Diabetic Delights - A Food Fight Friday Entry.

in #fff5 years ago

Hello fellow Food Fight Friday contenders!

I hope that I am not late for this week's entry, being in a different time zone to the rest of you, it makes it difficult to know when the cut off actually is. But I start thinking about this competition on Fridays my time, often after launching the previous entry.

This time around I realised that I had taken photos of some rather spectacular desserts, but didn't have the context to post them.

Last week I was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes. Yesterday I saw a dietitian. Today I saw a pediatrist who popped her head behind the curtain and said "That's NOT a foot!" and I said "OK, so it's over by a few inches... Sheesh! Give me a break, it's on the slack!" and then I pulled up my pants and stormed out. (Kidding).

As a result it means that I have to monitor and control my sugar levels. It means reducing carbohydrates (sugar), but still eating them at regular intervals. It also means having to draw blood and put it on a computer chip to read the blood sugar levels.
The anticipation of the needle is worse than the needle itself, to be honest, but my right index finger now looks like a pin cushion.

You may find less and less sweet things being added to my entries. We'll see.
As I am on a limited budget, I don't eat out very often but I do make a point to go to "The Ultimate Quiz" once a week.
Our team usually does quite well, but the competition has been quite fierce of late, so we've been coming third often.
But it's all in fun and the various pubs and taverns do great schnitzels, things I have to avoid from now on.

The first image below is of a dessert tart, or unknown flavour (I just can't remember) covered in whipped cream and strawberries. Possibly lemon, but I just don't remember.

Diabetic delights 1.jpg*
The unknown tart

In a previous entry, I mentioned the icecream machine on of the local pubs that has a "Friday Night Steak Night".
This is the stunning result of that awesome awesome machine. Artistry, mine.

Diabetic delights 2.jpg
I'd like a little of everything please. Hold the diabetes.

When we go into the city of Adelaide, we more often than not end up at the San Giorgio Ristorante where they have a fine selection of pizzas and pasta dishes. They REALLY go overboard with the pasta sauce. No complaints from me though.
Well, before the diagnosis anyway.

Diabetic delight 3.jpg
Absolutely superb coffee cake

Back to the Settler's Tavern again for a quiz night, and this dessert, which looks like misleadingly like dirt is an absolutely fantastic chocolate mousse, with small flowers and sliced strawberries for a garnish. Mmm, may I have another?

Diabetic delights 4.jpg
A deceptively delicious chocolate mousse

So, these are just some of the wonderous desserts that I have eaten, but will now have to distance myself from.
Anyway, I have to go and check my blood sugars again. Grimace.
I look forward to reading everyone's entries.

Sort:  

Too bad that you will miss all those creamy sweety things from now on @shaidon, I think there are a lot of delicious desserts on internet which sugar free and diabetic friendly. Aahh.. you can always post any of the foods picture you have and create an imaginery story about it😉
Hope that you are always healthy

Keep on keepin on. I used to be a huge sweets person... maybe it was from the munchies??? Nowadays I don’t eat many sweets. Shoot I hardly have cake at a birthday party. I do indulge in a little ice cream here and there, maybe 2-3 times a month. No candy no problem. I guess why I mention this is because life is still good without the sweets. Lol. But you mentioned cutting back on the meat consumption????? Um.... HAHAHAHA
My prayers go out to you that this diabetes is just a minor glitch in your system.
Cheers!!

I used to have chocolate thickshakes a lot, but the problem wasn't the sugar so much as not eating regular meals. I've had a rough life, something I don't really talk about much, but it's meant that my blood sugar levels are all over the place. So, I can eat sugary things but in moderation. I have had to have a complete diet and lifestyle overhaul and get back into regular high intensity exercise.

@shaidon. I absolutely love the evolution of your food/travel blog. It’s a pleasure to hang out with you on Fridays, sir. See ya soon.

Those deserts look yummy, and it will take a lot of fortitude to avoid eating too many of them. A change in diet, and as you mentioned, exercise should help a lot with your health issues. Good luck with getting your health issues under control.

I just have to keep it to a minimum. Thank you for commenting.

I just have to keep
It to a minimum. Thank
You for commenting.

                 - shaidon


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

The desserts looks amazing. Bummer about the diagnosis. I know a lot of people do really well reversing it on Keto or carnivore. Alas the medical institution is slow to change because they would rather medicate it. But anyways there are some great keto desserts. Stevia isn't bad if it has a day to settle into the dessert in the fridge.LCHF people can still have berries and cream:):):)

My dietician is really good. She has recommended Stevia and such. I have to avoid clinging to any particular diet and keto is too high in fat for diabetes and while I can eat meat I have to be careful about the fat content.

It depends on the sugar levels really. Mine are really way too high to be eating various desserts. But my dietician has given me heaps of options

Posted using Partiko Android

People cure their diabetes with a high fat and low carb lifestyles. There is a tremendous amount of mis-information where diet is concerned foisted onto the public to hike sales of monocrops and pharmaceuticals. It is even taught in the universities to unassuming dieticians. It was taught to me back in the day. My experience ... dietiticians are well-meaning but they don't know what they think they know.

If you do get frustrated with the recommended way of eating, it is hard to follow, or you always feel hungry or it plain isn't working, check out @shawnbaker on instagram and his Human Performance Outliers podcast on youtube and go from there. LCHF has helped 100 000 of people now but it is a threat to the establishment and certain idealistic ways of thinking.

You are probably feeling overwhelmed right now ... a bit ... and loads of people are giving advice but just put what I just wrote in your back pocket in case you need it:):):)

I feel your pain. As a fellow dessert connoisseur myself I know all too well the dreaded blood work coming back as “glucose levels” too high or too low or too something so much that I now have to avoid sugar. Darn it. Those desserts certainly look yummy and harmless in the photos though. I actually make all of my old desserts just minus the sugar and minus the gluten. Most of them are just as good as the original, according to Dandays. Happy food fight @shaidon.

@shaidon
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 42
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
2CEE9C63-C646-4F11-854B-AEED926F621B.gif
Good Luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76