Too Many Questions? Asking For A Friend: Food Fight FridaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fff5 years ago

Happy Friday y’all!

This week for Food Fight I’m trying something a bit different. @dandays and I were separated for the beginning part of the week so I could go see a doctor in Panama. It sounds much more exciting than it actually was but all in all it was a good trip. Needless to say @foodfightfriday just crept up on me and I hadn’t adequately prepared for it with food pictures… 🤔 I smell a reoccurring theme each week 🤦🏼‍♀️… so I have another idea…

When was the last time you had a blood panel? A blood panel that includes your cholesterol, blood sugar levels and hormones? Did you know that hypoglycemia, pre diabetes, diabetes, and insufficient pancreatic enzymes can be seen on a simple blood test? You might be wondering what any of this has to do with @foodfightfriday and yes I’m getting there but it’s actually crucial information to have for yourself.

Our pancreas kicks out a couple enzymes that are supposed to be used to break down our food. It’s the organ that’s also in charge of our insulin which is the same chemical involved in regulating our blood sugar- super important sounding organ right?!?

Well there are a plethora of things that can go wrong with your pancreas to effect a multitude of other things in your body and diabetes is one of them. I know many people think “but I’m on a plant based diet so diabetes is of no concern to me” and they couldn’t be more wrong. Sure, maybe you don’t have to worry about diabetes but remember those insulin and blood sugar levels I was talking about, those issues can and do afflict everyone.

If I sit down and gorge on a bowl of double scoop ice cream sprinkled in white chocolate nibs mixed with candy shell dark chocolate on an empty stomach, how high do you think my blood sugar will soar? What goes up must come down and the higher it goes the worse the crash.

74AB9DB2-0E04-4957-A30C-FCB26D6CEF00.jpeg

Now I don’t claim to know anything about nutrition but I assume if you were just told your blood work glucose levels are in the range of a prediabetic you’d probably want to stay away from that ice cream store. I mean sure, you aren’t a full blown diabetic, yet, but even a frappacinno, as low carb as it might be, can send your blood sugar sky high. And what have we learned today? All together now:

“What goes up must come down”, the crash is inevitable.

19C49FD1-A950-4642-B0A4-FC043DBB0A2F.jpeg

“But what if I mixed that sugar with caffeine Pura”?

Well then you’re an even bigger moron than I thought. The caffeine, sugar, fat trifecta are going to make for a crummy ride into sickoville. Check him out, he can’t get ahold of himself… that’s exactly what your body is doing on the inside, freaking out!

Eating plant based won’t save you here. I guess if your blood work showed you had high cholesterol, good and bad, plus an elevated uric acid count then this plate would look like a good option, right?

9EB81C9B-F415-4F5A-A95C-4B41743214BC.jpeg

But then there’s that pesky prediabetic thing to consider… is a fruit plate really an ideal breakfast for a prediabetic? I don’t know 🤷🏼‍♀️, that’s why I’m asking. Fruit breaks down into fructose and is used by your body in the same way glucose is so wouldn’t that make this fruit bowl the same as eating 15 Oreos for brekkie? Probably not! However appealing that fruit plate may look if you have blood sugar issues you may want to pair it with a healthy fat or protein. I don’t know, I’m just guessing here that a prediabetic should probably try and maintain a very balanced blood sugar and maybe a lower carb diet, maybe. Fruit is considered a carb, right?

So then what do you eat if you have a prediabetic diagnosis, blood sugar issues, high good and bad cholesterol, and elevated uric acid in your blood? Is it even possible to have high cholesterol if you’re a plant eater?

1E5B4AC4-49B2-4ED3-A954-9D1FF44E5E20.jpeg

Would this oatmeal made with coconut milk, banana, apple, cinnamon, chia, and pecans constitute a healthy meal for someone with all of those problems?

Maybe something a little lower in carb and glycemic index would be better… like let’s say a piece of fish, veggies, and slaw but that probably doesn’t make for an equally appetizing breakfast 🤔. Can you skip breakfast, opting for a black coffee and trendy “intermittent fasting” sesh instead?

C05EEC78-EB13-47D1-82E7-69D8F1F399BC.jpeg

Would the caffeine minus the sugar keep your levels in check or is that fasting business bad for your uric acid levels? Jeeze, so many questions and even more conflicting answers.

The thing about all of these questions too, is that everyone has the “answer”. Doctors will tell you something different than your nutritionist, and they’ll say the opposite of what your hypoglycemic neighbor says, who will swear that their naturopath has all of the answers and the naturopath will recommend you to an acupuncturist because in addition to regular adjustments, colonics, and crystal therapy you still need to see a western doctor to run and interpret blood tests so you know exactly how much all of your efforts are NOT working. Sounds crazy right??? Or, you could just change your diet…

7734418C-288E-4E0A-B503-4A92EA249B82.jpeg

Mahi, yuca fries and cabbage slaw… will this raise your blood sugar, contribute to high cholesterol, or increase your amount of uric acid? Asking for a friend…

B1C26072-6FAF-4C37-B9F5-ADC9E383D238.jpeg

Thanks for hanging out with me today on this thundery, lightning(y) Food Fight Friday. I’ll be right on over to check your contenders out. Don’t cha just love this community? I know, it’s my last question- promise.

0FEABD2B-834A-45ED-A817-2BA9A7B5D858.jpeg

Special shoutout to all of those who make this contest possible: @jlsplatts -the creator, @dandays -cuz he’s cute, @weirdheadaches -resteeming/curating and all of the week to week participants: @cicisaja, @glenalbrethsen, @thebigsweed, @farm-mom and everyone else who comes to the party every Friday. Y’all are the real hero’s.

Pura Vida ✌️

0BD38195-5361-493C-96DB-E2DE52E9F323.gif

Sort:  

Oh, my!! I stumbled across your post via @plantstoplanks and I am so glad I did! What a surprise post this turned out to be!

The more I read, the more I knew you were on to something bigger than me. The nutrition industry is such a confusing place to be, the what ifs and why for.

Right now, I am going to say I would have probably gone with the oatmeal and put some blueberries on it. I don't use sugar and a touch of coconut milk would be breakfast.

I love fruit, but, diabetes runs in my family, so I have scaled back and stopped those yummy Starbucks. Sigh.

It is easier to be good than I thought. Because my body talks nice to me when I am. Fried yucca??? Oh, that DOES sound awesome!!

!tip

It is easier to be good than we think. When we feel good it’s enough encouragement to eat right for our bodies. I don’t use sugar either, usually I can get enough sweet from the fruit. My favorite fruit is pineapple and I don’t believe it’s low sugar fruit so that sucks! I suppose everything in moderation.

I’m so glad you enjoyed my post and stopped to drop a line @dswigle. Thank you so much for the tip too! I think in a world full of Charlatans it can be very frustrating for us to heal through food.

@puravidaville,
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 38.
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
2CEE9C63-C646-4F11-854B-AEED926F621B.gif
Good Luck

Internet is back and it's pouring rain today, so you have my full attention my friend! ;) Though in a perfect world we would be interacting in person on the beach sharing that big plate of fruit, haha. Well a girl can dream...

Don't even get me started on the state of our current food system. My goodness there is so much more that is wrong than what is right. From how food is grown, to how it is processed into a ghost of what it started out to be, to all the "experts" on the internet selling snake oil and crazy diets to cure everything. It is fricking hard for even myself to make sense of some of it, and I study health for my livelihood! It's no wonder the average consumer is so misinformed.

On the one hand there is some really great science out there to give us more informed ideas about how to fuel ourselves, but then on the other it seems to take us even further away from the actual nourishing effects that real whole food can have. I think that's one of my biggest pet peeves with the "DIET" industry, it takes away all joy from the communal and spiritual aspect of preparing food and sharing a meal with people you love. This makes me think I want to re-read the book "Whole: Rethinking the Science of Nutrition". If you haven't read that one yet, I think you would enjoy it.

I hope you can continue on your journey to find what makes your unique body happy and healthy! To end on a high note, I'm dragging @dksart to pick strawberries until we drop this week because that makes my little fruit-loving heart happy. Maybe I'll get my act together for next Friday...

Strawberry picking? That sounds amazing. I’ve never done anything like that, strawberry picking, apple picking so every time you declare that as your day I’m intrigued. I’d love to go pick some fresh fruits.

The whole thing is that we are all confused, the industries are all perverted, and none of it is about true health which I believe is true concern for people. I mean how much more could you care for a human than by helping them be really healthy. In a world full of Kardashian thoughts, kardashian drugs, and kardashian food we are all on our own. Sadly, doctors aren’t even the information trove they used to be (or that I beloved they were).

Being in the nutrition field You must witness a lot of concerning trends and fads that are passed off as a “cure”. It’s a strange place we live in @plantstoplanks.

P.s. it’s raning and lightning and thundering here too. But it’s still hot. Haha.

Thanks for dropping a line my sweet friend!

Oh gosh, the media is awful. The whole "influencers" trend is probably the worst thing for public health and wellness. The fitness field is especially hard for me sometimes because so much of the advice is for aesthetic goals, not overall health. At least I work with some really great trainers who understand that for most women a 6-pack just isn't healthy long term (if at all).

You would love going fruit picking! It is such a wonderful reminder of where our food comes from, and really how hard the farmers have to work to give us such beautiful produce. You not only get the most amazing, fresh produce, but I always feel such a connection with nature when I go. It's kind of similar to going on a long run outside. After a while you just start to become one with the Earth. Crouching down picking berries can be a killer workout, too. So worth it to bring home a carload of delicious fresh fruit! I am so happy to have a flexible schedule to be able to go during the week. Otherwise weekends are pretty nuts. We tried going apple picking last year at the height of the season and ended up just buying fresh-picked from the orchard store because the lines were ridiculous for u-pick. Ruins my zen to have too many people around.😜

Did you post about those apples last year? I think I remember you posting something about the store with those fresh yummy picked apples in it…

Why isn’t it healthy for a woman to have a 6 pack? Is it because most have to abstain from carbs and live in a calorie deficit to achieve them? Just wondering…

All of the “health and nutrition” industry is based off of aesthetics. It’s very few people who work within those fields that are actually concerned with organs, body functioning, optimum health over looks, at least in my opinion 🤷🏼‍♀️ I used to think I was so so healthy because I ran 5-9 miles a day and had the flattest stomach. This was despite eating ONLY hot tamales, string cheese, and coffee or Go Girls (an energy drink) while smoking cigarettes but to me, I was healthy because I was tiny. So warped. I’m glad I woke up at some point and to this day I’m still confused about what to eat and what to stay away from (shaking my damn head)

Yep! I did post about it. It was the same weekend we stayed up in my client's cabin in the mountains. Such a great weekend!

I might not have worded that correctly, but for some women they can totally rock a washboard and be healthy, but for the vast majority of women it is not really realistic. Of course I am all for trying to be your best self and maintaining a fit physique, but to get down low enough in body fat to really see the abs pop all the time is not necessarily healthy for endocrine and reproductive function, among other things. It really just depends on your body type and where you carry your fat. I just get so frustrated that so many women hold that as the ultimate ideal and don't ever feel thin enough! I know because I still have body issues myself!

I was literally in tears with a friend on Friday night because she said she always feels fat. She's a stunning, brilliant, loving, fun, and driven Brazilian woman by the way. I would love to have skin like hers and the dancing skills, haha. I think the other crazy thing is that if you asked most women who have these "perfect" bodies, most of them aren't happy anyway. Or like you have experienced, some of it is just genetic luck and age. Another girlfriend of mine was born with washboard abs. Even if she gains weight in her legs or elsewhere, she always has a tiny waist.

Sorry for my little verbal explosion. I think being an aunt makes it even more real for me the extent of the issues with body image and flawed ideas of health and wellness. I am really trying to do my best to get my own ish together to set a good example for her. The good thing is the older I get the less fox I give what other people think. I try to eat to feel well and fuel my physical endeavors that I enjoy, but by golly I'm not going to pass up on potatoes or a piece of delicious vegan cake every now and then because I want more of my abs to show. Because mental health is important, too.

Thanks for letting me rant! Now I'm on to happier things--like working on my strawberry post! Well, I should actually try to do something with all the strawberries we picked, too...

I get frustrated too with the standard of which we hold ourselves to. I’m 35 years old and just starting to get to place where I accept my beautiful body for the goddess temple it is rather than constantly scrutinizing it. These poor young girls growing up with Instagram and social media dictating how they view their bodies and deeming what is “beautiful”. I’m so sick of the norm being that we should diet, we should work out until exhaustion, we should deprive ourselves of fun treats all in the name of looking “perfect” in a bikini or fitting into that dress. Usually when we get into that dress, wear that bikini or whatever the goal is, we still have parts that we criticize about our bodies. It never seems good enough. Anyway, I think your niece is very lucky to have such a strong and amazing auntie in her life to guide her to self love and not self sabotage. Us ladies have it much harder than men, in that regard. 🤦🏼‍♀️

Ps. A healthy avocado body is the ish and a little chunky but funky in the trunk always looks good :)

I don't think I would do well growing up in today's culture. I was soooo awkward in middle school. Like my nickname was actually "he/she" for a year until I stood up for myself. And I got called "sir" at Red Lobster one time with my family because I really was such a little tomboy, as well. If I had to deal with that and online issues it would have been a whole lot tougher. I kind of laugh at some of my friends who are so worried about getting older because like you, I have gained so much more confidence the older I get. I'm still 3 years shy of turning 40 but I'm kind of excited, haha.

I've got a couple of little ladies that I am so lucky to play a part in their lives, so I hope I can at least do some small part to counter the onslaught of social media! We ladies really do have it tough. The really crazy part? It's all for comparing ourselves to each other because most dudes I know are not that critical of the female form. So bring on the avocado toast!

Preach sista! Avocado toast for all… 🥳🥳! My best girlfriend loved her 40s. She said it’s when her kids are out of the house, her and hubby are really finacially secure and looking on to what retirement might look like, she became a grandma which is her pride and joy, and she doesn’t give a shit about what anyone thinks of her so naturally she enjoys everything much more. Haha… I love it.

I didn’t have it hard growing up only because I was very stubborn but I distinctly remember some kids that did. I never understood, even at that age, how or why kids were so mean to these people who clearly couldn’t stand up to them. It’s always disgusted me. I think if we had to deal with it at home, online too then things would be much worse for everyone. I mean, I never had to worry that one of my classmates would burst in the room and shoot us all. Today that’s a drill kids practice more than fire drills. It’s insane! I think social media dehumanizes us so being really cruel to one another doesn’t feel like a big deal anymore. It’s a weird world we live in. I’m glad I don’t have to guide a child through that.

You can't beat that fruit plate!

What I realized, ever since I met the both of you, is that I've never been that conscious about what I eat, and it's a great thing, I am thankful for that.
I realize as well after 2 weeks of a vegan diet and few injuries later, that we really all respond to a diet in a different way.
So what is good for you, is different from what I crave and consume for my body to be energized and fully restored and probably even different from the big guy in front of the Panama ice cream store.

And again, in a better world, I would love to eat an avo toast in the morning like @lenasvegasliving, but the truth is we can't afford avo every week, it's something of a luxury items, so eggs will have to provide the vitamins A, B2, B5, B6, B12, D, E and K as well as folate, phosphorous, selenium, calcium and zinc that I need, even if it infuriates @dandays rightly so, because it is pretty barbaric.
But as he says, "eating a burger at Mcdonald is cheaper than buying an apple", which is crazy and the real conspiracy here.

And yeah, dandaysiscute hahahah love the tag

You’re dead ass right. What I eat is even different than what Dandays eats because I have different needs right now. Avocado toast is frikken delicious but I understand the cost of avos being too much. Dandays doesn’t even eat them and I can easily spend 10 or more bucks on them a week. That’s pretty ridiculous… I make Dandays peanut butter toast with fried plantains, he likes it. You can also use any nut butter you prefer. Have you had vinegar pudding? I was talking to another South African about malva pudding and he suggested I make vinegar pudding… I’ve loooked at a couple recipes that look good.

Btw, I eat eggs. I’ll make an omelett with a bunch of veggies and top it with chopped tomato or avo. It’s also great paired with toast. Dandays isn’t infuriated by anything. He is just a passionate person when he believes something. I even got him to eat eggs a few times but it ended up grossing him out too much 🤷🏼‍♀️ I kind of over dosed on eggs last month so I’m taking a much needed break but imagine I’ll return to them shortly.

Nutrition is so personal and whatever works within the parameters of your households health, budget, and conscience is what should determine what you eat. Not the advertising industry, but unfortunately they do decide what most of us eat for the majority of our lives. It’s a great day when we wake up and take control back from them. Keep fighting the good fight Ed 😎

@puravidaville, tell your friend, that there is no one cure for everybody. We all have different ailments that affects different types of treatment. My pre-diabetic condition was resolve with diet. But it didn't change my other ailments.

We can pray for answers on how to get better. Then we can thank God for our current condition, because there is always someone in a worse state than we are.

God is the answer to all. I am so grateful for my life and all of our blessings. It’s all God! I will let her know 😉. Thanks @paleotwist :)

I truly believe that is we just ate what God placed on the earth for us to eat, we would be just fine. The problem arises when we start putting foreign substances into our bodies aka man made garbage.
“We use this for shelf life...”
“We use this as a sweetener...”
You get what I am saying. After years of consuming these man made.... I am going to go ahead and it... poisons, it can cause permanent damage. Therefore leading to doctor visits, which lead to medications, which lead to more medications, which Big Pharma loves us dearly for. Yep... I went there. Kind of like a crack dealer... gotta have those return customers right?!?! People on High blood pressure medicine their whole lives!!! Yet did they know that they can... EAT to lower blood pressure??? Yet 99% of them don’t. They just keep eating the same crap and taking the same meds.
Ok my rant is done... I think 😉
As far as the natural sugars that occur in fruits goes.... it have to be better than taking a “spoon full of sugar” right?!? Our bodies are equipped to be able to handle the natural sugars that occur, but like mentioned before, it’s the crap we shoved in our bodies prior that wreaks havoc on our systems. But... but... it tastes.... SOOOO GOOOD.... HAHAHAHA.
I have honestly never had a blood test done and have been thinking about it for a little while.... but I don’t feel any adverse effects and I feel great so why would I??? I mean my turds... wait E-brake!!! HAHAHA I squirt lemon juice in my eyes every morning. Habanero Hot sauce is massages into my scalp at night and warm evaporated milk slowly pours over my feet as I sleep. I mean... how could I NOT be in perfect health... right?!?

No matter how good our diets may seem and no matter how much working out we may do... NOW. Doesn’t show exactly what is happening inside of our bodies from the past.
Dang... that was long winded for speedy Splatts. HAHAHA. I hope all is well and you will be able to free up that strict diet of yours and be able to unleash once in a while. :wink:wink
Cheers my fellow Food Fight Friday freak

Posted using Partiko iOS

You’re so right! There’s also the compound effect which is basically all of the crap we’ve eaten for years, the cigarette smoking, the crash dieting, the alcohol consumption, compounded into a body of 30 plus years that can have a heavy effect on your blood panel. The problem too, is that it’s difficult to find foods without additives outside the produce section. Every single thing in the grocery store (regardless of country) has something added to it. Even our veggies are grown in poison (a lot of them).

Like you I believe that our diet is the answer to all of our health questions (at least most of them) yet there’s so much conflicting information out there. Eat vegan, you need meat, eat keto, there’s too much fat, eat paleo, fruit is good, fruit has too much sugar, fast intermittently, fast for several days, don’t consume dairy, eat yogurt, stay away from sugar, carbs break down into sugar… the messages are endless. If we all ate veggies, fruits, fish, and (insert the rest of your list here) then most of our problems would disappear. But what do you do about the compound effect? Sugar, in my opinion is the hardest drug to get off of and that is by design. It’s added to everything, by design. Can you imagen what kind of revenue the sugar industry makes… if bet wayyy more than the heroin trade 🤦🏼‍♀️ Rant over!

Thanks for dropping a line, or two, or several. It’s always nice to hear other perspectives.

The questions you raise, and the answers to these questions seem to vary depending on who you are getting the advice from.
Traditional doctors tell you to just take this pill or that pill. It is the old band aid approach, never really addressing the issues.
Just prior to reading your post, I read an article about how the small farmer is disappearing and super-farms are taking their place. As with all industries, as they become more powerful and dominate a larger part of the market, their only concern is the bottom line.
Pesticides, herbicides, fungicides, and genetically engineered fruits and vegetables are almost impossible to get away from.
Sugar is added to every processed food, and coupled with the issues listed above, finding answers to consuming a healthy diet is almost a full time job in it's self.
For those of us that are aware of these issues, and choose to be proactive in eating healthy, at least have a fighting chance. But, in the big picture, more people than not, eat a diet that doesn't promote health.
With the pace of life so exhausting, many people can't find the time in their schedule to prepare a meal, never mind educate themselves on the nutritional value of what they are putting into their mouth.
Obesity is a common cause for heart disease, type 2 diabetes, and cancer. Statitics in the states tell us that obesity is so prevalent that it has reached epidemic proportions. 1 out of every 3 adults is considered obese, that is 78 million people. Even more frightening is that 17% of children in the states fall into this categeory, that equates to 17 million kids.
Those of us who look for the answers to the problems we face with our diet are the fortunate ones. Kids on the other hand have little say in what they consume, and I am afraid that they are in for a life long battle with these issues.
Wonderful #fff post.

Everything you just said is spot on. The scary part is when you have issues but eat healthy, exercise, and are seemingly fit from the outside… I think it’s a compound effect. It’s all of the junk you’ve lived on you’re entire life (minus the 4 or 5 most recent years) coupled with smoking, drinking, dieting, and whatever other abuse you put your body through for decades. What happens if you’ve been living a harmful lifestyle for far longer than you’ve been living a healthy one? I don’t know, the entire food, beverage, meat, “health” industries are corrupt and perverse.

Our kids are obese because we live in a society where coke a-cola is cheaper than a bottle of water, where an apple costs $1.75 and a happy meal costs $1.00… when a child’s stomach is empty and Mom and Dad only have a couple bucks guess what that child is going to get. Dandays and I spent so much money on food when we lived in the states. We didn’t have children so we could do that but it’s insane. It’s unfair and it’s gross. The “health” industry, the medical industry, the pharmaceutical industry, the food industry doesn’t care because they are all in the “business” of making money, not looking out for people. Its a damn shame. Anyway, rant over. Haha

I’m so glad you liked my post @thebigsweed! I really appreciate your comments.

I like ranting @puravidaville, I tend to rant a lot when I am passionate about something.

Haha… my thumbs go so fast during my rants that after I re read what I’ve commented I’m often embarrassed by the amount of typos 🤦🏼‍♀️ The price you pay for typing as passionately as you’d speak it. Thanks Sweed!

That is just too complicated for me, lol. And I eat only what I crave when I wake up and that is toast with avocado and tomato. Although my doctor didn't say anything about my blood sugar after my blood tests, I know something is not right. But I also know doctors could not help me, so I don't bother.

Avocado toast with tomatoes is my ish… love that stuff. There was a good couple weeks where I ate it everyday for brekkie. So good. It’s a shame that doctors don’t seem to be the healers we once thought they were. Maybe I can find a holistic shaman in Central America to help cure my ailments 🤷🏼‍♀️ There’s a ton of gut issues that can cause a host of problems including dizziness, fatigue, brain fog, blood sugar issues, itchiness, insomnia… just saying. I hope you get yours figured out @lenasveganliving. It’s never cool to feel like something is going on yet everyone tells you that you’re fine.

Well, I have other more serious problems, such as chronic back pain. I am just about to order medical cannabis oil, but I still have to see my doctor to sign a paper. It can be taken orally or used externally, but I will take it orally of course. I'll keep you posted, who knows, maybe it could help you too.

I also found an article https://plantedu.com/cbd-vs-thc

This physiological system also plays a vital role regulating our digestive system, bone development, appetite, mood and memory among other things.

CBD oil is the real deal!!!

Thank you for letting me know. It looks like I have an option between CBD and THC or maybe they are mixed?

They definitely have mixed :)

I love CBD. It’s much harder for me to get here though. As you can imagen when I lived in California it was super accessible. I hope it helps with your pain, it should. I also like the topical when I’m having knee or joint pain (runners problems).

Oh, so you have an experience with it. To bad you can get it now. I am really curious about the effect on my symptoms and how I am going to feel.

A really interesting post, I suffer from low blood sugar and dizziness is not pleasant, that fruit plate looks delicious...I love fried yucca

It isn’t pleasant. There are small tweaks in diet that make it much more manageable but the dizziness is always a little bit of a bummer. Fruit plates in Central America are way better looking than fruit plates in the states, generally. I just baked some yuca last night and I have to admit that fried yuca is way better. I just couldn’t bring myself to fry it. Have you ever had yuca in soup (used like a potato)? I was thinking of making a veg and yuca soup but am not sure how that will work…

It's very delicious in the soup, here whenever we make soup it takes yucca

Does it keep it’s shape or does it kind of dissipate into the soup? It the first tome I’ve worked with yuca. In the US I never cooked with it and don’t think I’ve ever seen it on a menu. I can imagen if it were blended it would make like a mashed potato type consistency…

It all depends on how long you cook it, but it stays and will be soft in your soup

Our neighbor just showed me a technique for making fries too. I have one more yuca in the fridge so it’s on.

The fried yuca is so delicious, it is great that you are discovering things of the country

We had some last night and it was delicious. Now all I need to do is come up with a yummy dip for them 😋

Complicated stuff my friend...it's amazing what goes into making our bodies function properly. Nutrition is so important but finding what works for your needs it complex. I hope you are able to find good advice, it's scary pre-diabetic. I know nutrition is huge as diabetes runs in my family. Exercise and diet both play a big part. Be well my foodfightin friend :)

Thanks @birdsinparadise! Nutrition is so personal and although there are generic guidelines that everyone can follow sometimes some people have to create very bespoke diets to suit their own needs. I’m quite blessed in that my kitchen is my favorite room in the house so there’s never any deficit of creative inspiration. Socrates said “let food be thy medicine…”- so simple yet so important. God bless my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73