is really eyeing me up...right eye, left eye and head on. He finally realized that he didn't recognize me.

I was free to go and so was he. He flew to another close by fence and I followed. He is looking at me as if to say, "Oh, it is you again."

Have you ever seen a mockingbird in flight? The white bars on their wings are more prominant when they are flying and they are beautiful. I wasn't lucky enough to get a photo of him in flight but I was close. He was standing on the sidewalk and jumped straight up before flying away. At least I was able to get a photo of him in mid air, after his jump and before his flight.

Thanks for flying by!

#featheredfriday by @keithboone

Image Source: All photos are my own.

I am a proud member of the @whalepower community.

Sort:  

I wish we had Mockingbirds in Wisconsin. They seem like they would be really fun to have around. Lovely photos..

Thanks Melinda! I wish you had them too. Yes, they are fun to watch and listen to. My poor brother can't walk out of his house without one diving at him and all I can do is laugh. He swears he never did anything to upset him.

Can't you ever get back in their good graces? Find a peace offering of some sorts? Maybe offer a peanut every single day?

HaHa! I think they hold a grudge. Well, their favorite flower is the multiflora rose but you should plant them far away. If not, they will dive at you to protect their favorite food. LOL!

They sip nectar from the Roses? How cool is that.

HaHa! I don't think they sip nectar from the multiflora rose, but they definitely do eat the fruit of this flower.

Ahhh! I'll bet they do love that!

That is a hilarious story of your brother @whatisnew perhaps @melinda010100 is right about the whole peanut peace offering lol.

HaHa! I just told @melinda010100 that the multiflora rose is their favorite food but to plant it far away or else they will dive at you to protect their favorite food. LOL!

Congratulations!! You won an SBI share at the Freewrite House.

Remember - Recommend your Favorite Freewrite Poem is still going on!
https://steemit.com/contest/@freewritehouse/winner-week-2-5-2019-recommend-your-favorite-freewrite#comments

No way! YAY! Thanks so much! : )

They can even mimic car alarms? That's wild, I never knew that! It reminds me of a song I know about Mockingbirds:

Mockingbird's voice sounds so sweet, but he'll say anything
He'll sit outside your window and sing to you all day..."

Thank you for posting in Feathered Friday! Voted and resteemed

Thanks for the song. I have never heard that one before and now I will think of it (and you) every time I see a mockingbird. : )
I really like your tag and will definitely see you again. Thanks for stopping by! : )

Howdy there whatisnew! A fine bird and photos for this tag, well done! I didn't know the Mocking bird was so versatile and smart!

Howdy to you too @janton! Thanks for your kind words but these photos don't come even close to the amazing ones from @keithboone. I love it when people learn from my posts. Thanks so much for stopping by! : )

haha! Howdy again whatisnew! oh I know, Keith is an amazing photographer isn't he? Fabulous photos but yours were very good and also interesting. My pleasure to stop by and keep up the good work!
Oh, by the way, where are you located? Are you in the United States?

He sure is and that is why I don't think I will be using that tag for my bird photos anymore. But thanks for your encouragement. Yes, I am in the good 'ole US of A, on the east coast.

The East coast. oh I'm sorry to hear that. lol..no I'm just teasing! But it's pretty cold this time of year with a good amount of snow over there, that's what I gathered from one of your posts. Here in Texas I haven't seen snow for years.
What? hey I think you should keep using the tag, everyone enjoys a big variety of birds and styles and types of photos, they don't all need to be professional grade like sir Keiths! thank goodness.

I feel bad for me too. No snow for years? I am moving to Texas! It snowed just today and then a layer of ice and then more snow. It is snowing as we speak. ARGGHHHHH!
Do you really think that he doesn't mind non-professional photos of birds? Sir Keith...LOL!

No in fact he loves those, makes his look that much better! lol..seriously though he loves those photos of all different varieties. I only have a few good ones myself, we have alot of great birds out here in the country but I don't have squat for a camera..I DO have one decent shot of a Road Runner that I caught when he was inside our fence so I'll probably use that one.

Anyway, the weather..nothing suckier than ice and then when it gets covered with snow it's even suckier still!

HaHa! You are a trip! I will have to go to his blog and yours to check out all of the different bird photos. You have one of a Road Runner??? I would love to see that one. I don't have one of those expensive cameras either. I use a small pocket digital camera and I only take photos for fun.

Suckier, suckier and SUCKIER...for sure!

For the longest time a mockingbird used to pursue a cat that crossed the street from my neighbor's house to mine. The cat was really intimidated. Not like this cat at all

We had treats :)

That cat could have cared less. LOL! The same thing happened to Pachino many years ago and he has been afraid of birds ever since. When any bird flies over or around him, he puts his belly low to the ground and very slowly slinks away.

I upvoted your "Finish the story" about roaches they other day. I read the first half and had to stop because it was grossing me out so bad. I hope to read your part later tonight. I am petrified of spiders and roaches! Heebie-jeebies!

You don't have to read it. I think it was an exercise for me, to get a handle on my own creepy crawly nightmares. Writing is really good for that :)

Thanks for taking me off the hook. LOL! Yes, writing does help you to face your fears and release pent up emotions, but I don't think anything will help me with these two I mentioned. However, I was able to get photos of a big spider last summer. Shivers. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30