Feminism and Men

in #feminism6 years ago

Ever since I joined WordPress I have really enjoyed seeing what search terms bring people to my little corner of the internet. A surprising amount of people also have a lady crush on Ramona Flowers. Some people have found me through the massive amount I've written about SlutWalk. Others still have found me through searching for my family members.

But yesterday someone found me by searching "what do feminists think of men." I thought that was an interesting question. More importantly, one that is important to talk/write about. What do feminists think of men?

Pondering this question made me think a question that I have heard often, both in my personal life and in the media. Perhaps people have asked you this question too. It is, "What do you people want?" 'You people' meaning women. This question is usually asked by men who are frustrated at their failures of connecting with women. Asking one individual what an entire group wants seems pretty ridiculous.

So, back to the original question, "what do feminists think of men?" I will say that every woman I know is a feminist in some way, shape, or form. They all have different opinions about almost everything. A feminist is simply someone (doesn't have to be a woman) who believes that everyone should be treated equally regardless of their sex. Other than that, it's pretty open for discussion.

While I would never presume to speak for all feminists, I will say that I certainly like men. I like one particular man so much that I married him (and even took his last name!) However, I can understand why some women who identify as feminists do not like men. Particularly middle-class white men. So, if you want to know what feminists think of men, ask a feminist in your life. Don't presume that everyone in the group has the same opinion because that's presuming that everyone has the exact same life experiences and the exact same brain. And ultimately, that's just plain ridiculous.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://rachelahanson.blog/2012/06/22/feminism-and-men/

Sort:  

Congratulation! You got an upvote from me.

I give free upvotes to all good quality posts under the tag “feminism”. You can tag me in the post if I forget or send me a reminder. I will not upvote if the post is not relevant and wrongly tagged under “feminism”.

Beautiful written Rachel!! I think it is somehow funny how many people, don't like feminists or don't call them self a feminist. Why shouldn't anyone want equal treatment? Love your work!

Thank you!! The more I go along the more it surprises me that people are hesitant to have the label applied to them. I suppose it's just a reminder that we're all at different points in our journey 🙂.

Of course, that's true. People see the same mountain from different views. But it is still the same mountain;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05