Vegan Bowl Triple Feature {Food Fight Friday}steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fff5 years ago

Alright @dandays, this one's for you!

Happy Friday my foodie friends! I am normally hanging out with my favorite niece this time of the week, but sadly my auntie duties are having to wait until Sunday. Since I don't quite know what to do with myself (though to be sure there are plenty of other things I really SHOULD be doing right now--I'm looking at you tax paperwork...), I will finally crank out a post for the epic Food Fight Friday showdown. I've watched from the sidelines for a while as many of my pals like @puravidaville, @birdsinparadise and even @cicisaja have all joined in at times, but I promised @dandays I would jump in at some point.

Since I seem to be having trouble finding the time to post about my delicious vegan creations these days, I might as well load up this post with multiple bowls of goodness. Just because I haven't shared as much, doesn't mean @dksart and I aren't chowing down on my favorite farmers market goodies. The new season will be getting into full swing at the market in the next month or so, and I can't wait for spring veggies to start popping up on the scene!

IMG_20190311_183219_646.jpg

Speaking of veggies, it doesn't take anything fancy to make a satisfying meal. Though a clean presentation of a simple dish can totally amplify your at-home dining experience. Last week I was running and gunning, in need of a quick meal for dinner. Enter yet another variation on a "sheet pan meal". This was one of those concoctions that was ridiculously simple, but damn did it turn out delicious!

IMG_20190307_161229933_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

On a few sheet pans I roasted up bell pepper, onion, pak choy, and tofu sprinkled with curry powder until everything was cooked through. I did whip up the rice on the stovetop, but it was easy enough to put on while the veggies roasted. Long-grain brown rice cooked with a bit of coconut milk, turmeric and ginger. Done.

text16.png

IMG_20190311_180142396_HDR.jpg

If that's not enough curry for you, this week I made a bit of a mung bean daal to go with roasted oil-free baked fries and sauteed rainbow chard. I just can't get enough of the Indian spices--turmeric, cinnamon, cumin, coriander, ginger. They all amplify flavor so well, but then are so good for health and wellness, too. Once again the coconut milk came in for the creamy texture and a great base to soak up all those flavors. Who needs ketchup when you have something like this to dip your fries in?

IMG_20190311_180100237.jpg

text16.png

In honor of Spring making its way to the state, I managed to snag some typical succotash ingredients for salads this week, as well. I think I've shared before that shucking corn immediately takes me back to summer pool parties at my grandparent's house. I didn't appreciate the flavor of fresh corn back then, but boy do I relish it when I can get it now! The ladies at the farmers market who bring in a few things from further south had the first of the sweet corn and some lovely little cherry tomatoes. I also snagged a bag of fresh English peas.

IMG_20190310_172329645_HDR.jpg

I lightly cooked the peas along with some frozen edamame, and boiled the sweet corn on the cob. After everything was cooled off, I cut the corn off the cob and mixed it with the peas, edamame, sliced tomatoes, chopped onion, a bit of salt and pepper, fresh mint and parsley, and a drizzled of peach white balsamic vinegar. It was perfect over the delicate spring mix from the hydroponic lettuce stand.

IMG_20190310_172254854_HDR.jpg

text16.png

Well there you have it ladies and gents. Nothing like a triple threat offering to find something that gets your mouth watering! Thanks to the @foodfightfriday crew for hosting this little shindig. I hope you all have a fantastically delicious Friday!

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Banners by @zord189, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

Looks like a fantastic treat yumyumyum

I am so in love with mung beans! I was ecstatic to see you using them. I need to try them with the curry - something I have never done!

Thank you for the always delicious and certainly nutritious meal ideas!

!tip

Ooh, they are perfect in a curry! I only started using mung beans in the last year or so, but I have grown to love them, as well. So many fun little beans to keep my bowls exciting. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice to see another fruit and veggie on the triple f.

Glad to join you! 🍓

Posted using Partiko Android

As a lover of pakcoy and tofu, your post is inspiring me. Thank you.

Upvote and resteem!

Posted using Partiko Android

Aww, so glad you enjoy it! I appreciate the support, and hope a yummy meal is in your future! 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

OVERLOAD OVERLOAD!!! WARNING WARNING!! A Food Coma has been fully engaged!! Thanks for joining in the Food Fight fun and showing us all these amazing healthy dishes.
Cheers
And
Happy Food Fight Friday.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I had to bring my A-game to join you food slinging experts! 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Wanna know how cool I think this visit is? Ima add you to my post—take that!

When you mentioned a shucking corn memory, I remembered one, I haven’t thought about it for decades. During high school hell-week, they called it, a week during football practice where they ran us a little more, etc. we ended the week at the local city fair and shucked all of the corn at the corn farmer’s booth. A whole team was over there shucking corn for a few hours, then they turned us loose in the fair—good times.

Great entry, chef! It’s nice to see you @plantatoplanks—happy Friday! Oh, I got a taste of it alright!

Well I had to keep to my promise! I would have rather been with my little blonde one, but I suppose finally cranking out a triple F post was a good consolation.

I bet that was quite a sight to see all those football players shucking corn! It is one of those great universal food memories for a lot of us here 'Mericans. I might have to grab some more if they have some tomorrow and see if I can get my niece to help on Sunday when everyone comes over for the latest family birthday Bonanza at our house.

Looking forward to seeing yours and @puravidaville's entries for this week! Thanks for the nudge to join you guys. With getting to play host on Mondays now it's nice to join in on the other side of things for the first time in a while. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

An added opportunity to get your shine on, chef. 😉 I’m real close to the post button now.

As I was saying...

Congratulations, chef! 👍🏿

Thank you! 😊

Ooohh No! I'll fight with my fork to be able to e joy your meals @plantstoplanks 😉 you finally set your plate on the #fff table 😄 I already know who to vote for now😊

Haha, I just love you @cicisaja! Glad to bring my bowls to the table this week! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I love you too😍

I love your salad!! Looks yummy!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! So simple, but deliciously fresh! I will be making it regularly as all the seasonal produce pops up at the market. 🌽

Posted using Partiko Android

Those pictures of the salad with cherry tomatoes and peas are beautifully taken! Looks Delicious even for someone that's not that much of a salad guy.

Well that's saying something if I can tempt a non-salad lover! I should have known that one would be the fan favorite--red and green foods are proven to be an appealing color combination. 😋 It really is one of my favorites. Good for a light meal or as a side. A great bowl to bring to a summer BBQ.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm neither vegetarian nor vegan, but it all looks delicious. And also the way of preparation with the different ingredients makes me curious. I would like to try once.

Thanks @ikarus56! The good thing is you can enjoy all kinds of yummy veggies regardless. So many ways of putting them together so you never get bored. 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70455.47
ETH 3561.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71