The Essence of Femininity

in #femininity6 years ago


I have crossed the horizon to find you

I know your name

I think it’s fair to say that “Moana” has supplanted “Frozen” as the film those of us with toddlers are watching ad nauseum.

But I’m not nauseated, and I’m glad to see many of my counterparts in the trenches are also not sick of Moana.

I love the entire movie, and I can give a pretty stirring rendition of almost every song at this point. Not to toot my own horn, but I’m pretty good at faking it when I’m not sure of the words.

But that’s not why I want to talk about Moana today.

I would be remiss if I didn’t use this significant part of my life during Women’s History Month to talk about the essence of femininity.

Spoiler Alert

Moana and Maui have finally made it to Te Ka and are ready to do battle, to restore the heart of Te Fiti and remove the darkness from the land.

Te Ka is a lava monster, a destructive god.

After a hard fought battle, Moana makes it through to return the heart only to discover that what she’s looking for is not there.

She looks across the bay to Maui, fighting Te Ka with every ounce of his strength, and she sees where the heart needs to go. The spiral she is looking for is right in Te Ka.

Moana sees Te Ka for what she is. A woman who is hurt, who is damaged, who has become a scarred monster because her heart has been taken from her.

They may have stolen the heart from inside you

But this does not define you

This is not who you are

You know who you are

Moana restores the heart of Te Fiti and darkness is taken from the land.

As women, we all know someone like Maui who takes from us and is not sorry. I hope we also know someone who is like Maui at the end. Someone who has changed and is sorry for what he (or she) has done.

As women, we are all Te Fiti. We can give and nurture life, and this is true whether we can bear children or not. This ability is sacred.

We can also be Te Ka. Many of us have had so much taken from us. We need someone to remind us of our sacred ability.

We can be Moana. We can challenge our assumptions about someone and give them back their heart.

That’s the thing about love, we can share our heart with someone without being diminished ourselves.

That is the essence of femininity. This is something we can display regardless of our chromosomal makeup or presentation. We can all embrace the feminine and nurture the heart of others. Indeed, in these tumultuous times it is critical that we all embrace the ability we have to lift each other up.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://rachelahanson.blog/2017/03/24/the-essence-of-femininity/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89