Beach Breakfast In Sámara To Beach Dinner In Flamingo: Food Fight FridaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fff5 years ago

My gosh, Friday just keeps popping up on me and I find time speeding along quicker than I can wrap my head around.

Buenas tardes mi favorito amigos y amigas! Dandays and I have been away from our current pad this week to spend a few days in a semi neighboring beach town. We drove 2 hours south along the coast and parked at Sámara Beach, Costa Rica. Neither of us had ever been there before, both of us got a great vibe upon entering town, and the place we stayed at was pretty neat.

We stayed above a souvenir tienda (souvenir shop), right on the Main Street so we could see the open bars, restaurants, beach peeps all from our kitchen window. It was pretty rad. Dandays even got out of the shower one morning to a brand new “Pura Vida” tank top I copped from the store below. You can’t have too many tank tops here, I swear.

The beach itself is pretty cool in that there were a ton of restaurants just lined up on the water there. You could literally come out of the ocean and walk up to any one of 15 or so restaurants for a bite to eat or a cold libation. Of course the seafood is on point, and of course yours truly sampled a lot of it.

It’s a trip doing what we are doing right now. It’s almost as if life isn’t real at the moment but like it’s a dream I’m about to wake up from. Mind you, it’s not without it’s many challenges, but everything is so brand new, an adventure waiting to be discovered around the corner, there’s absolutely no time for boredom or complacency.

Sometimes I miss the comforts of home, the knowledge of everything familiar, the accessibility to everything one may desire but usually those thoughts are quickly replaced with the excitement of our next mission. It’s actually a smidgen of work to bounce around trying to figure out where you want to plant yourself. Plans are constantly changing and being re-coconstructed by us so both of us are definitely kept on our toes.

When we woke up Thursday morning to check out of our place in Sámara our entire “future” plans had changed. Sámara was an eye opening experience that may have closed a window or two but opened a plethora of doors that are about to put the “venture” in adventure. Dandays and I are all good as long as God is leading us and he’s always leading us. As I ramble I’m sure you’re wondering “what in the heck, where is your @foodfightfriday post puravidaville?”

Yeah, yea, I’m getting there… I didn’t cook a whole lot this week because we were gone and my eating out will probably look pretty boring to all you normal eating lucky blusterds, so, I present to you, on Food Fight Friday, a Beach Breakfast in Samara and a Beach Dinner in Flamingo… it’ll work for a triple F post, right?!?

4D3BAD21-4CDC-4B57-8FB7-6368F6DF9F8A.jpeg

Thursday morning we woke up from our initial “plan”, hungry and a bit drained. I didn’t have anything to make breakfast at the spot before checking out so we both took showers and got out early to head to breakfast. As you may know my dietary restrictions really put us in a minimal option situation, so it’s my job to find the place that has something on the menu I can eat. This sometimes takes more time than we have patience for. Lucky for us I scoped this place the day before while eating lunch…

87011AF2-083F-4B5A-99C0-7D7840F38581.jpeg

I don’t know what comes to your mind when you hear “Costa Rican food” but I used to think of all the Mexican food staples. You know, enchiladas, guacamole, empanadas, tamales, beans, chips, salsa, margaritas, the list is endless. However, now that we live here I realize just how silly that thought was. You can find cuisine from all over the world here- I swear. There’s Thai, Chinese, pizza, Italian, American, French, Mediterranean, (yum, falafel 😋), and just about anything else you can think of.

The outdoor French cafe that moonlights as a yoga studio had a menu that worked for me so French cafe it is. It also amazes me how many people come from other places to live in Costa Rica and how many languages they can speak. Dandays and I really need to up our language game…

The guy running the joint was really sweet. He totally worked with me and my dietary restrictions and we came up with a pretty delicious and what I consider healthy breakfast.

535F508D-5C3E-41CC-9F9D-91840A42E800.jpeg

I don’t know about you but the guacahummus was calling my name on that menu. I swear I’m so deprived right now 🤦🏼‍♀️ All of the bread is made fresh that day, the fruit looked super ripe and juicy, the coffee drinks just smelled magnificent and the pastries, my God, the pastries- all of which I could have zero of. Dude hooked me up though. He said he was going to put together a 3 egg omelette with fresh herbs, tomato, sweet peppers, onions, and pair it with fresh avocado and cut tomato. I was all in on that deal.

We turned around to find a seat and wait for our food and this is what we saw…

DAEADAAB-05FB-40C1-A37B-47B0DCE01BA4.jpeg

Yep, those tables seats are actually swings. Dope, right? We actually see this kind of thing semi often here 🧐. But we preferred a stationary seat so we kept looking…

DEB4C11D-59FF-4CE0-B070-0BD526B4BB90.jpeg

The high table in the middle looked comfortable enough. We took our seats and I began to check out the joint even more. It’s hard to tell we are in Costa Rica from the pictures, don’t you think?

72E27CCE-A7D5-4181-B366-7335583A72AB.jpeg

The cafe was real cute, and the WiFi was fast considering where we were, that’s always a plus. Not that we are on our phones while we are at a restaurant (it’s actually a rule of ours to stay off our phones in eating places) but when we are traveling we sometimes need to map routes, find other destinations, etc, so WiFi is great.

992E96ED-BF1F-4C92-A961-488EF162994B.jpeg

Finally, our food has arrived. Both of us were getting a little hangrilicious waiting. My plate was dropped in front of me and I was immediately jealous of @Dandays plate. He had fresh bread, paninied with pesto, peppers, eggplant, veggies, oh my and I had my omelette I described earlier. The food was good, I was thankful the guy who took care of us went out of his way to hook me up; I’m just over omelettes right now. I ate every bite anyway and thought “I can make it up at dinner” 🤡.

DB52D0F5-F164-4E98-B164-D595380F517B.jpeg

Before heading out I needed to find the bathroom. A lot of restaurant bathrooms are a little different than what you might be used to. Most are outside (atleast in beach towns) and all ask you to put your toilet paper in the waste basket rather than the toilet. You’ll rarely find a toilet seat cover so your squatting game gets on point pretty quickly 😉.

Coming out of the bathroom I ran right into this huge area that I don’t know how I missed before…

0973394D-F94B-4A08-96C0-6CE65027A1D1.jpeg

A huge, outdoor, mirrored, yoga platform that opens right up to the restaurant cafe. Now that guacahummus makes so much more sense to me (not that it didn’t make sense before but you know, yoga and guacahummus go hand and hand). Doesn’t it look like a cool yoga spot?

4F4F201D-C051-44B5-B09A-2F48F02B03B9.jpeg

And when I turn my back to the yoga platform and take a picture, it’s the cafe seating area. I thought it was pretty neat but then again I’m a nerd and anything “healthy” food wise, spiritual wise, gets me all excited (even if I can’t eat all of it).

After taking a few pictures we got back in the car and headed back up toward the beach town we are currently in. The drive was supposed to be a little over two hours. About half way through Dandays spotted a firestone auto shop and wanted to pull in to get our brakes checked out. Believe it or not you got to just pounce on something when you see it around here because you never know how far the next one will be from your pad. Alright, I’m game. We got out and dropped our car off. You know there’s a funny story behind all of the communication we had to navigate through to get this done but I’ll save that for another time.

We ended up waiting for a few hours and got hooked up once again. We even left there with a shiny clean car when we rolled in with a “wash me” type car. Cool!

Now, it’s hot and we are both getting hungry again plus we want our second shower. The big decision: head back to the house for those showers, miss the sunset and go back out to eat or just head straight to a sunset watching restaurant to get dinner and worry about showers later… yeah, I know, it’s obvious…

582065AB-61FC-4B11-AEFF-9B2E0CEEDF0A.jpeg

Blackened Mahi Mahi with steamed vegetables, a side salad and guacamole. What? You don’t order guacamole as a salad dressing? Yep, dinner made up for it…

773FF12F-7AFB-47C9-B3E3-9AB8E09FA709.jpeg

The food, the view, my company, was all perfect. Thank you @dandays for our incredible life. Thank you friends for hanging out with me on Food Fight Friday. I’ll be checking your contenders tonight.

When was the last time you gave the food fight Friday host some love? Shoutout to @jlsplatts for keeping this thing going strong and @dandays for getting all of the contenders lined up each week. We appreciate all of the resteems, upvotes, mentions, and follows from you too @weirdheadaches. Those are your triple F hosts, folks. Show em some love :)

God Bless and Pura Vida ✌️

AA66A57B-73F1-4D45-A78F-8258585A663A.gif

Sort:  

You’re such a compliment home-run smasher. Whatever I attempt to respond right here can’t hang so you’re getting one of these.
7BC1914E-F627-4B98-9BBA-7895ADEAC01A.jpeg

Woohoo! Success!!! Muah

Looks like you guys are having a wonderful time @puravidaville! So nice of the first guy to hook you up with a breakfast you could actually eat too :)

So are you travelling all over Costa Rica? It's a great life isn't it ... and I hear ya about tank tops. I live in them; well that, shorts and my swimsuit!

Have a blast you love birds <3

Hey, it’s a @lynncoyle1 sighting… how the heck are ya? I think about you and Brian in Mexico a lot. Expatting is such a unique experience I can’t help but think about all of the other people we know that are doing it.…

I know, it’s kind of difficult to eat out but some people are really nice about it- it helps. We are kind of hopping around from place to place to see where we want to land for awhile. In our journey we are discovering that Staying open to opportunity is key. Things rarely go as planned here. The good thing is the tank tops are abundant, and a couple swimsuits to rotate is all I need to get by here. Well, that and food of course, love my food. Thanks for stopping by, it’s really good to hear from you. I’m always wishing you and Brian the best.

I do pop my head in here every once in a while :) Glad you're thinking of us too ... we can use all the thoughts we can get!

It is an interesting life, isn't it? And yes, I find that those who are stuck in their ways, or have a plan to follow, well, most of the time end up going back home :)

Interesting to say the least. It really puts you in the moment. I appreciate that about this way of living. I like to think we are actually truly “living” and how we were existing before wasn’t what “life” is supposed to be.

Exactly!!! That's it! And so many are simply hamsters on a wheel, doing what they're "supposed" to be doing, instead of what they really want to do. Weird actually ... when you figure it all out! Glad you guys did!

It is strange to be the ones looking in. The only reason we got here is because we don’t have children- it alotts is time to think. Life becomes so much more meaningful when we set down our exterior motivations and picked up our internal compass. We enjoy everything now, even the obstacles. Such a trip!

So pleased to hear it @puravidaville!! Now, that's living :)

We think so. You guys are doing right too! God bless you both xo

A really good post. The breakfast looked delicious. But the next meal looked even more delicious and the sunset is so beautiful. I wish that every day you enjoy it to the fullest💕

Thank you @denissemata. We are truly blessed and only wish the same for everyone else too. The sunsets are pretty phenomenal and they happen every single day, it’s amazing :). I appreciate you stopping by my friend. Dios te bendigas !

1d0our8siv.jpg
I love the sunsets. And every day I appreciate how much or little I have. And I have faith that better days will come. Thank you for always your good wishes. God bless you🙏❤

This is YOUR sunset? This is magical! Pure magic!

09FADEBB-83A2-4E32-81A8-2EA03C835EB6.jpeg

Our sunset last night. We may be in different parts of the world but we all get to see a version of the sunset :)

Edit: thank you for the blessings God Bless you too!

Yes this sunset is from some time ago when I went to the beach near home. This sunset is really beautiful, nature is so wonderful and perfect.😍❤

Gods creations are usually perfect 😉

You two find the coolest spots! Lovely omelet, mmmm and avocado or guacamole, im in. Again you both are an inspiring couple and a blessing. Excited to see the next adventure. Blessings @puravidaville and you too @dandays.

Thanks @weirdheadaches. It’s not always rainbows, there are challenges we face daily but I like to stay in the frame of mind that we are living a fairytale. It keeps us grateful for everything our lives are.

Blame it on ginabot😆 I missed out the notification a second after you posted this😊 and Now I need to scroll up just to find how exciting your adventure in Costa Rica😁

What else can you do when you are away from home and start to explore the world? You still need to eat and why bother when everything is available around? Showers? Why do you need to get home to have it😉 just get try the car wash too 😂😂😂 No. I'M JUST KIDDING😊

Aahh I always forget to mention the foodfightfridays team😊 I'll make sure to mention it in the next friday.

We often just put our swimsuits on and go but we still need showers from all of the salt and sand. The food is so much fun here, although I’m eating very well and fresh rather than sweet and sugary. I actually can’t believe how many different cuisines are here. That was totally unexpected :).

Food fight is what made me start blogging on Steemit and I don’t think a week has gone by where I haven’t entered a food fight contest. I have to give love because they all are like my cyber family at this point, well, @dandays really is my family. 🤦🏼‍♀️

You’re a rockstar @cicisaja and my husband and I just adore you 😉

Once again you take us all along on your journey. I love the way you include all the details, it makes me feel like I am joining you.
It’s tough to beat a big ol’ omelette!! Speaking of that I might make some this morning with the fresh Duck eggs my son just brought in.
Speaking of familiar things... when was the last time you went out to your car and there was a band-aid stuck to the tire? Then you drive to the store and it is still there. Then when you get home, you don’t even want to look because you know that band aid is still there.
This just happened to me. Lol.
Cheer and Happy Food Fight Friday

Posted using Partiko iOS

I’m so glad you don’t mind reading my rambles. Sometimes I get a little concerned that no ones gonna want to read so much… your comment makes me feel good; thank you Splatts. On another note, why is a band aide stuck to my tire familiar 🤷🏼‍♀️ The worst is when you get your bandaid a little wet and then notice a couple hours later that it has fallen off… then it becomes an egg hunt for the missing band aide. Yuck!

Omelettes are bomb, I just got sick of them after eating them almost every day for a few months. A girls gotta do what a girls gotta do. Happy food fight my friend and thank you for always dropping a line of encouragement.

The band aid was totally sarcastic but a true story. Ha ha ha ha. Hey you just never know what your going to get.

What in world just happened??

What a life you two are leading, so many blessings each day from sun up to sundown! I'm so happy for you. Experiences you guys will never forget, I love hearing all about it and the pictures are fantastic. Those meals were epic @puravidaville...fit for a queen! That blackened mahi made me drool all over this keyboard, and first thing in the morning too! God bless you guys! :)

Oh my God, mahi is like my candy right now 😋. Thanks @birdsinparadise. We still do things other than go to the beach and at times errands can be frustrating here because the sense of urgency isn’t like where we are from but we truly are living a fairytale. We are very blessed.

The Costa Rican cuisine and sunsets are more appealing with each story you write, but I would be happy in a plain room with you and Arts.
I can't wait for you to be my tour guide.

Im glad you’re reading them @carklevicci. We can’t wait to show you around either. It’s not about the surroundings but about the company 😉. In your presence we are always in a dope spot.

@puravidaville, I so enjoy reading your post. You guys are really adventurous. Your menu choices are right on point. Love your plate.

Thanks @paleotwist. I try to keep everything very clean and so far it’s really helping my tummy problems. If I’m feeling the need for something sweet, I’ll whip up a batch of coconut or almond flour cookies, muffins, breads, or something. They are my saving grace right now :)

What an awesome place! Wow! Looks like I would get my breakfast there very easy. Most often I eat toast with avocado, tomato and cucumber 🥑😍🍅

I just had that this morning (I totally cheated on my diet for the first time today- fingers crossed I don’t pay too high for it) and it was delicious. I added some carmelized onions 😋. Such a great way to start the day! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17