The Chocolate Orange Creamy Mousse Type Thing For Food Fight Friday

in #fff6 years ago

20181013_000755.jpg

Hello #fff-ians, I hope you've all had a great week! Here we are, fffriday again. Can't wait to see what you've all been cooking up this week.

Does Anybody Here Reeemeember Amanda Rin?

Now read that again while humming the tune to Pink Floyd's Vera Lynn,… Did you start feeling sad for her?

Ah never mind…

After my post about Amanda last week, Mr @foodfightfriday himself had the idea to set me a challenge…

Ok I got a challenge for you. Next Friday i want to see you make a dessert using mandarins or oranges. Not bought-made by you only. You up for the challenge?

Ok yeah! I'll give it a go!

But I didn't have a clue what make. I did know it had be something good. No, not just good… it had to be great, fantastic, delicious. Only the best is good enough for #foodfightfriday.

Right, what ever I was gonna make, I knew it was time to get my Gordon Ramsey on and turn out something amazing. (Hey, Don't laugh, I was trying to build my confidence!)

First I thought 'Right, I'll make something where Amanda can take her pride of place, I'd make some sort of tart', so I geared up….

20181013_001113.jpg

With that, wifey appeared in the kitchen.

"What are you doing?"

Well I thought it was obvious and replied "Getting ready to blind bake some pastry!"

Wifey: Don't be funny…

I explained that Mr @foodfightfriday had set me this challenge.

Wifey: Well, you ain't using my cooker!"

Bless her, I'm sure she was concerned for health and safety reasons.

Plan B

The challenge stipulates that I must use Mandarins or Oranges. No problem there, but what was I gonna put with them that doesn't need cooking?!

Ah-Ha, Wifey had an idea… chocolate goes with Orange!

Welcome to the birth of Plan B!

The Chocolate Orange Creamy Mousse Type Thing!

20181011_152003.jpg

Ingredients:
Digestive biscuits
Butter
Double cream
Chocolate
And of course Mandarins / Oranges

Step 1 Crush the biscuits

20181011_152128.jpg

Step 2 Put crushed biscuits in bowl, mix in melted butter a bit at a time until crumbs clump together. Then smooth out in a baking tin to form a base. Put in fridge to set. Ok that's more than one step but I'm a bit limited on photos… I had to focus on what I was doing! Multitasking ain't my thing damn it!

20181011_152149.jpg

Step… the next bit! Squeeze the juice.

Now because we aren't quite as posh as a certain Steemian you might know, we don't have fancy gadgets like this…

515FEE18-B784-470B-80B6-D13EF597A4AF.gif

[Src: pinched from Mr @jlsplatts](

So I went Old School 😁

20181011_152106.jpg

Step 4 Whisk the cream until stiff.

20181011_152216.jpg

Step 5 Melt the chocolate (don't get it too hot though), then stir in orange juice.

20181011_152336.jpg

Step 6 Fold melted chocolate in to cream (Well that's what wifey said, I used the whisker things 😁).

20181011_152408.jpg

20181013_001938.jpg

Step 7 Spread chocolate orange creamy mousse stuff on to biscuit base.

20181011_152435.jpg

Step… the penultimate bit Put back in fridge to set while you prep your trimmings.

Step add your trimmings Yeah, do that!

20181013_001027.jpg

Ta-Daaaaaa!

And there she is, Amanda Rin… doesn't she look happy?

That choccy hashtag thing was supposed to be on that pic but I forgot until it was too late... ya gotta be fast in this house when it comes to dessert! 😜

Quantity Serves: Well that depends how greedy you are!

NO MICROWAVES WERE HARMED DURING THE MAKING OF THIS DESSERT! 👍

I guess the big question is… Did I pass the challenge Mr @foodfightfriday?… Did I?… Did I pass?

Thanks for looking

Regards and best wishes - @sivehead

Sort:  

NAILED IT!!! I knew you could do it and you took it to the next level!!! Epic sir simply epic!! If I could give you a 500% upvote I would.
Thanks for being a great sport and doing such an amazing job!! Keep an eye on your wallet I have a little something for ya.
40BA6689-BE10-44F2-B552-474726F15CAC.gif

Well thank you @foodfightfriday and thanks for giving me the opportunity.

Keep an eye on your wallet I have a little something for ya.

Did you been and got me on the @minnowbooster whitelist? Man that's great thank you so much.

@foodfightfriday, is it too early to vote?

"No not at all @dandays!"

That was my impression of Mr @foodfightfriday... whatcha think? Did I nail it?

Oh ya you nailed it. Set, swing, sink - ‘nailed!’

Ha! 👍

Thanks for the Resteem man!.. most kind of you 😎👍

My pleasure. Just in case you missed this mention. 👍🏿 Happy Monday @sivehead!

Oh, yeah... I did completely miss that... thanks for the heads up. 😎👍

Well, @sivehead, all I can say is, I hope Mr. FoodFightFriday doesn't challenge me to make anything. :)

You came, you saw, you conquered. Looks awesome, and I'm waiting for my piece to sent by FedEx overnight cooler box. :) Wait. Do they have drones yet? Hmmmm...

Well, Amanda Rin does look very happy. I'm glad she was able to reach her full potential.

Thanks @glenalbrethsen. Umm I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but three minutes after those photos were taken, it was gone 😢

Scarfed it all up did you? In three minutes?! Can't say that I blame you. :) Oh, well. I'm sure I'll survive, and my wife we'll be happy that I was unable to consume the extra calories. :)

Not me personally... there is seven others in this house! No food ever lasts too long.

Wow! I'm just getting around to the @foodfightfriday submissions :(.....

This is absolutely amazing! I have to and am going to recant my vote. #2 all the way.

Thanks man. I so glad you liked it.

Ha, Did you slip the big guy a bribe to let you change your vote?

Haha, well idk yet, lmao...

Crushed it!!! This is frikken awesome! I quite enjoyed the birth of plan b… you’re so clever you. No, really, you did a fantastic job with this post and that mouse tangerine chocolatey pie-tart thing. Truly impressed @sivehead… and I can still hear @dandays laughing his way through your post. Haha

Thank you @puravidaville I aim to please. I must say though that the chocolate orange creamy mousse thing was all wifey. Without her stood there, watching my every move and giving instructions, I would of been completely lost.

It’s all good- team work makes the dream work! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15