Popeye spaghetti

in #fff5 years ago (edited)

image

Wazzup steemit peeps, I'm back with a brand new attack, swoosh swoosh swoosh ( spatula flies through air making a figure F, just like Zoro would) it is food fight Friday! This meal consists of spinach, kale, white sauce topped with vegan bacon bits on top of wholewheat spaghetti. This is how I get my 11 year old daughter to eat spinach and kale, I always have to fight to get her to eat her greens, and being vegan doesn't help. She doesn't want to eat cute animals but doesn't like healthy greens, so I have to step up my game and make something yummy, while saving the planet 1 animal at a time.

So first I start by frying 2 chopped onions.

image

Then I grab 200g of kale, remove the stems, and chop up and dump it to the pan.

image

Then 3 teaspoons of billion powder with 2 cups of water go into the mix.

image

Then 250g spinach.

image

Then to make the white sauce, its best to soak the cashews in the beginning with boiling water, 500ml boiling water, 230g cashews, 30g nutritional yeast and 6 garlic cloves.

image

Once the spinach has been in the pan for a couple minutes, blend the cashews and pour it in the pan.

image

Then give it a few minutes not over cooking the spinach.

image

I have posted how to make vegan bacon bits a few times, but I will go over it really quickly. Basically crumbling up tofu.

image

Frying it till golden brown.

image

A few squirts of liquid smoke.

image

Some soy sause.

image

Fry until crispy.

image

You might not think it but it tastes a lot like bacon, really convincing, and my daughters favourite food, it is also low in fat. So then it is just a matter of making spaghetti and slapping it on a plate and munching it down. So happy Friday and enjoy your weekend everyone.

Sort:  

Looks awesome!! making me hungry...possibly not the leanest thing (spaghetti carbs), but full of healthy nutrition and prob tastes wicked - perfect for Friday chow hehe

Thanks, it is wholewheat though, 😉

I am sure it was delicious. It sure looks so.

It looks tasty!

Hi. @gguy773, We have selected your post for the The Best Post. contest for your creativity. Magazeemit rewards your creativity with 1000 SP. for more details enter the link


Nice! Bet that liquid smoke kicks it up a bit. Happy #FFF and nice throw :)

Thanks, I like liquid smoke quite a bit.

I am starving now, after looking at your pictures.

Ha ha, nice, grab a pan and start chucking stuff in it.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Loading...

This is a gangster post from a gangster chef! Congratulations on the reward, too, well deserved.

I really liked your opening paragraph, you got personable early, that was nice. Thanks! And thanks for posting on #fff with us, it’s always a pleasure seeing you on Fridays, chef.

Thanks dandays, just keeping it real homedog.

You didn’t miss my shout out to you I hope. Happy Saturday!

Yeah I ssaw it, thanks.

Nice spaghetti dish @gguy773! Simple and delicious. I need to try this liquid smoke, I keep seeing people using it and I have major FOMO!

I hope your daughter enjoyed the meal too :)

Thanks, yeah she liked it, finished the plate off.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73